Being a mother in chaotic times

40 68
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Being a mother has always been a greatest challenge for many women. Great responsibility, commitment and pleasure. Do we have enough time to play well mother's role in the chaotic times we live in?

The statue I saw on the street speaks more than words about the relationship between mother and child which should be the most tender and caring. But how much time do we have today for tenderness? I would say not as much as it was the case when this statue was made.

I am not one of those mothers who closely follow every child's movement and tremble with fear when a child coughs. I don’t count my baby's teeth and I don’t know how many teeth my baby has. Usually others warn me and say that the baby has new tooth, because I didn’t notice. I don't consider those things important. For me as a mother, the most important thing is a smile. When I see children laugh, I know they are happy and that is the only thing I want to know.

Teeth will definitely grow. They will learn not to pee in diapers and to eat solid food and not porridge. They have their whole lives ahead of them to learn that and everyone learns it once. They won't grow old without knowing how to chew. I am a chaotic mother in a chaotic time. I don't have enough time to devote all my attention to children.

When you have to work eight hours a day and lose two hours on the way to work and back, after work you have no time for anything but to feed the children, get them ready for bed and wish them good night. Even telling a bedtime story will require gaining enough strength and concentration. I usually fall asleep while telling or reading a story and when I wake up I realize that I am saying something meaningless, and my child listens to me carefully. There is usually very little time left to play together, because I also need to prepare lunch for tomorrow and tidy up the apartment to keep it clean while I’m at work.

Yes, the apartment is clean and there is no one in it, who could enjoy it, as well as the family time together. Family time comes down to a couple of hours in the evening when tiredness overcomes everything you should do if you want to be a good mother.

But a good mother must find some time for herself if she wants to survive in chaotic times. If you want to see a smile on your children's faces for a long time, you have to take care of your smile as well. A satisfied child wants a satisfied mother, and a satisfied mother will surely have a satisfied child. Perhaps the demands of today's society and the fast way of life do not allow us to dedicate ourselves to children as much as we should, but we must learn to live in harmony with the chaos. There is no other choice.

Thank you very much for reading.

Article and photo are original and mine.

Best regards to all readers and writers.

20
$ 4.08
$ 3.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @gertu13
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
+ 14
Sponsors of Jelena
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jelena
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I can understand what is going through a tough mother cos I went through this tough times.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Although some people doesn’t see it as one, motherhood is a great opportunity and a gift of life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it really is. Unique gift of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel how great you are being a mother who almost everyday you always miss them because of your job duties. maybe you get tired of your duties and also think about them, that's the difference between a mother who has a career. dividing the time between work and children's lives is often frustrating, pray for your children because when they grow up they will understand how great a mother raised them. keep the spirit beautiful mother.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is difficult to be successful both at work and as a parent. Usually something has to be sacrificed. Thanks for the nice words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing well and truly a mother to her children 🤗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so. Thank you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A mother also deserves a break and find time for herself in a way that makes her happy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree. Everyone shoud find time for themselves once in a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are,really doing well. A mother have to be strong for her child as you are the first symbol of love, hope,courage and promise to your child. ☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. I try to have more strength for my child, but sometimes tiredness overwhelms me. I wish it was different, but it probably has to be that way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely agree with you, a good mother must find some time for herself.

I have not been a mother who counts the number of teeth and sometimes I missed the date of a vaccine, but I have always been there when my son needs me no matter his age, and that is what counts in the end. The love and quality time we give them is what they will value and will treasure, not if we knew the date each tooth came in.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Love and quality time is what is most important and the most valuable thing we can give them while growing up. I try to find as much time as possible for them. Working from home has improved the situation a bit. The pandemic has brought at least one good thing, and that is more time at home with the family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate. I used to work 8 hours or more out of home when my son was little. I think that the pandemic helps, but if we don't feel that we are with them just because we are at home. We need to find that valuable time just to be for them not doing house chores or working. Do you know what I mean?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I know and I agree. The point is not only to be at home but also to dedicate quality time to children. In the beginning, when I started working from home, it happened to me that the whole day was spent cleaning the apartment, preparing lunch and work, and again I did not dedicate time to the child. Later I got a little better organized.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really difficult to be a mother in the time constraint you mentioned. I agree with you about the smiling mother, Jeka. I think you made a good point. The mother should be happy so that she can make her child happy too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, a satisfied parent - a satisfied child, it can't be otherwise. It would be nice if life gave us a little more time, but unfortunately we have to adjust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you have lots of quality happy times with your son :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Erdo. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mom is wow. This simple word can elaborate everything. They are our guardian angels. Every mom is a warrior. Just look at your mom and you will have your answers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A warrior. Yes. That would be the right word. 😊 Bravo Luci.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember those times you mention. I was working so many hours a day that when I came home I would cook and say goodbye to my son until the next day. I didn't have time for more. I had to choose and it was a big decision, either my job or my family life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately, I can't choose. I have to pay a home loan which means I have to work. It would be nice if women were given at least shorter working hours, 6 hours instead of 8 hours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone has their own adversity. I was referring to the fact that I decided to stop working at one of the two places where I was working. I stayed with a 4-hour shift instead of an 8-hour shift. We had a hard time financially but we stayed together. That was many years ago. I think more than 10 years.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If I were given such an opportunity, I think I would surely decide to do the same. I would agree to have a lower salary but shorter working hours. It would be harder financially, but we would at least spend more time together.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, my friend, but not everyone has the same possibility. I feel for you I know you do a lot, because all of us single moms do a lot. I hope you find your solution.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A mother is also a Teacher a Doctor as well as a multitasking in everyday. Without a mother we can be able to see the real world and the real us. Thank you for sharing and Godbless.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, well said. Mothers have to be everything. Sometimes I feel like an octopus. 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every human being has their own style to show their love and affection. I don't know how difficult your life is but I can feel you, don't listen to anyone. You know that you loves your child and it's matters the most. It is really hard to maintain both your work life and motherhood.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, we are all different and we show love and attention in different ways. I’m not a perfect mother but I think I’m good with the time I have. Thanks for the nice words. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women are the strongest when it comes to taking care of things, and also mothers love is something that can not be compared to anything else.. Mother always makes time for their kids, I respect all the single and married women out there... Stay strong

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, women need a lot of strength to achieve everything it takes to play the role of a good mother well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Women are warriors sometimes, always ready to do everything, dealing with multitasking routines sometimes overwhelming too and at the same time giving a lot of love and support.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Warrior is the right word. I think that due to lack of time, it takes a lot of strength to achieve everything in order to be considered good mothers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Such a amazing article ....really no can be equal to our mom ...mom is the unique personality in the world..i really like it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a mother is one essence of being a woman. I've seen the hardship from my mom and my sister who just became a mom. No school teaches every woman how to become a good mother, it is a human instinct. That is why I salute and respect all mothers who give good value to their children despite their busy days, hard work, and sorrows.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. Being a good mother is a relative term. Sometimes it's hard, but like you said, that should be the essence of life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a mother isn't an easy task, especially when you have to combine it with work and others... Women are really great multitaskers. I must say that you deserve an award.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is difficult to harmonize work and parenting but the only choice is to adapt to that situation. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago