This Is Why I Avoid Batch Reunions

40 71
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Days ago, a college classmate chatted me through facebook messenger. He told me he's going home from abroad for a vacation. He's a close friend of mine too. He's one of my closest. And so, we planned to meet each other as soon as he sets his foot back in the province.

However, just last night when one of our classmates initiated a group video call on Facebook messenger. I actually posted my sentiments about this on noise.cash yesterday. As usual, I just watched my phone vibrated until it ended. I muted the notifications of the created group after.

I sent a personal message on Neil, the one who's from abroad and asked what's with the sudden group video call. It turns out that they're planning to get together this 21st of April. If you are from my province, you are fully aware of why March and April are the most exciting months of the year. It is because, we go through a month long celebration of Kaamulan festival.

My classmates agreed to get together on that date and as always, I don't feel like attending social gatherings.

I avoid batch reunions not because of the stories we would look back and laugh at the hilarious moments we've had in college. It's fun looking back how immature we were back then.

It's nice to remember how stressed we were because of the minor subjects acting as if they're our major subjects. These subjects demand too much of our time but we had no choice but to comply or else we'll be marked failed.

I avoid batch reunions not because of the past issues I had with my classmates. If there's any, I don't think it's worthy to bring it back unless it was a life changing situation that happened before. I'm pretty sure if there was, it was just out of immaturity back in the days. We were young and reckless. So it's not something serious.

I avoid batch reunions because

I'm shy. A common scenario of batch reunions is the people talking about their social status. A lot of them would share how big of achievements they have in their belts, how many countries they have been to, how influential they are to their community, and how married life has been for them.

Facebook has been a source of my insecurity ever since I stopped working. That's the main reason why I rarely open my account. I decided to because what I mostly see is my classmates enjoying their lives, making their dreams come true, and having the best days of their lives.

Don't compare yourself to others

Yeah, I get that. We have our own timelines in our lives. One's chapter 26 may be another's chapter 3 and their chapter 50 may be my 1st. That's how dynamic life is. It's mysterious.

But the realist and pessimist sides of me are screaming. That's gaslighting to me and I should face the reality that I'm too far from what they have become. And from there, I pity myself. I know that life is not a competition but well, societal expectations, always have something to say about each and everyone's status.

I feel so small. It seems like there's nothing I can share to them. I am alone and my life is stagnant.

Then again, there's beauty in uncertainty.

That's how mysterious life is. It takes you everywhere but it's up to you how to handle such circumstances. Every day, it is a constant battle of questioning what my purpose really is. It's hard for me to keep the faith that everything's gonna be okay because nothing's happening in reality.

As human as I am, I'm vulnerable when it comes to believing in myself that I can do it. I only do when situations have been proven already. So yeah, this is why I avoid batch reunions.


Are you fond of batch reunions? Because I've never been into one ever, only with the closest people I know.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone!

17
$ 0.40
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.06 from @TeacherLynlyn
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 10
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
1 year ago

Comments

Natry ko na makipag reunion one time. After nun I decided na to join na. Wala naman pangit na ngyari nun but Same reason ng sayo. Haha. Habang tumatanda ako I prefer having small talks or chit chat naman sa mga a few people na lng then I prefer na din na mag rest na lng sa bahay then labas pahangin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still talk to people naman but only to those I'm closest with. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have an alumni next year at excited Nako madam. President panga Ako ng section namin Kasi Ang daldal ko sa gc dahil Yung first honorable mention namin before idol ko sa pagsusulat script writer Kasi sya sa abs tapos ayon hahahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Yes, you are right. People have a tendency to show off before their friends and batch mates in the occasion. They thinks they are doing something great but actually they are ruining the programme.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di ko naga adto ug reunion namo, kay di ko ganahan, tapos inom lang man pod daghan☺️, mahihirapan din ako pag may nagtanong kung among work mo, tapos madami pang questions to followπŸ˜†.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Maong mo likay nlng jud ta madam ba kay hago mag explain. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not fond of going to reunions too Ate, except with my best friends. I understand how you feel ate. Yes, I am a teacher already and have a stable job but I still, feel some insecurities too. My classmates have their own family and aside from that sobrang stable narin nila sa life, having some properties, savings, and cars and etc. Ang layo narin tallaga ng narating nila, pero ako until now, I am stuck with my family related problems (me as a breadwinner), no savings, no properties and etc. But of course ate, I am still positive that someday everything is worth it, ngayon I am satisfied that I making my family happy and provide all their needs, maybe someday, ako naman, sarili ko naman :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Alam mo Lyn, yang "breadwinner" term, I consider it as one toxic trait of Filipinos. It's a result of being too much tight relationship with the family eh. Then again, Pinoys are very family-oriented and it cycles various good traits naman along the way. Yun nga lang, may nagsa-sacrifice nga sa family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes Ate, Minsan na susuffocate din ako sa ideya na parating ako ng ako, parang ako lang lagi ang nagsusuffer, ako lahat ang sumasalo ng burdens ng lahat, so ang resulta, walang natitira sa akin πŸ˜” Laginkong tinatanong, "kailan ko kaya pipiliin ang sarili ko?"

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya need mo ng pahinga Lyn kase yung katawan mo ang puhunan. You shouldn't get sick

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right Ate. Don't worry po, I will take care of myself, sana ikaw din po. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I stopped attending high school batch reunions. the last time they had a reunion, I went to Japan instead. hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taray ng pa Japan sissy. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love going to reunion sayang nga at di ako makakaattend at Grand Alumni sa school namin sa May. I take the opportunity kasi minsan ko lang ulit sila makita. Andami kong kabatch na nasa abroad, laging nagttravel saka as in malayo na ang narating kahit noon pa man wala pa ako dito at dumaan din ako sa point na sobrang kakadown pero I realize may kanya kanya talaga tayong time and not all we see is just it. Saka yung hiya dadting yung point na nawawala. Di naman sa kakapal bigla yung mukha pero confidence level tataas yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana nga madam, been manifesting that moment to myself. πŸ™

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same situation. Kaya nga hindi na ako nagbubukas ng fb. Hindi na ako nagbubukas ng gc ng mga kabatch ko. Feeling ko ang layo nila. Hindi na ako makasabay sa usapan tungkol sa nga achievements na naabot na nila. Mahiyain naman talaga ako dati pa dahil introvert ako pero mas nafeel ko na parang hindi na talaga ako kasali sa kanila. Wala akong magandang maisishare sa kanila. Kahit mga post nila ayaw ko ng makita kasi naicocompare ko lang sarili ko at mas lalo lang akong nalulungkot. Kahit yung pinakaclose ko nilayuan ko na. Bakit ka pupunta kung hindi ka naman magiging masaya dun? Magdadagdagan lang ang panliliit sa sarili kasi panigurado ang topic nila about na sa mga achievements nila. At siguro kahit pa may naabot ako hindi pa rin ako dadalo sa mga gatherings, hindi talaga ako sanay.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My gosh, we share the same sentiments. These are all on point. Ito talaga nafe-feel ko right now. I can't stand attending reunions kase I'll be more insecure and feel loser kaya I better create my walls nlng and value my peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I find any reunions not really worth going to because of the social status thing. The theme is all about it. I guess I would think they lighten up some as the years are tallied. But I believe if we have never been and even decided to go when we're old and gray the first question from someone will be status related. If we want to reconnect with friends it should be easy, not having to do so in front of many of are other peers.

Only reunion I'll attend is a family reunion. Why share what we have done or where we are at in our social status. Ultimately isn't it more important on who we are as a person rather than what we stacked up along the way? A question ponders would you want to be remembered as someone with great attributes as a person or someone who just lived a wealthy life?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I definitely agree with you Bob. There's no need to brag everything great that's been happening in your life. After all, wealth, fame, and power will be left behind when we die. So better establish great friendship and be a good person to everyone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like reunion madame since its one way for me to reconnect with my old buddies. I have a high school bestfriend, malapit lang naman bahay namin but since we both have our own family we only meet occasionally... But yes I agree that others would attend such lalo na yung may ibubuga to brag but for me its okay. Its always fine to brag naman it would be how the receiver might take it.... Sometimes people may sound like bragging pero masaya lang pala sila sa achievements nila.

Another reason to attend such is to make connections. If you are someone who is business minded you will get curious and keep in touch with those who has the same goals... ☺️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Makes sense madam. I guess it all depends on the intention of the person if they intend to share happiness for everyone or to really brag as if they're the most high of all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same here madam, I never attended batch reunions. Nahihiya ako. Kai baka maging topic ako ng usapan.

I remember one time, nag apply ako as factory worker then it so happen na one of my classmates work there as an executive. Upon interview, sinabi nya sa akin in exact words, "Ikaw yung pinakamatalino sa atin pero bakit yan lang narating mo".

Gusto kong lamunin na ako ng lupa sa sobrang kahihiyan that time. Sobrang nanliit ako to the point na gusto ko na umiyak pero i just smile then never return to that place though I received a call na hired ako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's how social expectations ruin our lives madam. Ang standards gi base sa kung unsa atong performance sa school which is influential man hinuon but it won't full define our future by it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That pains po im sorry that you would have to experience such.

Pero i think that person have not realized the irony of life and that everyone has different paths, struggles and experience.

Iba-iba tinatahak natin out of academe. Some they are given more room to improve, time and resources plus they have connections to help them get into a certain company...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well medyo may attitude talaga yung classmate ko na yun kahit nung nag aaral pa kami that is why di kami close b4.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like my reasons why I avoided everyone inviting me to go here or there like a get together chenes, number one talaga shyness ee. Kahit pa we've been with those people for many years before, di na maiwasan na mahihiya or what. Hirap pigilan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Diba madam? Kahit nga sa grocery or sa any random place, I'd really turn my back if I see someone I used to know before. Awkward eh πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Inana gayud ang mga reunions madam nuh maong daghan dili muadto tungod anang mga social status kanang makumpara nimu imung life sa ila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

And it makes me feel so small samot madam. Haha. Maong di nlng ko kay masakitan rako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha mao gayud madam pag inana sad dili nalang sad ko mu attend. Peace pa yung mind natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meron din kami madam ngaun sabado de gloria, pero not attending ako kasi nga andito kapatid ni partner galing abroad at aalis na this coming monday dahil 10day vacay lng sya, alangan naman lumayas pa ako at bitbit ang batuta ko.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Pero bet mo ang reunions madam?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakailang madam, unless may kabody ka tlga para may kajamming ka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, we just had one last March 25.. it was fun. I'm actually thinking of posting our trip on that day. At first I was hesitant kay they're all big time.. same kaayo tag feelings, feeling small jud everytime maghisgot about life, wala koy dako nga ikashare .. lami ilang life while struggle ang akoa..hahah!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Maong ga tago2x nlng ta ani madam. Ako, permi gyud ko galikay og mga reunions. Even sa kanang grocery gud kung makakita kog classmate, mo balik gyud ko sakong agi πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha! inana sab ko.. there was one time nga nag abot mi namalit og tela. Dayon nagpadaplin lang ko kay dili ko kabalo unsaon sila pag approach.. pero sila ra pd nangambat nako. Maybe nakaatik nga naulaw ko sa akong postura..hahaha! then nag uban ra sad mi og sakay sa pedicab

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In whole batch, we love to sit and chitchat with them. Hence, I am fond of Batch reunion.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good for you. I guess you made good friends back then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Batch reunion is an event where everyone has to brag what they've achieve and what they've become πŸ˜† It's kinda off.. good thing I didn't graduate so I don't have formal batch mates hahahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Naa gyud mga tag-as og ihi madam, as if sila ang pinaka labaw sa tanan. Juskoo, kita nlng mauwaw πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago