When we lose parents, we get to know ourselves

37 62
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

It's been a year since I lost my father. It’s been a year since I met myself.

In life we ​​often do not have many opportunities to face ourselves. We often live by performing tasks, fulfilling obligations, wishes, achieving goals. We have no time or need to dedicate ourselves to getting to know ourselves deeply. And then something happens that makes you face yourself for the first time after years of living in ignorance. Ignorance of ourselves. And deep down there is a lot of things we were not aware of. We are in that depth. We who look like our parents. We who have the same flaws that made us angry at them many times.

I didn't know I could throw an object when I got annoyed. I didn’t know that maybe I had a hidden aggression in me. I have never noticed that. Now I know and I know that it is not good and I want it not to happen in the future. But how would I know a downside of myself if I had been protected from my parents all my life who made me feel like the best being in the world.

When you lose your parents, responsibility knocks on your door even though you believed it has always been there. Now it comes with its complete equipment to lead you to a life where you choose your own path.

If you make a mistake along the way, no one will stand behind you. You are solely responsible for what you do and then you start to get to know yourself more and more because you need to know what outcomes you can expect from your actions. And there you are. Only you. You and memories. Memories hurt, but they remind you of who you were. With them you go on and start learning who you are.

I didn't believe that I was strong enough to endure the loss of my parents, but with that lack of strength, I am still moving forward. I laugh, I make rational decisions, I was not depressed, I don't hurt others, I behave normally. I realized that I was stronger than I thought and that I could endure more than I could have imagined.

I got to know myself deeply and discovered the positive sides of my personality that help me pass on true values ​​to my children, but also the negative sides that I want to correct, and the first step to correct something is to become aware. Not knowing ourselves well and deeply, we are often unaware of our flaws that can hurt others.

Now I know who I am. Now I know who the people around me are. When you are in a difficult situation, many people will withdraw. Not everyone likes to be in the presence of sad people. Those who sincerely appreciate you will stay with you. There aren't many of them. But they are worth more than a lot of "friends" who took your time during a time when you didn’t know yourself.

As long as we have parents, the world is still beautiful around us no matter what happens. Enjoy it. If you have already lost your parents, get to know yourself better because you are the only one who can help yourself cope with life's difficult challenges.

Thank you very much for reading.

The article is original and mine.

Lead image is from unsplash.com.

Greetings!

17
$ 3.09
$ 2.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 9
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I miss my mama every day and I promised myself that I will search for her in another life or another lifetime. Sigh, now I am sad and I am teary-eyed. Losing my parents made me realize that life is really serious :P I mean I thought it won't happen to me. I'm gonna have this pain forever.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Do you believe in another life? I have read some books based on hypnosis that have evoked memories in people from a previous life. Ever since I lost my dad, I've started to believe in it. Life is hard, there must be some reason.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do, dear. I have a friend who studied energy and stuff. It's how I learned about the web of life. We accessed the book of my life as well, my friend helped me heal the tears on the web of life, the curses that were attached to me, the negative energies. I have been reincarnated as well. And do you know that whatever surname or maiden name you have, it has to do with your previous life?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But how he helped you? How were you reincarnated? I would like to know more about this. 😊 I am so interested in this topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

..continuation..He read my partner's book of life too.. John, my friend, didn't know my partner had heart issues but he saw 4 tears on his heart..He was right..My partner went through bypass because of 4 blocked arteries. And he saw the negative energy attached to my partner because my partner and I had a fight..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He was taught how to do "energy reading" by his teacher. He did it for free for me. He has a pendulum. He asked for permission if he could access my "book of life", he read that I have been reincarnated for I think more than 50 times already. I was a boy in my previous life, I had a curse...I used to be a knight..Surprisingly, my last name is Caballero..I used to dream about a boy or girl or something and that dream kept on looping. I killed a lover in my past life and promised that we won't get separated. He released me from that curse by saying a prayer...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing. This is so interesting. If I could do that, I would be very happy. Maybe what I found out would help me better understand the things that are happening to me in my current life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is interesting, my dear Jelie :) I have been trying to contact my dear old friend, John who is studying energy. He actually lives in the USA but he is not responding to my messages :( I do wish he is still alive. It's been a year since our last conversation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our parents shield us from the world as it is and we have it easy. But when we start to be responsible for ourselves, we begin to learn about other part of our being ww never knew was there

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right, nicely said. When they are with us, everything is easy, and when they leave, then we wake up from a beautiful dream, in a cruel world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with this. And those people who leaves you because of your sad situation will not be worth it. True friends will stay by your side always.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, when we are in a difficult situation, we actually find out who our real friends are and realize that they were not worth the time we spent with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you are absolutely right. We get to understand more not just in ourselves but in everything.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In everything, that's right. We grow up in the moment. As long as we have parents, we are still children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a common saying that if there are no teeth, people understand the meaning of teeth. The child can understand how much of the life of the parent-child is involved after losing .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The saying is true. Only when we lose something do we realize the value of it. Unfortunately that is the case with me as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to know myself more but I don't want to loose my parents! So I will just learn from others till that happens, I wish it never not to me nor anyone. Also thanks a lot for sharing about your life. Your are definitely a very brave women. Respect!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. Enjoy time with your parents because it is the most precious time we have in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm I feel bad for the first line jelena, sorry to read this. I know its hard, well who else would be glad after losing a family member, no month, years would be spent happily, but of course we need to accept the fact that we must continue to live with or without them, there's nothing we can do to a dead people we just have to cherish and remember the memories we had with them. Losing parents is never so easy, how i wish i could be there at your heavy days jelena

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much. It is very difficult, but we get some strange strength so that we can continue and we can never imagine that we will have such strength. We become someone new, we grow up when that happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arms around your shoulder. The Devil knows the pain. I know how exactly you feel. The broken smiles will never be bonding again on this matter. Just pray dear.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks, I know you understand me. We share the same pain. I don't know how to pray, I'm not religious. If I could at least do that, maybe it would be easier for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry for your loss Jelena! I know it hard though I haven't experience it yet. I am not yet ready😔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks my friend. We are never ready. But don't think about it. Enjoy with your parents and have a good time with them. They are most valuable to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're right, we don't know when is the time they will be taken from us. Thanks, I a, enjoying my time with them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true, losing our parents makes us realize many things. Some even think that at the time they did not know how to value them as they deserved, losing our parents does not make us reflect much on our lives. Greetings!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately, sometimes we don't appreciate the presence of our parents enough, and when we lose them, it's too late to change anything and then we start to get to know ourselves better in order to find support. Greetings to you too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you jelena. Sorry to hear that you lose your father but it doesn't mean you lose yourself too instead you are now confident yourself because you've learned everything.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes I feel like I have lost myself and now I’m looking for myself, I’ve found some pieces so I’m putting them together...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh good to know that you overcome it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember when I lost my mother two year ago. Deep sadness I was felt ,eventhough I leave separately I still missed the presence of my mother. Totally done deep inside I coudnt see and talk again, even til now I cried upon seeing the tomb of my mother.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a pain that always accompanies us, I think it will always be present. I can't even look at the tomb, it's very difficult. I understand you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's been a year since I lost my father. It’s been a year since I met myself.

I really like this word. When people we can lean on and trust without limits leave us, we are left alone with our true personality, and this is often the result of a painful experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

"To be alone with our true personality..." I didn't fully understand this. As you know, I lost my father 2 months ago. However, I don't feel much different about my personality. My father and I weren't very close, but we weren't far off either. There was a 33-year age difference between us. We belonged to different generations. We were not like friends, but I loved my father. When he died, I didn't feel extra alone. Actually, I always felt alone. I was in a relationship for a period of 5 years. İn relationship that feeling of loneliness had disappeared. I even proposed to her. Although she accepted my offer, she left me after a while. That's when that lonely feeling came back and never went away. This event happened about 20 years ago. There is a loneliness that has been sitting in me for 20 years.

stay with love my friends (foryoubtc09 and Jeka)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. When we lose our parents, we meet our true personality, which is not a pleasant experience and it is very painful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents are the greatest blessing! I'm so sorry for your loss and I'm sure your father is in a better place watching you and proud of you and the strength you have discovered in yourself dear

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would like to believe in that better place, it would be easier for me. 😟 Thank you so much for the kind and supportive words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago