They stole my money

25 53
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

I still can't believe what happened to me today. I try to remember everything, but I can't find the answer to the question I repeat - who stole my money?

Sometimes people are so unpredictable that you don’t know what to expect and what dangers lurk around the corner. Today is not my day. Someone stole my money for the first time in my life. I thought that couldn't happen to me. I am disappointed, surprised, and scared.

Not so early in the morning, I headed to a nearby mall, by car. Along the way, I stopped by an ATM to withdraw money for the baby's monthly needs, diapers, food, and milk. I withdrew the money and put it in the wallet to which my apartment keys were attached. My wallet was in my little bag. I was with the baby and my husband. They were waiting for me in the car.

When we arrived at the mall and parked the car, my husband took the stroller out of the car. While he was doing that, I got out and put my black little bag on the top of the car as I pulled the baby out of the seat and transferred her to the stroller. And I don't remember anything else since then.

At the mall, I noticed I didn't have my bag. I ran to the parking lot and looked for it. Of course, I didn't find it. There were 20,000 dinars in the wallet, which is approximately 200 dollars. Most likely it happened that I forgot the bag on top of the car, but I guess my husband and I would have noticed it, especially he, who has great observation power. There was no one in the parking lot. We were alone. Or at least we thought we were alone.

What is amazing to me is that this happened at a time when I had a larger amount of money in my wallet. I usually have about 2000 dinars, which is about 20 dollars, and now I had 10 times more. I rarely have a lot of money in my wallet and just when I had it, it disappeared. It is so strange.

We went to the security and asked them to look at the video from the parking lot, but the security cameras, unfortunately, did not cover the part where our car was.

We went home. After a few hours, the police rang the doorbell and brought me the documents from the wallet and the keys that were attached to the wallet. I asked them where is the money. They told me that they had not found the money and that there were only documents in the wallet.

It was clear to me that this was the moment when I had to say goodbye to my money. I felt disappointed. I'm still disappointed. I am disappointed primarily in myself because I did not keep my money responsibly and carefully. Then I am disappointed in people who dare to steal something that does not belong to them. I am also disappointed that I have worked hard to make money that no one can give me back.

I feel surprised because I didn't expect something like this to happen to me. And I also feel scared because I wonder how the thief knew that I had withdrawn a large sum of money at an ATM before coming to the mall. That means someone may have followed me. I wouldn’t want to be paranoid but I don’t believe in coincidence.

I want to believe that the person who stole my money needed money for some good purpose, maybe to feed the child or buy medicine. I hope my money will bring good to someone. I'm not angry. This is an experience that will make me more careful in the future.

Thank you very much for reading.

The article is original and mine. The lead image is from unsplash.com.

Be careful. The world is unpredictable.

16
$ 3.02
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Duvinca
$ 0.09 from @Ezelazra3
+ 7
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Oh sorry dear, really.... well at least you are ok and safe although I understand how you feel. Unfortunately every time we go to the street we must be on alert because we don't know what can happen. I hope it was just a case, a coincidence and no one was looking at you and what you did. Maybe you should take care when you go to an ATM and look very well your wallet or put the money in your pocket, I don't know.... I'd like to say you something really good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm so sorry to hear. That's horrible. The thief must have noticed that you withdrew a large sum at the ATM... such things are, sadly, happening in many countries. It's beyond my understanding why people steal. I guess the good thing is that you got your ID and keys back, though... in the meantime, your key might have been copied, too.

I pay by card for everything that I possibly can. Even if it's just a couple of euro. It saves lots of hussle. But of course, losing your credit/debit card is a problem, too. I've lost mine twice! Luckily, I was faster to block it before money was withdrawn.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm sorry about the money being lost. Sometimes, we were distracted with other things that we forget about our other things such as the bag. In our country, people are cautious especially in public places. The good thing is you were able to recover your other stuff. How about the ATM card?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. Yes, it is good that my documents have been returned and among them is my atm card as well. If they hadn't returned my documents, it would have cost me a lot. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are lucky. People iny neighborhood tend to steal absolutely everything. From money, jewelry, technics, and valuables to pure metal scrap.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh, it's so scary to live in a neighborhood like that. I have not had such experiences so far and I feel very strange.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What happened to you is very unexpected, The issue of stealing money is bothering me a lot. Is humanity being lost from the world day by day?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am afraid it is. It was a very disappointing experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ooh sorry for that money that youve lost, there are a lot of thieves around so never let your guard down, especially when you have a large amount of money..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree, I was not responsible enough and this is a lesson. I hope it doesn't happen again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, and don't blame yourself, blame the thieves..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sprry to hear that sis. That's a big amount of monet. Same with you, I also think maybe that person badly needs money but still it's not good that they will get other's money because they need it. I hope you're fine now. They said, if you loss something there's better coming. There will be a blessing coming into you, duoble or triple of something you lost.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I hope better is coming. I should have acted more responsibly towards money. I was not careful enough and unfortunately there are people who use such situations.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay, there are such time for us to be like that. And there's a reason why it happened ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you ok dear? That's important. Hope so. It happens in life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am ok Luci, thanks. Yes, unfortunately, it happens.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry about the money.I admire your positive attitude towards the whole thing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. I always try to see the positive side of everything that happens to me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know how it was affected, as I can't predict what can be bought with 20 thousand dinars. I hope it's an amount that won't upset you too much. This kind of distraction can happen to any of us. I don't think anyone was watching you. A passerby in the parking lot probably took that wallet.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's not a small amount of money, I could buy a lot of things. I guess one of the passers-by took it, threw away the wallet and took out the money of course. 😊 Unfortunately, this happens often but I was not aware of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry tp hear this jelena.Don't worry you can have that amount in your hand again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. Yes, we can always have money again, it's not worth getting upset about material things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm really sorry for you. Why would someone steal someone else's stuff? I'm just glad it didn't hurt you. If he said he needed help and asked for help, you would have given it to him. didn't need to ring

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you very much. Some people are not honest and do bad things. Unfortunately, sometimes we have to get to know the bad side of the world that I am usually not aware of because I believe in fairy tales and that all people are good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unfortunately, most people lack honesty. I hope you never experience something like this again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago