I Wonder Why The Sea is Salty

72 117
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

So Why is the sea salty?

  • Seawater tastes salty because it has salt in it. The salt is the same as the stuff people sprinkle on food. Most of it comes from rocks on the land. Rain washed the salt into rivers which carry it to the sea.

Is the Red Sea really red?

  • Parts of the Red Sea look red. In summer, millions of tiny red algae grow in the water. Don't worry, you won't turn pink if you swim there πŸ˜†

What is sand made of?

  • Look closely at a handful of sand, and you'll see that it's made of tiny chips of rock and seashell. The bits of rock come from cliffs that have been broken up by the rain and sea. The shells are washed in by the tide and crushed by the pounding waves.

Which fish has headlights?

  • It's so dark at the bottom of the ocean that some fish make their own light. The angler fish has a long fin dangling in front of its face. At the end of the fin is a blob that glows. Small fishes are drawn towards the glowing light, only to disappear into the angler fish's big, gaping mouth.

The fish which lured Dory and Nemo's dad in the film Finding Nemo

Fun fact:

  • Many deep-sea fish are real ugly mugs. It's just as well it's so dark down there πŸ˜†

What it's like at the bottom of the sea?

  • You might think that the bottom of the sea is smooth and flat, but it isn't - at least not everywhere. There are mountains and valleys, hills and plains, just as there on land.

What makes waves roll?

  • Waves are rippled of water blown across the surface of the ocean by the wind. On a calm day, they hardly move, but in stormy weather, they roll faster and faster, and grow higher and higher, until they form huge walls of water.

  • Some waves are called white horses because their curly white tips look like horses' manes.

Enough with the scary creatures and let's proceed to these beautiful creatures in the sea.

Where do angels, clowns, and parrots live?

  • Angelfish, clownfish, and parrotfish are just some of the thousands of beautiful animals that live on coral reefs. Tropical fish like these often have dazzling colors and bold patterns.

Which fish hunts with a hammer?

  • The hammerhead shark has a huge head shaped like a hammer. But this tool is for hunting, not banging in nails. The Shark's eyes and nostrils are at each end of the hammer. As the shark swims, it swings its head from side to side, searching for a meal.

Which is the most shocking fish?

  • Some fish give off electric shocks to protect themselves or to stun animals they want to eat. The most shocking ocean fish is the torpedo ray. If you could switch it on, it would light up a bulb!

Which fish look like stones?

  • Stonefish look just like lumps of rock - but they're far more dangerous. If attacked, a stonefish uses needle-sharp spines on its fins to stab its enemy and release a deadly poison.

Are there jewels in the sea?

  • In warm tropical water, pearls may grow inside the shells of oysters and clams. The pearls are such rare finds that they are very valuable. People risk their lives diving down for them.

Oh, by the way. Are you familiar with the legend or the folklore about a giant who served as a bridge for the merchants to trade goods from an island to a city?

The story started when these people carrying sacks of sugar from the island to the city. They have a giant friend and it served to be the bridge. While traveling on the legs of the giant, there were sacks of sugar that got loose and so some sugar fell on the legs of the giant and got wasted.

When it's time to deliver the salt to the city, the giant felt like something's biting him. He tolerated it as much as he could but he couldn't bear it any longer so the people fell off the sea and that makes the sea became salty.

Well, that is the version of what our teacher told me when I was in 1st grade. Share with me your versions in the comment section 😁

Sources:

Google images

I Wonder Why The Sea is Salty by Anita Ganeri

Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty

22
$ 8.50
$ 8.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
3 years ago

Comments

I also had your questions in mind, today the answers to these questions became known You have arranged the answers to the questions in a very nice way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When i first saw your title, it reminded me of a story about a giant who couldn't stop crying. The tears accumulated and became the sea. That is why it is salty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay. That's a different version of the story. I wonder why the giant kept crying. He must have been so sad. That makes me question too, why tears are salty? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was amazed by the creatures under the sea. I always do. I remembered my dad bought me a Big NIDO in can when i was a child with a free coloring pictures of sea creatures. I just saw it here... The angler fish😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh yeah! I remembered that too. The angler fish was the scariest one. I always ask my mother to buy me Nido because of those pictures. Not to mention, Nido is really tasty though but it's expensive than usual. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting photos, and article too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice lots of information, I can read this to my nephew he really loves all about the sea specially those animals under water.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This could help. I'm glad that this could be beneficial to your nephew. It's really interesting especially if you're eager to learn. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahah..you are absolutely lovely wisely combined

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's so cute, actually >w< i remember about those facts but from a different book. Child's first encyclopedia is the title and i had a complete set of that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is that from Grolier? This one I have is from that publisher ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think so? I'll check when i go home on the weekends

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I had these books when I was in 3 so it's it is already 22 years now. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Old books- i had mine at... 8? I think? But i never checked who published them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That goes to show that we know how to value things ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah you did, and i valued mine, it was my sisters who didn't :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know. My sister also doesn't know how to value things but she's learning as she's maturing now. 😁 how are you by the way? On break?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My sisters still don't and the youngest is in highschool It's my day off. I'm better after sleep but i can't stop overthinking. How are you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm good. Thanks for asking. Oh I see. MWF is your schedule right? Hmm, still the same?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, MWF and he's gotten far worse. I have no idea what to do anymore

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no.πŸ₯ΊπŸ’”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now i know y it's salty po, thanks po for this article of yours though i wonder po if u knew if megalodon or meg really do exists po 'til now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I read some article here about why the sea is salty. I think it's the article of mitch123 and it says there that sea is salty because of the minerals. Diko sure basta parang Ganon haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Sea is salty because of sodium chloride ions. Sodium chloride is kind of minerals. Or we could say salt is sodium chloride. However both topics and information are true.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for clearing out things here and I appreciate for confirming facts also. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks to you for posted such a great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will keep posting like this more 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear.. Keep rocking😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Likewise 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup. It is kind of related. Minerals and stuff. Haha πŸ˜† Rivers contain minerals that are dragged to the sea through its current and rain.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've been to the Red Sea, once worked in Jeddah before and the Red Sea is one of its boundary. Reminds me when I had one posted in my social media, some friends would kid around commenting why it's not red?! lol!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Those innocent questions. It really makes a person wonder why it doesn't define its name.

Yay! What was your work back then? For how long did you work there?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im a writer hahah! Joke! Arabic? Lol! Bitaw oi, physical therapist by profession, saglit lang ako dun di ko type eh..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I see. Hehe. Why it didn't work out for you? Is it the culture or homesickness?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I enjoyed reading about the sea life. Keep writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks Naya.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only heard that story now πŸ˜… And thanks to this, some of my unanswered questions finally solved..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Me too, my questions were answered upon researching. It was fun studying earth science. Just don't incorporate chemistry and physics. I don't like numbers πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like science too.. Am actually tutoring this kid at home sometimes if their exam is quite approaching.... I know why the ocean is salty. But don't know the rest

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You know its reason why it's salty because of the legend? Hehe. Kidding. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope. I don't know about the legend at all.. I have read about that in a science book before..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww. Hehe. Then I supposed you have got good grades in Science πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahm..not really..haha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me, I hope so. I'm really slow in Math and Science πŸ’”πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh math. I hate it the most.. Haha.. But i like algebra before... Not the complicated ones 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can only do simple math. Plus minus multiply divide πŸ˜† I'm good with that. Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. I am even using my hands for multiplication 🀣🀣 you know that trick? 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do. I learned that when I was in grade 3. My papa taught me that trick but I cried many times before learning it. I get intimidated when his voice gets frustrated and angry. So, I can't focus anymore to figure out the right answer πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I learned that from my classmates..haha. But when i was in grade 6, we are required to memorize the multiplication table as part of examination.. Memorize in front of the class... But years after, i forgot some already 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. It went under for just a compliance. πŸ˜† The more pressure you feel when you recite it in front of the class. Weeeew πŸ₯Ά

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha yes just for compliance.. It was truly essure.. Especially that I have low self-esteem.. I got nervous if I am in front of the class

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same same. Just the thought that all eyes are on you makes us to melt slowly πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And eyes of your terror math teacer 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I knoooow. I don't know why math teachers are extra terrors than those other subject teachers. It makes us to not like Math more πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh that is a good topic.. Why math teachers are terror? You wanna make an article for that? 🀣

Actually, my elem math teachers are the only terror.. During secondary, i onky had one math teacher, from first to fourth yer, i had the same math teacher..haha.. And he was approachable and friendly to students.. My college math teachers are friendly too. In fact we were closed to them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wooooa. Thank you for giving me that bright idea. I'll make an article regarding this. Haja

Almost all of my teachers in math are terrors. They have this charisma that students automatically settle down. Poor students πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha.. Go i will be glad to know why..

My math teachers looks terror but they were actually friendly.. Except fory my elem teacers.. They were really scary

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Probably because they were the vintage classic teachers and child friendly was not yet implemented that time. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True .and during those time, if you will not listen carefully, the chalk and board erasers will gonna fly 🀣🀣🀣 squat for no homeworks 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I knooow. Haha. It's hilarious and embarrassing at the same time πŸ˜† those unforgettable terrifying moment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So funny to recall those moments 🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So basically the rocks on the land made the sea salty? It got me curious. Oh well, gotta do my own research about this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel like reading on, why did you stopπŸ˜ƒ?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I ran out of research. Haha. Will publish a new one. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay no problem

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, you ask a great question. You also explain all the terms so well. You know? What I thought? Some sea fish or animals like blue whale's poo is salty, and they are making it salty flavourπŸ˜†πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woooooa. What a revelation. That could be possible too. Haha. That's a hilarious theory but could make sense. Thank you for dropping by ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remembered it! 😊 The same as what my teacher told me.😁 There are lots of interesting legend like this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Legends are truly unforgettable. Grade school moments are hard to forget because it's where you store those moments in your core memories. Kids are easily fooled by stories too πŸ˜† even make up stories. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just by reading the title, I remember from school you know the "alamat kung bakit maalat ang dagat" the tale why the sea is salty. I forgot the story because there's so many version but the thing is the sack of salt fell on the water lol. Balik tanaw sa nakaraan!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that's right. That's the climax of the story eh. It was fun hearing stories from our teachers before, so then we realize now that it is just to scare us when we are being naughty πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
3 years ago