Childhood Christmas Memories!

9 25
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

🎶🎄Last Christmas, I gave you my heart but the very next day, you gave it away~ Ahh, Christmas is getting near. I am not really a religious gal but we celebrate Christmas. I mean of not religious is i do not go to church every Sunday or go to prayer meetings. I believe that we can have relationship with God without being involved in a religion.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

In this article, I will be thinking of my childhood in relation to Christmas. I can say that some of it is that we are not doing it anymore because we grow up. it is understandable because we have our busy lives. So, here is my list of my childhood memories during Christmas.

1) Hanging pillowcases on the curtain knob.

Image Source: https://i.pinimg.com/736x/fb/63/d6/fb63d6b663de7649a8e8cfd1f7f62159--curtain-holdbacks-curtain-poles.jpg

As a kid, I always believe that Santa will be dropping gifts in our house during Christmas eve. What we do in order for Santa to know where to put our gifts, we hang pillowcases in the curtain knobs. It is easier for him to drop it so that when he is caught, he can easily ran away with the reindeers.

I remember that I received a doll house with a pink roof and yellow walls. It was wrapped in newspaper. I was very happy because I am on Santa's list! Fast forward, I grew up and I knew that it was my mom that set it up all along haha! It was a nice experience though. And at least I felt a bit of commercialized Christmas lol.

2) Sleep together with cousins and then waking up to eat for Christmas dinner.

Image source: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/--RC61batDLw/UjcofrNoM5I/AAAAAAAAI2o/MH0BnUhv_fE/s1600/Cousins+2.jpg

I missed sleepover with my cousins. We stay in one room and then we pillow fight until we get tired. We fight for the blanket because it is too short for 5 people. Those are the memories I will always cherish. Now, some of my cousins are now married, have kids, different careers. They now have their own lives and families. We seldom talk now, only when birthdays I greet them and vice versa. Time really flies so fast. Now, my nieces and nephews are doing this traditions.

3) Christmas caroling.

Image source: https://www.worldpulse.com/sites/default/files/styles/post_cover_image/public/post/6171/14210/post_cover_image/ee480a4596f53a382556b72664fc1ab4/3127031845_df7f95072f_z.jpg?itok=ksPvgfm-

Back then, 5 pesos (0.10 USD) is such a big amount for me as kid. I can buy one popsicle for 5 pesos. What I do to have money during school breaks on Christmas is to go to houses and sing Christmas songs. Then the owner of the house will give us coins for singing. I remember that I am so scared to go caroling because the dogs in the province is so savage haha! They will chase the hell out of us. Thankfully no one is bitten during our caroling or else we will be scolded and spanked haha! That is what they do back then.

4) Make a fake snow.

Image from Unsplash

We always see snow on TV during Christmas. Here in the Philippines, it does not snow. The closest to be in a winter wonderland is Baguio or Tagaytay. As a kid, I am curious of how it feels like or how it is made. What we do is mix water and detergent and I think salt. I forgot what it makes it hard. And then we put it in our Christmas tree as a decor. That is how we make fake snow. My wish before is to experience real snow like what I see in the movies. Now, I am not a fan of cold haha! I get stiff and my skin is drying so fast if it is cold.

5) Go to Perya (Fair).

Image from Unsplash

We used to go to a Christmas fair in our municipality. My favorite game is the running lights. The mechanics of the game is, you bet a coin in front of the item that you like, for example, a can of soda, and then when the lights stopped at your bet, you will get the prize. For me it has a thrilling effect and it is really fun. Another one is the ABC game. You will put a bet on your choice of letter. You will pull a string then 3 dices will fall. If the dice shows your letter, you will get a price. The fair start at 4pm to 12 midnight as what I can remember as a kid. For now in the present, they are not allowing it due to the pandemic.

Final Thoughts

Ahhh, it is so good to reminisce the good old days but also makes me sad. It makes me sad because it will never ever happen again, well maybe but in a small percentage of chance. These traditions can be passed on to next generation like my kids and grandkids someday. The important thing is, I will always cherish these memories until I am gone. Nothing can beat childhood Christmas memories.

Thank you for reading my article. Peace- Jijisaur.

Lead image edited on Canva

Opensea/Twitter/Noise.cash: @Jijisaur

You can read my other articles here:

🎄Jijisaur's Learning Journey - Blog #1 https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/jijisaurs-learning-journey-blog-1-501724a1

🎄 Questions About Music (Do I like K-pop?) https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/questions-about-music-do-i-like-k-pop-9c33f9d2

🎄Living In These Beautiful Countries! https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/living-in-these-beautiful-countries-dbe72bc1


4
$ 0.67
$ 0.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @yhanne
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
2 years ago

Comments

I really can't wait to finally meet my family members so we can discuss many things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's so sweet of you. I am glad that you have plans for you family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We're the same sis I thought Santa is real until I realized he doesn't exist. I love when you have time with your cousins sis sleep together. I imagine now, it was really fun. I didn't experience that sis.

I wish I can touch snow in real sis.☺️ Yes the caroling days, the unforgetable experiences sis. We were so happy we received 5 peso.😁 I love it also the "Perya". It was so much fun sis.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakamiss sis:) I want all these things to be experienced by my kids kasi ako naenjoy ko talaga sya😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, sa next generation naman ito maeexperience hehe. 😊 Sarap balik balikan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also used to think that santa will come and leave a gift but when I woke up next day there used to be nothing and this keep on happening for few years till I get mature that there's no santa at least in my life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww I'm sorry that your santa did not come to give you gifts. The reality is, there is really no Santa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Childhood christmas memories are really the best, where the world is so much easy! Hayys wish I could turn back time I really miss my childhood christmas together with my family and friends, because now I am apart from them already and it makes me sad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too. We have different lives now. Some are married and have kids. Well, that's how life goes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago