I jumped

25 52
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

I was 21 years old and young enough to make a quick decision. In fact, it was not a decision. It was an absence of rational thinking and a rare moment of taking dangerous risks in my life. A moment of courage or a moment of weakness, but certainly a moment that I often remember when I need to make a decision.

Adriatic coast in Montenegro and high rock. Brave men jumped off that high rock to impress their girlfriends. I don't know if I wanted to impress myself or just enjoy the beautiful view from the rock, but I climbed the rock.

I always loved to look into the distance. When you look into the distance you see unlimited space in the palm of your hand and feel as if the whole world is yours. An unexplored space at your disposal. One of the most beautiful feelings I have ever experienced.

Now I’m sure I climbed the rock for the view, because I have never been brave. I am afraid of everything, dogs, wars, diseases, etc. I wasn't brave enough to jump off that high rock. It was dangerous. I don't even know how I got there but I was there. I repeated to myself “take me back” but I was still standing there.

Some guys climbed up and were about to jump. I was also supposed to be there to jump. My friends went shopping and I just wanted to take a walk by the sea. But I actually got there. At the top of a high, dangerous rock.

The only thing I've never been afraid of in my life is water. I am good at swimming and I feel safe in the water. That’s probably the thing that led me to the decision to jump.

One of the guys asked me if I was going to jump and I said yes. That “yes” scared me but I decided to do it quickly. I was always afraid of risk, but curiosity overcomes me.

I jumped.

I remember a brief moment in the air, pressure in my ears, strong heartbeat and a blow of water in my face. And finally relief.

This moment had a great psychological effect on decision making in my life. Every time I find it hard to make a decision, I remember the moment I jumped and suddenly everything becomes easy. Sometimes it is good in life to do something that goes beyond what we believe is within our capabilities. In this way we surpass ourselves. We become stronger and more ready to make bold decisions.

From the moment I jumped, I look at every obstacle as something I have to overcome. There are no invincible obstacles, because we are stronger than we think we are.

I jumped once. I know I will jump again.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article is original and mine, based on my personal experience.

Lead image is from unsplash.

18
$ 4.94
$ 4.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Musician
+ 14
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Yes! We can do it over and over again.. if it means fighting and surviving, why not?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, why not, life is a struggle, we have to be strong if we want to survive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jumping over the hurdles that we face in life is very crucial to attain the success that we are aiming.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, exactly. Obstacles will always exist and we need to become stronger on our way to overcome them more easily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I learned something great here.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad for that. Nice to meet you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was still very young like I think, 5 when my sisters and their friends threw me from a barge to the sea. It was a little high and the water was deep. I learned to swim because of that experience and I am not afraid to jump from high places to the water. I missed doing it :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is perhaps the best way for one to learn to swim. 😊 I love to swim, but my son is very scared because he had a strict swimming instructor and now he has trauma...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tell his swimming instructor to just keep calm and cool lols. I guess he or she wanted your son to be the next Michael Phelps that's why he is strict :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, she acts like my son has to be Phelps, exaggerates, throws him in the water, she yells, he screams, in a word hell... 😀 now he doesn't want to go anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want to jump too. Especially over the the obstacles blocking my ways

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It really feels good when we overcome all obstacles along the way and move on, stronger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes it is better to decide quickly while there is still spur at the moment. It makes us more braver

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, if we wait, everything goes down, and enthusiasm and will... And the fear is growing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we all have an inner strength, a spirit of risk that helps us to get ahead. But first we must take the first step, into the unknown. That way the mind will do its job creating ways to get ahead even when we have no plan. I loved your publication. Very motivating.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, nicely said, you're right. I appreciate your opinion. I'm glad you liked the article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes if you think too much to do something at the end the same thought makes you hesitate. I think that the day I decide to jump from a paraglider (which has always been my dream) I will also do it like you did: without thinking. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful experience and beautiful reflection.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It was my pleasure to share this experience. I agree, you don't need to think much because the longer you think, the better the chances are that you will give up. I encourage you to make your dream come true!😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Recently I heard good things about Montenegro: a beautiful coast in the Mediterranean sea (the Adriatic actually) and I was curious.... I saw on Internet and hope I can go and maybe I will jump too. And one question? Why in English the official name is Montenegro? It should be Black Mount right? Monte (it's mount) negro (it's black) in Spanish! Crna Gora is the real name, right?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's an interesting question, I haven't think about it. 😊 I'm not sure, but I think the name is associated with Italy for some historical reason. Yes, it is Crna Gora. It was one country with Serbia and as a child and teenager I often went there on vacation because we were the same country, but I am not a fan of Montenegro for vacation because I always get some stomach virus there. I would rather recommend Croatia to you if you want to go to the Adriatic coast. Every year I go to Greece on vacation. I haven't been to Montenegro for a long time. But yes, there are a lot of rocks if you want to jump. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes I know Croatia, very beautiful and also I was one time in Greece but very fast... I love the Mediterranean sea, as I live also in another city here ;) Hope I can go again to all that area, it's always great to discover more nice places. The question of the name is curious really, in Italian language it would be Montenero, "negro" is Spanish, maybe some people from the past empire arrived there, who knows... 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right, the Italian word would be "nero" and the Spanish word is "negro". I'm going to have to do a little research on the internet, because now I also want to solve the mystery. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Jaja yes I'm curious too but no time right now, well we will figure it out, I will read your findings ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I'd ever get over my dear of swimming.... Lol. But I get the overall message, whatever decision we make all begins with a step, or a jump as you put it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You will, don't worry, just relax and the water will hold you! 😊 Yes, all begins with a step.

$ 0.00
2 years ago