What Is Your Love Language? Find It Out Here

36 52
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Have you been into a serious relationship? How did it go for you? Did you guys end up with each other or did you guys broke up and moved on to another?

We all have different ways how we express our love to a person. A relationship always leads to misunderstanding when one can't keep up or meet the expectations with one's love language.

Sometimes, one gets judged by the people around them because he/she is not expressive at all with regards to his/her relationship in public so it appears that the relationship is only one-sided. When in fact, his/her love language is acts of service or receiving gifts. People are too quick to conclude certain situations without knowing the real story behind them.

I just recently read a book about the Five Types of Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman, an author, and a counselor. So I thought of sharing this with you and find out what type is yours.


Words of Affirmation

This type of love language is mostly expressed by words. Writing a love letter or a cute long note to your partner would mean so much to the other. They will feel most valued and loved when one frequently assures their love even in just ordinary days.

I'm proud of you or I appreciate you.

These simple words of encouragement would make someone feel so "kilig" when you assure them with so much appreciation. A simple compliment like appreciating his/her hair, smile, overall get-up would make their day already.

Pointing out the things they do well would make them feel loved and encourage them to do more for your appreciation.

Physical Touch

This love language is usually misinterpreted as sex. This doesn't always talk about bedrooms only. It has a deeper meaning that one would appreciate more if his/her partner expresses the love through hugging, kissing, holding hands, or even a simple tap in the back. Physical affection is what they appreciate the most.

An ideal date for someone whose love language is physical touch is to watch one's favorite movie and just cuddle on the couch. Although you would expect something more to happen after getting steamy. Yay!

Quality Time

People who have this type of love language express themselves through spending good quality time together. If a couple spends quality time together, I believe the other 4 love languages will follow through.

When one gives you their time and undivided attention, it's more than just spending time with each other. It's about putting down the cellphone, listening actively, and making eye contact.

As they say, you are physically present but mentally absent. I believe that paying attention to your partner while spending time with them is the sweetest. It goes to show how sincere and sure you are to them.

Acts of Service

With this type of love language, one appreciates it more if you offer them your service. You do things that would make them feel less burdened. The little acts of service you do give them the affirmation that you really love them. Cooking breakfast for you, fetching you at work, construct a cabinet for the bedroom. These are some examples of acts of service.

I believe this mostly applies to our parents when they get older. Growing up, I could sense that the words of affirmation, physical touch, and quality time were slowly fading out but the acts of service remain.

They divide the household chores to distribute the work and make one feel less burdened and tired.

Receiving gifts

People would often label this love language as materialism. However, giving gifts doesn't only limit to make the other person happy. It's more than just a gift. As they say, it's the thought that counts. They think about you while looking for something to give you.

Something that symbolizes the love that person has put into it. It also means that you truly know the person well. You know the things they like and don't like.

If someone's love language is receiving gifts, it will surely create a big impact on them as they value the gift more because of what you did.


So what is your love language? I have taken a test to know what type of love language dominates me. Click the link to check yours:

https://www.5lovelanguages.com/quizzes/love-language

Here's my result:

As you can see, I'm a little bit of everything except for receiving gifts. The first four love languages are pretty much divided and balanced. Receiving gifts is not really my thing. I would appreciate someone who gives me a gift but I don't really look forward to it.

My dominant love language is Words of Affirmation.

Even if we are already almost 4 years of being in a long-distance relationship, we make sure that the communication does not miss a day. A simple good morning, I love you and good night would suffice.

It's about giving each other's assurance that we are still here for each other even if we are miles apart. Open communication is the total key.

Lead image source and main reference


Thanks for reading!

Keep safe everyone. ❀

17
$ 13.20
$ 12.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

'Dun ako halos sa acts of service. Then I also remember na fan na fan ako ng letters dati, kasi 'di ako showy eh. Nahihiya ako na magsabi ng mga sweet words kaya kapag may occasions? Idinadaan ko sa letters and acts of services. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So words of affirmation ka rin. Hehe. May jowa ka naba? πŸ˜… but this doesn't only talk about relationships naman. Pwede rin sa family or friends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waley sa ngayon. Pero nagkaroon na ako dati, Ate. Pero wala eh, mahiyain talaga. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you express your love through writing letters talaga? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yessy. Naalala ko pa 'nung nagka-jowa ako 'nung grade 8 ako tapos grade 10 'yung guy. Ang aga kong kumirengkeng hanooo? πŸ˜‚ Valentine's yun tapos nagpadala ako ng letter sa kaniya kasi nahihiya ako na magsabi in person. Ayun, pinagkaguluhan daw 'nung mga friends n'ya. Kakahiyaaa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really want to do it, but I don't have a partner. Maybe I'll do it on a bolster. ha ha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwweee πŸ’” hehe. But you had a relationship before?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

never hehe maybe if you have a daughter you can introduce her to me haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this so much....so many things can act as a love language but if I where to be in a relationship right now quality time will be my greatest attributes....the little i can spend with my partner maybe due to a long distance relationship should be priceless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. Quality time is what we need for couples who are in long-distance relationships. πŸ₯Ί

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang hirap naman nung mga tanong. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Anong result mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I do all of them but more often I used words of affirmation and quality time especially that we are far from each other so those are the ways how I could express my love to him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here. Words of affirmation is the best expression of love if long distance relationship kayo. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun lng makayanan ehh medyu sad Kasi gusto ko Rin Yung act of service tsaka physical kaso malayu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never had any relationships before. But if there's a love language that I would showcase the most, it would be cuddling since I often do it with the cats. Then telling her words of affirmation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooo, you sounded like a very sweet guy 😍 that girl must be the luckiest!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha sana swerte din ako sa makakasama ko later on. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All of the above 😁Though I appreciate recieving gifts but I want my partner to give me more of his words of appreciation more and he follows what I ask him to do eapecially carpentry.. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yang carpentry, symbolic talaga yan kase pinag laanan ng oras eh. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to receive gifts but I like to give them even more. And I love spending quality time with the people I love. Not couple time but friendship or family time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire that expression of yours. This article doesn't only limit to romantic relationships too πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmmm receiving of gifts lang ang meron walang giver? LOL pero sana lahat ng languages na yan meron ang bawat tao noh ang saya siguro non

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Oo, pero iba iba kase expression ng love eh. Ma regalo ka pala madam ah. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mahilig ako mansurprise eh hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was an acts of service kind of guy way back when i was with my ex. Nowadays i wouldn't be able to tell you since i've not been in any relationship worth the name since my divorce. Probably never will, though time will tell. Nice article!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naaah, don't be too tough on yourself. Someone out there will love you like the way you do. Time heals. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not a showy person by physical touch..more on words ako haha .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Ganon ba madam. Pano pag naglalambing sya like humihingi ng hug or kiss? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think act is service is my love language. I am not sweet and I feel awkward about saying sweets words such as "I love you" and "I miss you" I don't say those stuffs. But I love doing things for my loved ones. I express my love through acts.

Sabi nga ng kapatid ko mukhang pusong bato daw ako pero mapagmahal naman di lang halata hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

I believe someone out there will unleash the sweet person you hide inside madam. I just recently discovered how sweet I am pala nung naging kami ni boyfriend. I never thought I would be this sweet to him din. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako madams kung pwede lang lahat yan, hahahahaha. First is yun affirmation, we all say na action speaks louder than words pero lara lang mwala ang doubt and confusion, it is still better to say it out loud di ba. And then physical touch, i really want this char. Hahahahah..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iba pa rin feeling pag sina sabihan ka ng I love you diba? Yieeee, physical touch ah πŸ™ˆβ€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes madams, lalo n panahon ngayon madami pa fall. Saying I love you every now and then is a big yes talaga..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think my love language is quality time, that I want to spend every free time of mine with mahh badiii. I will gonna find a way to talk to her and be with her. And so other love language as you said will follow. Like eyyy I'm all of that. I just ant to express how I love mahh badiii,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true. I guess you are a sweet person. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago