Half-full or half-empty?

14 39
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Hello readers! I hope you are well. In my country today is a public national holiday, important to most people for one reason - a non-working day which lasts two days.😊 So, we have two days to be lazy and enjoy leisure if circumstances allow it. I allowed myself today to enjoy leisure and wondered something, because leisure inspires you to wonder. But I will not wonder alone, I will ask you too. Are you ready?

Take a look at the picture below.

Now, tell me what you see. Is the glass half-full or half-empty?

This is a well-known psychological test and very interesting to me because it reveals whether we are pessimists or optimists. I have always found it difficult to say whether I am a pessimist or an optimist. Dealing with these optimistic-pessimistic stuff is debatable because I often think I am both depending on the situation. That is why this glass helped me understand what prevailed.

It would be nice if we always had a positive vision of the future and if we expected a positive outcome of everything we do. Disappointments might be more common in this case but we would easily overcome them with a positive attitude. We are all different. We have different experiences, get different information, our mental state also differs, as well as the characteristics of our personality. That's why we won't all see the same.

If you see a half-full glass, it means that you are a person who focuses on the good - an optimist. You see that there is water in the glass, which you can drink and you are happy about it. Optimists are hopeful, believing that things will develop exactly the way they want and see the good even in bad things. Yes, the glass is not full, but it is good that there is still drinking water available in it.

If you see a half-empty glass, then you are a person focused on the bad - a pessimist. The pessimists expect a negative outcome but this does not imply that they will be less successful than the optimist. The pessimist does not see that there is water available for drinking in the glass, but is focused on the fact that the glass is not full.

I see a half-full glass, but I need to drink water right away which means I will be left with an empty glass. I guess that's good because then my optimistic attitude prevails. I look at the world around me positively, but I am often disappointed. I would drink the water right away even though I have the option to spill it. And what about you?

We all live in different circumstances and experience different moments to which we react sometimes pessimistically and sometimes optimistically. It has always been wisest not to be extreme and to be in the middle.

The fact is that people with an optimistic attitude are more practical and easier to achieve what they want, because it is often not important what we can do, but what we think we can do. It is important to know and accept defeat and continue with a positive attitude. If you believe that a lost battle does not mean that a lost war is, then an optimistic attitude prevails.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article and photo are original and mine.

Greetings!

14
$ 2.48
$ 2.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.05 from @Musician
+ 12
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Of course this is a good logic. Simple people must look at the glass of water and drink it. I definitely want to be with these simple people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is best to look forward to the fact that there is still water in the glass that we can drink.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's funny to think that just last night we had a little fun debate with my brother regarding with this "half full and half empty" glass and I didn't expect that I'll be reading one this morning hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe life is amazing, amazing coincidences happen. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Depends on how we see that glass. Life worthy lesson dear. What is 6 to me is 9 for you.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we are all different and we don't look at the world around us the same way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe it depends on how much thirsty you are at the moment of watching the glass! ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure it depends on that. 😊 If we are thirsty, we will be happy and optimistic and drink water. But we may be sad because we still want to drink and the glass is half full. If we are not thirsty, we will be okay. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see a glass with a green thingy at the bottom :) I usually see it as half-empty, to be honest perhaps because I am an empath and I usually feel a lot of negative emotions. Sigh. But I've always been hopeful about life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe sometimes it's better to see it as half-empty because then we'll do our best to fill it. ;) don't lose hope my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like to consider the cup half empty or half full... I'd like to consider it terribly balanced!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love this. You're right. It is best when it is balanced. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have lived through very difficult times in my life. And what I have learned from that is:

You have to look on the optimistic side of things.

Philosophers like Seneca talked about the power we have to choose how external events affect us. So, if we have that power we can choose to see the glass as half full. Greetings my dear @Jelena thank you for sharing those nice reflections with us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I would really like to choose how external events affect me but I have a hard time. Ever since I lost my father, I can't go on with the same smile as before. But I know I have to be optimistic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago