Facemask: for protection or just to comply?

29 59
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago
Date: May 05, 2022

After lunch, I washed the dishes, let my son sleep and I'm free. I visited my noise.cash and interact with my virtual friends there. I share some FT's and comes here after.

I am thinking what topic to write and as usual I ended nothing. I just keep on reading other articles hoping that I may get some idea to write until I was able to read @Lhes article with the title why am I always wearing a face mask? She shared her reason why she always wear a facemask.

Today, let me ask you. Why you wear facemasks? Is it for protection or just to comply? Or might be you still have any other reasons for wearing it.

Today, let me share to you the 4 common reasons why we wear facemask:

  • For protection

  • Just to comply

  • Fashion

  • Hiding Identity

For Protection

The first and foremost reason why we wear facemask is protection.

Before the pandemic hits the world, I am also wearing facemasks to protect myself from dusts. We are living in the countryside back then and we need to travel around 30-40 minutes passing through a rough road before we reached the market. When leaving home we don't need to wear lotion because the dust will just stick more to our skin. We don't need face powder too because a dust is free along the way to make your face, skin and even your clothes becomes white because of dust. So, to protect ourselves from inhaling it we use facemask. A cloth facemask is common to us everytime we travel.

When pandemic hits, we are so afraid to acquire the virus. We prefer to stay at home than to go out. When we go out, we wear facemasks not just one but sometimes two to have more cover and protection for ourselves.

Just to comply

When the number of covid cases went down, most mentality thoughts that we can also go down in protecting ourselves. Some people didn't even bothered to wear face mask. They have their own reasons though.

Sometimes we just wear facemask just to comply with the health protocols, just to comply with the rules.

Sometimes we wear facemasks upon entering establishments, supermarkets, malls and any building just to comply the rule: No facemask, No entry. But tell me, you did this too, that after you were able to enter, you let your mask down so you can breath comfortably.

Fashion

Fashion can be a reason why we wear facemasks. We didn't even noticed it but sometimes it is what we are doing. Sometimes we choose facemask not in the basis of how it can protect us but on how we looks upon wearing it. Hmm might be you are smiling because it might be true.

We choose those colorful, with great, rich or fancy designs facemask just to suit our outfit or personality.

Hiding Identity

Hiding identity is the last or the least reason why we wear facemask. I don't know if you can apply this reason but for me I seldom use it to hide my identity.

I have known a couple who is selling vegetables in the market and I found out that their vegetables is quite pricey than others. Though I want to support them but a mother like me who wants to find cheap yet fresh vegetables just to save some I wont opt to buy unto them. So, wearing facemask is a way that I can hide my identity as I passed to them. Am I bad for that?

Sadly, people who did crimes around always wear facemask to hide their identity from their victim, from the witness and even from the CCTV's. But one thing I am sure of, two or more facemask cannot hide their identity from the One above who knows everything.

Ending thoughts

Facemask is useful, we cannot deny from it. But some people were using it for bad purposes.

How about you? What is your reason why you wear facemask?

Thank you for reading. Till next
article, see yah.

If you haven't read my previous article here are some of it:

21
$ 5.95
$ 5.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 8
Sponsors of JenThoughts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JenThoughts
1 year ago

Comments

We wear facemask for both protection and compliance reason especially during the time of the surge of the covid 19 virus. Pero ngayon, maybe for protection and hiding identity hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha its purpose will depend sa circumstances hehehe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am wearing facemask for protection. Prior to that, sobrang hirap magsuot ng mask medyo nakakairita at ang hirap ding huminga. Ngayon basta nasa labas na ng bahay, matic na may face mask ngayon. Medyo malayo kami sa mga tao pero as practice narin, some kapitbahays dito walang facemask at di rin bakunado.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nasasanay na rin tayo ano... Mapapahinto ka talaga sa labas when you realize na wala kang mask.. balik agad at kukuha ng mask

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, here where I live almost no one wears masks anymore, I think we all used to comply with security measures but they don't wear them anymore because it's more comfortable and we don't feel threatened

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They are some also here even me nowadays I wear facemask but i removed it down sometimes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have been using face mask during pandemic that made us habitual and part and parcel of the routine life that we don't feel good without wearing it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes it becomes a part of our daily routine.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I totally agree with you my friend, the face mask is very useful. Even though the Covid-19 statistic has dropped, I can not even imagine that one day, even if it isn't the Covid-19 pandemic, I don't wear masks in closed areas, subways and buses.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lahat naman sila talaga no? Pero mas lamang sakin yonf hide my face. Pag nalatago ang mukha ko kasi mejo nawawala ang shyness ko ba.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Shyness? Mahiyain kaba sis? hmm ako nga introvert din hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly Ms. Jen, hindi talaga ako kumportable na nagsusuot nang mask kasi nahihirapan ako huminga, lalo na kung nabibilad sa init. Pero dahil masunurin tayo sa health protocol, ayun napipilitan na lang din. Well, nagsusuot din talaga for protection. Hirap kaya magkasakit sa panahon ngayon.

Anyways, about dun sa paggawa ng masama, talagang mahirap i-identify yung mga suspects kasi nga naka.mask.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganoon din ako tapos nakaka pimples pa ang mask peru no choice eh... need talaga to protect and to comply sa rules ng government.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bet ko din sa hiding identify. Para mystery bašŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehhe minsan nga di natin makikilala yung mga nakasalubong natin dahil sa mask.. parang na snub ka ng friend mo ehhehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me ate for protection and for compliance. But actually nagsusuot na po talaga ako nang facemask kahit Wala pa pong COVID especially kapag sa market ako pupunta hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Okay din yun kasi for protection din talaga..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas gusto ko sis yong pang 3 reason, Fashion and then yong last is may pagkacreepy sya pero totoo yon kc sometimes we hide behind mask to again hide whatever we don't want others to know, (though the best thing is to confess it above db). Even before lockdown, nagmamask na kami for protection.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hello sis ikaw ba si Julalaine sa noise? hehehe... Yes sis siguro naging fashion mo din sometimes ang mask ano hehehe.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Surprise ako nga hehe. See you kahit saan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow nice to see you din dito hehehe matagal kana siguro dito hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well i used to wear faca mask before Covid cos i have severe issue of dust and pollen allergy, if i don't wear mask i keep sneezing for whole whole days so i became used to of mask and in covid it was more necessary that's why now if i don't wear mask it seems quite awkward (lol), and you are right some peoples use it for negative things , but they are doing wrong no one can hide it's true identity for longer period a time will come when the real face will be revealed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We used to have facemask sis so it seems that we can't go out without facemask

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, it's protection and compliance...tyo lng d namn mag susuffer lkung hndi magmask

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Compliance, that's the term na gusto kong maisip kanina sis ahhaha peru di talaga naabot ng aking utak hahaha kaya i just rephrase it to just comply hahaha... Tama sis while we comply, we were protected and vice versa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ako sis wala py Covid tig suot nako ug mask labina ug mgdrive ko ug motor ky abog unya tugnaw pud.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes sis for protection jud..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dere sis ,mag mask ang mga tao kay aron di dakpon or maja multa ,ako mag mask ko kay haggard na kayu ko di pajud mang lisptickšŸ¤£

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So, just to comply lang sis mag mask.. then ikaw para mahide ang ka hagard hehehe.. di na gastos ug lipstick

$ 0.00
1 year ago