Friendship Over Politics? (True Story)

16 52
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Since the election, a lot had happened. A lot of emotions, thoughts, protest and clamors has surfaced. The election is always divisible because there will always be a winner and a loser. After the voting and pronouncing the winner. We expect the losers to concede and accept the fact that someone has already won.

In this article, there might be negative parts so, if you avoid negativity, it is best to skip this article for now. I will be writing about my first-hand experience of a misunderstanding with my friend. I am not directly part of the fight but I was reached out by them to give my opinion.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Forever grateful to my sponsors!

My BBM supporter friend messaged me with a screenshot of the convo between her and a Leni supporter. It was sent 1 AM in the morning and I read it in the morning already.

Here is how the screenshot of the convo went (non-verbatim)

Leni supporter 1: We are not really cutting ties with you and to all of our friends that are BBM supporters. I know a lot of BBM supporters, even my family, and co-workers. I know for sure some of our friends here (in this group chat) are BBM supporters. What is disappointing is you are spreading fake news, changing history, and seemingly ignoring the sentiments of the Marcos victims. I am so disappointed. Also, you are asking for respect but it is quite ironic that you called us bitter (ampalaya) and cry-babies. Anyways, that is all that I am going to say rather than hinting here and there, especially on Facebook. And to clear the air, I do not know when we will have a party again. Lol.

Leni supporter 2: Feel free to leave this group chat if you do not like the discussion. We respect you, wow.

BBM supporter: What more can I say? I will just leave this group chat rather than make the situation worst. There is no further good conversation here. I am sorry for the posts that you did not like. Feel free to unfriend me if you think I am toxic, and the content that I am posting. Thank you and see you around!

Leni supporter 2: As expected. To others, if we are toxic then so be it. It is not the reflection of the candidates-voters whatever, but it is a wide understanding. We have different reasons and we are coming from somewhere. At the end of the day, I hope that we have the humility to correct the bad stuff and help those in need. To stand for what is right.


That was the end of the screenshot. The BBM supporter said that she was really hurt and she cried after she left the group. She was willing to restore the friendship but she thinks that Leni supporter 1 will never forgive her. In her heart, she is ready to make amends for whatever happened in the group chat.

After a day, the Leni supporter 1 messaged me. She send the same screenshot and she was asking if the words that she said is hurtful. She said in advance that she is sorry to me because she felt like she is disturbing me.

They are both great friends of mine. We are friends for 12 years already. So, in this case, this was my reply for both of them separately.

To the Leni supporter 1,

I know that you are hurting. You guys are hurting and that is understandable. And you said, you were stressed out because of the result of the election that is why it is reflecting on the message. What I can hope is to stop hinting in comments and posts. I am not clean, I admit it. We cannot force people because we have our own minds and emotions, after all, we are humans. We are not robots. I just hope that we will still be friends.

I do not have bad feelings for all politicians, but for the toxic supporters that are saying below-the-belt things. I know it is just 1% of all the supporters.

To be continued...


That is it for today. Thank you for reading. I will see you at the next one.

Banner edited from Canva.

Please follow me on my new NC account. Thank you!

Date published: May 12,2022

My other articles:

🍕My Post Election Thoughts https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/my-post-election-thoughts-ec227f75

🔥 I Am A First Time Voter https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-am-a-first-time-voter-dcb1609d

🌺 Q and A: Traveling Edition https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/q-and-a-traveling-edition-bbcb37db

9
$ 5.87
$ 5.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @Ayaan258
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

Grabe tapos na yung eleksyon pero yung mga nag-away dahil sa politics kelan kaya magbabati hayss nakakalungkot @Jijisaur

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, ako wala naman akong galit sa kaninonh supporters or politicians. Sabi ko nga sa kanila sayang yung 12 years tas 6 years lang uupo yung nanalo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's sad... Supporting a candidate shouldn't go as far as this... I hope they can restore their friendship

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is true. 12 years of friendship versus 6 years in the position. It was a sad moment for us friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch... I dunno why can't they respect the majority

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay naku ayaw pa kasi nila manahimik na lng pareho for friendship sake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga po, ayoko ng away away kasi wala naman good benefits sa amin magkakaibigan e. I will make more details sa part 2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am Leni supporter but not to the point that I am debating with someone because we have the right to vote. Even my wife doesn't vote for Leni, I never get angry with her. I respect her decision. That's the key there. We need respect one another. But I am also get hurt for her loss on the election.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have the best attitude and I appreciate that you have respect for your wife. The position is only for 6 years but the relationships we have with others will go beyond 6 years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's right. Respect begets respect. How many years we built a relationship and in one election it will be destroyed only.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also had Pink friends yet we were on the good term now and accepted that BBM won. But we never shame each everyone like the one they did to red. I think lying low is the key, good friends stay not disregard.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is the best attitude. I admire you for doing that. Friendship will stay, the position is just 6 years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope they can still restore the friendships. Imagine 12 years of friendship tapos sisirain lang ng politika. I wish both of them can reconcile ang hirap pag sa gitna ka sis parang ang hirap mag take sides.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap nga nada gitna sis. Hindi naman ako pinapapili ng side pero I really wish that they will reconcile sayang yung 12 years

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing your are not taking any sides from them. I think it's too much naman nacut ties agad dahil lang don. Question ko lang, before the election, hindi ba nagpopost din ng kung ano ano yung leni supporters? Same as bbm supporter one?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not like to take sides because I am really want to restore the friendship. Oo, sis, sayang talaga. Nagpopost sila parehas e, I will give more details sa part 2.

$ 0.00
2 years ago