Meet the animals from the Belgrade Zoo

28 77
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

My son is an animal lover, so we often go to the zoo. There I am overwhelmed by sad feelings about animals, deprived of their freedom, but he always assures me that they are actually free and that the zoo is their safe home and that any other place would be dangerous to their existence.

Some animals are still locked indoors due to the cold weather, but we still met a lot of them today. Here they are.

Two-hump Camel

One of my son's favorite animals. They live in groups that contain one male and several females. They are thought to have started being tamed by humans more than 3500 years ago. They are well-adjusted to the life in a desert.

Did you know?

The belief that camels keep water reserves in their humps is wrong. It is true, though, that they can keep water for some time in their baggy gastric extensions.

Asian Elephant

Females together with the young form a group, whereas males stay aside. Females give birth every three of four years. An elephant baby weighs 100 kilos when it is born. Elephants grow rapidly for the first 15 years and then this process goes slowly but continues for the rest of their lives.

Did you know?

It is considered that a man first tamed an Asian elephant about 5000 years ago.

American Flamingo

Tall birds with a flexible neck. They usually stand on one leg while the other leg is tucked beneath the body. When standing on one leg the flamingo actually sleeps, but it is unusual that only half of the flamingo is asleep, and the half holding the leg still remains active. They are very social.

Did you know?

Flamingoes (both parents) feed their babies with the "crop milk", produced in glands lining the whole of the upper digestive tract.

Rothschild Giraffe

They live in herds numbering up to 40 members. They defend from their attackers by kicking them and in that way, they can even kill the lion. They sleep for two hours and eat leaves for 20 hours. They are able to resist without water for a long time.

Did you know?

Giraffes are the tallest animals in the world and the only mammals, born with horns. Although their neck is very long, they, as well as other mammals, have only seven cervical vertebrae.

Sulphur-crested Cockatoo

They live in pairs or small groups. They are very careful and their flight is accompanied by sharp whistles.

Did you know?

Cockatoos are highly intelligent birds. They are great imitators, and with a little dedication of the owner, they will learn to repeat words, and even complex sentences.

African Lion

They live in herds consisting of one or more adult males, several females and their young. They attack the prey only when it gets as close as 30 metres. Young males, as soon as they become sexually mature, are expelled from the herd. Females stay in the same family. It has never happened that a female changes one herd for another.

Did you know?

Although lioness plays the main role in a hunt, the male lion is always the first one to eat.

Hippopotamus

They live in large groups, which can number up to 100 members. Males defend the territory and are often very aggressive. They spend most of the day in water because the sun has a seriously negative effect on them and at night they come out on land to graze.

Did you know?

Hippopotamus can stay under water continuously for five-six minutes. Mating and birth-giving are done in water.

Meeting animals is always enjoyable. Love of animals makes us better people.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article and all photos are original and mine.

Greetings from Belgrade.

16
$ 4.37
$ 3.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @sj0820
+ 10
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I get a similar feeling when I go with my son to the zoo. It gives me some sadness for the animals. However, some of them have been rescued from circuses or very bad situations so being there is sometimes the best option. The good thing is that the kids can educate themselves about the animals and see them up close.

I hope you had a great time that day with your family. Congratulations!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we had a nice day and I agree with you, maybe there would be even worse for them somewhere else and maybe they were saved. If we think like that, it will be easier for us to watch them. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Zoo animals give us so much joy. We make fun of them and enjoy them. I am also happy for your child's happiness. But for captive animals and birds, I am suffering as much as you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just hope that these animals are well there because they are used to such a life. My son adores them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really fascinated by your child's love of animals.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Come to think of it I have never visited a zoo before in my life, but I have always wanted to see a flamingo lol I have seen it in lots of cartoon to be more specific penguins of Madagascar

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh I love penguins from Madagascar, great cartoon. 😊 Flamingos are really cool, they turn their necks in all directions and sleep while standing. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really?? πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I never knew they sleep while standing jeez

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems your son had a nice day! The important thing is that all the animals are in good condition and healthy. They looks well. Here in my city we have the Biopark is a pretty new installation where ecosystems recreated a bit, it's big like american style zoo where keepers make researches too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would like to visit Biopark in your city. My son would be very happy. I hope we will have more opportunities for travelling in the future.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes hope so too, we will enjoy again the magic of discovering new places and hope your kid can enjoy here! Who knows...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was such wonderful trivia, dear Jelena! Thanks for showing us your zoo :) I haven't seen a camel in real life and the rest of those animals.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you found it interesting. There are a lot of animals from all over the world in our zoo. There are even penguins. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I want to see a lion in real life Jelena. I don't know know what will be my reaction and what I'm going to feel but I want to see even one. I don't know here in our country if we have a lion in the zoo.

Also the elephant and giraffe. I only saw them only in movies. I know it will be exciting if I saw them in real.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

One more reason to visit Serbia. 😊 Lions are beautiful. My husband could watch them for hours and not be bored.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to watch them too Jelena. ☺️❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So beautiful, I love getting special knowledge about animals. Thank you Jelena.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad if you learned some new facts about animals from this article and that it was interesting to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope these animals are well taken care of because they deserve to be free to enjoy their natural habitat. I just had a lesson with my 3rd-grade pupils about animals, how they should be protected may it be domestic or wild animals. By the way, the African Lion looks so kingly and mighty.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are a teacher? That is very nice. And I also hope they take good care of them. Lion is really fascinating, it was not interested in coming closer to photograph it. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The reason I don’t visit zoo is I feel guilty. Like we are torturing them. Good to see you passing a nice day there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel the same. I’m always sad there, it’s hard for me to watch them but they are actually fine there because they are used to that kind of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sad for the animals who were supposed to live in groups along with their kind but is living alone inside the zoo. I can feel the way you're feeling Jelena, I just hope they are fine & healthy even if they are captive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, they are fine because they have been there since birth and it is their natural habitat. But it is sad to watch them so captive..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right? It seems like they were robbed from their freedom but if they were born there I bet they think that's the place where they belong so it's all good I suppose.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Such cute animals, if I were to be in a zoo, I'd definitely look for the flamingos, I haven't seen one my whole life. I find them cute as well.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Flamingos are very interesting and attractive birds. I love them too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I totally agree my friend.. Not to mention, I also love to make flamingo designs on my journal that's why I badly want to see one soon hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago