Kissing three times in Serbia

36 42
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

If you decide to visit Serbia, be prepared for kissing, even though it is a pandemic. We are people who love to kiss. And most importantly, we formally kiss three times. On the right cheek and then on the left cheek and then again on the right cheek. We kiss three times when we congratulate someone, when we say hello to relatives we haven't seen in a long time, when we say hello officially but closely.

Foreigners are usually confused because the first kiss is followed by the second and then they think it's over and move away, but in fact it's not over because there is a third kiss and an explanation that in our country it must be so. We shake hands during this formal kissing. Be careful not to start kissing the wrong cheek so that you don't kiss someone's mouth. It can put you in an uncomfortable situation. 😊

Kissing three times is associated with religion and the Holy Trinity. When we cross ourselves, we do that with the right hand, with three fingers, in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. There is also another meaning and that is to kiss three times in the name of life, death and honor.

When we greet people in informal situations every day, we usually kiss once on the right cheek without handshake. Greetings in these situations are "zdravo" or "Δ‡ao" and it means hello. So we kiss three times or once but we never kiss twice.

Serbian people also like to hug. We find it very difficult not to hug and kiss during a pandemic. We are cordial and easily express emotions, directly, without restraint. We are also temperamental and open-minded. We will hug you even though we don't know you, and because of our hospitality you will feel at home. Of course, not all people are the same in any country and we cannot characterize them in the same general way, but most of us are cordial. There are also cold, skeptical and reserved people, but they are in the minority.

Currently in Serbia, the situation with Covid is very difficult. We are all sick and we have nowhere to go because all the medical centers are overbooked and people are waiting for days to get medical help. We are infected because we cannot live without physical contact. We love to celebrate and are constantly looking for a reason to celebrate. And at the celebrations we are very close. Music is something that accompanies my people every step of the way. We like to dance, sing and eat. And when you are in a good mood, you can easily get closer to people.

When the pandemic comes to an end, come to my country to hug and kiss and don't forget, we formally kiss three times. 😊

Thank you for your time.

Article and lead image are original and mine.

Kisses from Serbia.

17
$ 2.43
$ 2.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 9
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Aww sweet people! That's really a warm greeting for everyone, hehe! Anyway, Covid is taking its toll everywhere, even here in the Philippines.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you like our way of greeting. 😊 Yes, the situation with Covid is pretty bad everywhere. We are all sick. I hope that one day everything will be normal again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, it's nice not learn a little from your culture. I didn't know there bare other country that who does three kisses. I got use to kiss left and right cheeks hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you come to Serbia don't forget to kiss three times. 😊 I am glad you found it interesting. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I totally love that culture of kissing, showing love to people, that's pretty interesting. Kisses from me too serbians

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. 😊 Yes, culture of kissing is very interesting, but we are all infected with covid now. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. So sorry about that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a Mediterranean. You know, Jeka, Mediterranean people are warm-blooded people. In this case, I should like kissing, but I don't like kissing when I meet people I don't know or are not very sincere. I'm not a cold person. I'm actually a warm-blooded person, but shaking hands is enough for me. But in Turkey, just like in Serbia, people kiss what they catch :)) The thought of kissing someone who is not my friend is not very cute to me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm just like you. It annoys me the most when I come to work and every colleague wants to kiss when we say hello to each other. I say many times that I am sick to prevent kissing with everyone. πŸ˜€ But in general, as a nation, we like to hug and kiss a lot. I love it too, but with close people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friends at my old workplace knew how to just shake hands because they knew me. However, they continued to kiss among themselves. I can say that my people also love to kiss.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm hearing this 'Three Time Kiss's custom for the first time. In our country we too kiss those people who are really close to us but just once or twice not threeπŸ˜… This is really a new and interesting thing for me. I can feel your hospitality and love for each other. I wish I will be able to go there someday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, three times, you know that custom now if you come to visit us. You're welcome Irene! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the kissing rituals of different countries, and yes I can confirm it is three in Serbia ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know you were in Serbia. Next time you come, let me know! 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh I shall definitely tell you the next time ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hope I can visit that place πŸ˜‡

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope that too. You're welcome and don't forget this kissing custom. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Serbia must be a really beautiful city with warm people..kissing on the cheek three times really makes you guys☺ unique

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot. We really love to kiss and hug. Serbia is a country, not a city, but it's okay. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohhh...should I go to Serbia soon to find a woman there and they kiss me hehe.. you know I'm still single so I want to find a partner.. but kissing three times is an element of the trinity in Christian belief, I just found out the philosophy too.. life, death and honor. yes this is something i will hold on to if i get there..maybe someone likes me there..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Why not. There are a lot of beautiful women in Serbia! πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah...I smiled reading it, maybe if God wills it. Thank you. May God bless you always

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm packing my bags! The Devil is going to Serbia.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome! πŸ˜€ But wait for the pandemic to end, it's very bad now. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't wait to meet you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's curious how it changes that social habit of kissing, depending on countries... I think there in East Europe three, funny! In Spain, two from left to right but in Italy, two from right to left, so sometimes there are weird misunderstandings... and in Spain too, but only in Canary Islands only one! probably influenced more by Latinoamerica. The world of kissing is diverse!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, just like you said. It’s really interesting for Spain and Italy, I didn’t know about it. Everyone has their own way. Are you from Spain?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes from Spain... also lived in other countries, so different world views are interesting to me :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I felt that spirit. I love Spain. Nice to meet you. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahh really... jaja Well, nice to meet you too, my pleasure 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! I find it so amusing to know one of your cultures there knowing that we don't do that here in the Philippines.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love the Philippines. How do you say hello? Greeting, shaking hands and kissing are different all over the world, everyone has a specific way. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed our ways of greeting one another differs. Here in our country we asked for our elders hands and put there hands in our forehead while we bow to them, we call it "Mano" or "Pagmamano". If we greet someone with the same age as ours or lower, we only wave our hands or sometimes tap each other.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's cool. 😊I like it. It's good you told me, to know if I visit your country. Not to confuse you with a hug and a kiss. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That would've been great to see you do that and see the reaction of the person you're gonna hug and kiss 3 times 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣 It would be awesome

$ 0.00
2 years ago