A 7.3 Magnitude Earthquake Hit North

25 52
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

An earthquake struck Abra and other parts of North Luzon. The earthquake's magnitude was first estimated by the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) to be 7.3.

According to Phivolcs, the earthquake occurred on Wednesday at 8:43 am at a depth of 25 kilometers. Damage and aftershocks were forewarned by the agency.

Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty

Thank you, sponsors!

I thought it was just a normal day.

Another day, another daily routine. The day was completely normal. I woke up for work as per usual. In my head, it will always be a long day.

As I was scanning emails and schedules, I felt a sudden shake. I thought it was just me or somebody was just trying to shake my chair.

The shaking started to grow and the surrounding was shattering and breaking. That's when I realized that it was an earthquake already. Every corner, there was something breaking. A television, vases, glasses, windows, etc.

I ran as fast as I could to get out. My knees were shaking and almost tripped on the stairs, luckily I did not. there were shattered glasses on the way, one mistake, and I will cut myself. I feel like the adrenaline rush in my body had tripled. After I got out of the building, I cried uncontrollably.

Source

I got to contact my dad and then he comforted me. I cried even harder knowing that he was safe. My face and eyes were so red because of crying. My hands were shaking. I cannot breathe properly at that time. I fought the scared child inside of me and tried to get a grip of myself.

We stayed outside for almost an hour because an aftershock might occur. Everyone is trying to contact their loved ones and went home to check their houses.

I and my family got ready to leave our place. We live near the coastline and feared that there will be a tsunami in a minute. The local government announced that people who lived near the coastline must evacuate immediately. We are just two km from the coastline. This is when we got very scared because there was news circulating that the water receded. and cracks were found need the shore.

I only packed what was important. I do not care at this point about work, side hustle, and whatnot. I do not care about anything except of my family and our dogs.

Source

We were evacuated to higher ground. On the way, we saw people getting out of their houses. Everyone was rushing. Stores were closed. We have to hurry at this point.

The evacuation place was full of people. Crying, scared, traumatized, distressed. I tried not to cry because I have to be tough for my little sister. I act as if I am in control of myself. My throat hurt from holding my tears back but I have no choice at this time but to fake being strong.

We still felt aftershocks after the big one. The power was shut down and we just have to rely on our mobile data for updates and news. We have to be patient on what is the next move and be alert always.

I realized that nothing is more important than your family. What happened is so traumatizing, and I cannot explain the feeling unless you felt it first hand yourself.

Source

As of writing this, mentally and emotionally, I was shaken, and still am. I am still that scared child inside. I can still hear the breaking and feel the trembling of the ground. The trauma will not go away easily, and I expect it that way. For now, I have to slowly recover from the trauma.

Sorry if I do not have photos and videos because it was not my priority at that point.


That is it for today. Thank you for reading. I will see you at the next one.

Banner edited from Canva. Image from Unsplash

Thank you!

Date Published: July 29, 2022

By the way, I recently joined the Hive community. If you have an account, let us follow each other! Follow me @jijisaurart.

Check my other articles!

🍄 Self Care Bingo | Check Your Wellness https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/self-care-bingo-check-your-wellness-00a16d81

💙 Disappointed With Season 2! | The Promised Neverland https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/disappointed-with-season-2-the-promised-neverland-ce678115

🎶 I Cannot Let Go Of My Skinny Jeans https://read.cash/@Jijisaur/i-cannot-let-go-of-my-skinny-jeans-aeff4902

15
$ 2.71
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
+ 6
Sponsors of Jijisaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jijisaur
1 year ago

Comments

Ang importante safe kayo, Sis. Sana wala nang aftershocks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh Gosh, mag isa kang pala sa house that time. What if super busy ka that time na kahit umaalaog na ang bahay ee di kapa rin nakakamalay ohmy 😱 but glad you and your Dad are safe. Nakauwi naba kayo sa inyo? Or mataas pa rin ang alert level? Be alert always oiii jay jay ugh and be safe. Fighting laang okie 💪🥰.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We're fine na Panda, thank you for your kind words. Pero may mga afterschocks pa rin up until now. Kanina nga may maliit na quake, still scary. :( Ingat ka rin po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap talaga ji, kapag ganitong calamity kasi walang pinipiling oras same lang sa buhay natin pwedeng kahit anong oras ay mawala tayo sa mundo kaya , anytime talaga dapat tayong ready , glad that safe kayung lahat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, ate. Kaya ingat ingat pa rin kami. And we are near the coastline kasi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ingat pa rin sa mga aftershocks, Ji!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo, thank you! Ingat rin po kayo dyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very traumatizing talaga ang earthquake na na experience natin ngayon. Nakakabigla ang mga pangyayari, walang abiso at preparasyon eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, pero infairness ang bilis ng local at national government sa amin. Ok naman kami naka evacuate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

glad to know you are safe dear... i hope for the fast recovery of the area and those who were affected...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is such a traumatizing time. We are all safe as a family, thankfully. Thank you for your kind words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had talked to many about their experience din before when bohol also experienced one..super traumatizing nga...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taga saan ka sis? Malakas pala sa inyo. Thanks God okay lang kayo sis. 🙏 Grabe ang lakas nga ng lindol sis. 🥺 Nakakalungkot tingnan yung mga pictures. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi po ako taga north originally but I live here for the mean time po. Yes, the pics are very saddening po.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba sis. Ingat kayo diyan sis. Oo sis grabe nakakalungkot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

grabe napanood ko sa Tiktok itong pictures na ginamit mo jiji grabe kinikilabutan ako habang pinapanuod ko. I hope na wala naman nasaktan sa area nyo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang alam ko mga minor lang mga cases, pero sa ibang part may nadedz :( Kaya dapat alert pa rin kami.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakoooo sad to hear that pero buti kayo okay lahat ng family mo? Relatives??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natural events continue to warn us as humans to pay more attention to life, maybe some indications about the calamity that happened are a warning to us that God has other ways to teach us human beings a lesson, keep praying and asking for protection because we will not be able to withstand all events and disasters. great calamity to come.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was so scary. We are just in stand by because they said that there are still aftershocks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ang lakas ng lindol. Thank God at ligtas kayo dyan. Naremember ko bigla yung 6.9 na lindol noon nung sa Cebu pa ako. Nakaka-trauma yung ganyan kalakas na lindol. Kahit aftershocks ay ang lakas pa din.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, may experience na rin po pala kayo. Huhu, grabe noh? Parang hindi totoo yung lindol. How I wish na hindi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo, grabe talaga. Yung nasa labas ako nung nangyari yun. Nakita ko talaga yung pag alon ng lupa dahil sa lindol tapos yung tunog na parang may malakas na ulan na paparating. Grabe, di ko talaga yun malimutan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

God bless our land. Huhu, still fresh din sa akin nangyari like it's not a school drill na, it's reality. 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah, it feels so surreal. That is why we are still on monitors. We are expecting aftershocks pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago