If I went to Nigeria

33 66
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

If you are a European, Nigeria may not be on your list of favorite destinations. Maybe because it's far away. Maybe dangerous. Maybe too warm. Maybe wild. There may be contagious diseases that we, Europeans, would find difficult to bear. But people should never let prejudice stop them from getting to know the world.

Today I am going on a virtual trip to Nigeria because of the wonderful Nigerian people on this platform. Dear friends from Nigeria, I am writing for you today.

Nigeria is home to many people and is one of the most populous countries in the world, but population size and statistics are less important. It is important to say what message these people are sending to the whole world. My impression is that Nigerians are open-hearted people, very polite. They always address others with respect and appreciation. It is a real pleasure to talk to them because they remind you that good still exists in people despite all the problems they face.

Did you know how many colorful butterflies fly in Nigeria? Lots of them. The most in the world. Nigeria is a land of butterflies. That's impressive. If I went to Nigeria I would try to see as many butterflies as possible. Unique opportunities exist only for one reason. To enjoy them.

Nigeria is also home to an endemic species of monkey and many other wild animals that you cannot see anywhere else in the world. In this country lives a wild animal kingdom worth preserving. Meeting these animals would be very exciting.

Have you heard of the "African time" phenomenon? That's fantastic. "I'm late, so what?" This is an attitude that particularly appeals to me, and which would be socially acceptable in Nigeria. In my country, tardiness is very difficult to tolerate and that makes pressure. After all, we are just people. Wrongful, free, relaxed. Why not treat ourselves more relaxed towards time which is an infinite instance? Time will not run away, but we can get lost in a hurry not to be late.

During my experience in the field of telecommunications, I have come across many times the fact that social networks, especially Facebook, are widely used in Nigeria. I’m currently in the mood when I almost don’t use social networks like Facebook at all, even though I have active accounts. I try to see more people in person. But I would take advantage of the fact that people in Nigeria use social networks, to connect with them more easily. The use of social networks undoubtedly speaks to the online literacy of people in Nigeria and sociability. People who use social networks easily connect with other people.

Nigeria is known for oil production. All the wealth is in that oil. But then one thing bothers me. How is it possible that Nigeria is so rich but so poor? If I had any power, I would take it with me on a trip to Nigeria. I would change the existential living conditions for many people living in poverty. I would make the hunger go away forever. To all those who live in poor hygienic conditions due to poor financial situation, I would provide a normal life conditions and in that way all infectious diseases that take many human lives every year would disappear.

Did you know that Nigeria is a country of music? Quality sound from this country can be heard far away. There are a lot of music artists worth mentioning. Fela Kuti for example was one of them. His work is recognizable by a specific African style called "Afrobeat" . For me, it is a relaxing style with a touch of jazz, suitable for those days when you want to indulge in music and escape far in thought. If I went to Nigeria, I would love to hear this sound.

And Nollywood? A lot of good films have been directed in Nigeria. Nollywood is the Nigerian film industry and is the second largest in the world in terms of the number of films produced. Nigeria is a country of creative and talented people.

What delighted me the most was that whenever I wrote about some of my personal problems, friends from Nigeria wrote in the comments that they would include me in their prayers. Friends from other countries, such as the Philippines, Venezuela are doing the same. Faith is something you are born with. In my country we are not very religious and prayers are unfortunately not at the core of our habits. Of course, there are people who are religious, but unfortunately I am not one of them, although I would like to be. I want you to know that I am honoured when you tell me that you will include me in your prayers. Thank you for the peace and kindness you spread.

Dear friends from Nigeria, I hope you will like the way I experienced and presented your country. Feel free to correct me when it comes to the facts mentioned.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article and lead image are original and mine. Other photos are from unsplash.com.

23
$ 3.52
$ 2.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.06 from @Abhay
+ 16
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I would also love to visit some place in Nigeria. There are lots of beautiful and colorful sights in that place

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I am so glad in the way you talk about my country nigeria . I feel good to see the way you described my country nigeria it is of great pleasure thanks for talking about my country ♥️👇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bthink most of your assumptions and conclusions are right. Nigerians are fun and loving people. They predominantly represent the African population

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also think so. I really appreciate our friends from Nigeria. Nice to meet you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, just wow! Thank God I didn't miss this thread. Dear sis I really appreciate all the kind words and recognition you have shown toy country today. As you said, Nigerians are among the happiest people on earth. By the way, I am the girl in that picture in your article.... Whee did you get my picture from? Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh I'm so happy you like this. Thanks for these words. Are you really the girl from the article ?? I found all pictures on unsplash.com 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I was just kidding. But the girl kinda look like me a litle though☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh and I was wondering how that was possible. 🤣 You are beautiful my friend. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😊☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did well @jelena. You even wrote more facts than I do know about my country. I love this write up. Thank you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It makes me happy to read that you like the article. I found some facts in my son’s book. I enjoyed while researching. A very inspiring country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful piece, almost like you've been here before

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I really enjoyed writing. I appreciate people from Nigeria and their country.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to see all that variety of butterflies. And unfortunately being rich in oil does not always translate into wealth for the country, Venezuela is also an example of this, bad policies, corruption, and populism end up with those resources. Nice post about Nigeria, it made me want to go.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you like the post. Yes, unfortunately, Venezuela is also an example of bad policies. Every government is corrupt, the only question is how much. Some exaggerate and lead to a catastrophe in which it is difficult to live. I hope the situation in your country will change. And I hope your husband is better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, amiga :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are so good and humble. I researched for my article and found the amazing side of them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I remember you wrote about them too. They are inspiring to write about them and they are really good people, I appreciate them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow , you even know about my Country more than I myslf,tlking about the abundance of butterflies and home to unique species of life. My head rose and I felt elated reading this , thanks for the share of word and insight into my beloved Country, Nigeria 🇳🇬 . You must have a lot of amazing Nigerian friends because you listed some points that were really deep as if a Nigerian himself told you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am honoured to read that you like this article. Thanks for the kind words. It was my pleasure to write about Nigeria. Your country is very inspiring and I hope to have the opportunity to visit it one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe when the Covid trauma is down, we would have you visit over. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dear Jeka, you have a big heart that beats beautifully. The reason for Nigeria's poverty is its oil. The fact that the name of the film industry is Nollywood may also shed light on some facts. Am I too skeptical? Of course no. There is probably a branch of the open society foundation in Nigeria. Nigeria is the embodiment of the West's understanding of colonialism. What I mean by the West is not western public, but imperialist oppressors who exploit the world through the administration of Western countries. It is obvious what the French administration has done to North Africa. Believe me, if there was no oil in Nigeria, there wouldn't be such a quarrel. Imperialist bloodsuckers wouldn't go for Nigeria's butterflies. However, they pretend to care about these butterflies and go to exploit Nigeria's resources. People like you and me Jeka really cares about those butterflies. people of Nigeria. The most beautiful butterflies of Africa and even the world. However, hope must filled with the hearts of the people of Nigeria. Now the Turks have woken up from their 100-year sleep. We are coming for all the oppressed, especially Africa, exploited by Western imperialism. We come to keep alive, not to exploit. For a just order in the world...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have really spoken well and touched the depths of my heart , the oil might or might not be the reason to its poverty , it can be regarded as a blessing and a curse also .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Erdo for this comprehensive analysis, as well as for the detailed feedback. Maybe you are right. Maybe oil is the cause of poverty. Our friends from Nigeria will know this best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How do you know a lot about Nigeria? Well you've written a beautiful piece of article and with no absolute error.

Happy birthday once again 🥳.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks my friend. It means a lot to me that you like the article. It was a pleasure to write about Nigeria.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice that you honor the existence of this country and the users who share more and more with us. I didn't know you were not religious, I thought that in your country most of them were. you don't have the comfort that prayer gives. And this is not a criticism, I respect everyone's point of view and preferences. A hug.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Serbian people are religious, but in my opinion, that is not the same religiosity that I notice in all of you. In our country, religiosity comes down to going to church when there are holidays and respecting the customs around the holidays. In my opinion, religion is much more than that. Unfortunately, we have not been brought up from birth to believe and faith is something that people carry within themselves, in the soul, it cannot be acquired later. I would like to be more religious, especially when I read the posts of all the people here and feel the peace that comes from prayer. I'm sorry it's not close to me. With faith, I would probably overcome everything that bothers me much easier. I'm glad you liked the idea of ​​Nigeria.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My dear friend I didn't know that they do that, they just go to mass for the customs. I wish you would start reading and sharing the word written in the bible. That comforts us so much. I would like to travel the world and see so many countries that I am curious about. Especially in Europe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you're going to Nigeria let me know so I can travel there too hehe I want to try their favorite Jollof Rice 😹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes, let's go together, it will be a great adventure! I don't know about that dish, I'll look it up on the internet. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria is one of the best place to be, it's my country and I love it,you wouldn't mind visiting the ancient buildings and cravings done by so many people, nevertheless I forget there's variety of foods you wouldn't resist to have a taste here,hoping to see you one day in our country, I'll receive you in warmly.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I hope to have the opportunity to come and I would like you to be my tour guide. 😊 I would love to see your ancient buildings and try your delicious food. I didn’t write about food because I don’t know anything about your cuisine, but I’d love to find out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago