How I Spent My 26th Birthday

44 81
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

I can't believe I'm already 26.

Honestly, I don't even know how to start this article. I lost my train of thoughts but all I can think of is to be grateful for the blessings God has given me.

I was once lost but he never left me. He saved me from harm. Since then, I never took my life for granted and he transformed me to be always grateful for everything.

May it be good or bad, I have learned to always look into other dimensions and find options to be grateful for. I believe that if you instill gratitude in your soul, satisfaction and contentment will follow. So then, happiness becomes very achievable too.

Gratitude. Happiness. Contentment.


The night before my birthday, I had a hard time sleeping. I guess it's because of the hall-full glass of caffeine I drank during dinner. Although I can sense that I felt a little bit of excitement not because of how my day would turn out or how many people will greet me. It's about a feeling of gratitude for myself, my family, and my friends.

The next morning.

I heard familiar indistinct voices, I know that I'm about to wake up because I'm starting to regain my consciousness. I was certain that it was my mother and father's voices talking about what food to cook on this day.

When I woke up, Sunny was sleeping next to my face. Her belly was almost kissing me. I share the same bed with my sister and Sunny's feet were kicking her face too.

Mama and papa greeted me happy birthday but not directly to me. They used Sunny as the bearer of the message. Funny how difficult it is for us to greet each other happy birthday. I don't know, we are not just used to it. We're shy.

I stayed in the bed for a while to check Bitcoin cash's price, noise.cash, read.cash, Shopee, and other online apps. I received a couple of greetings from my friends in telegram and a short post of a dear brother to me, @wrabbiter and also to those who greeted me through the comment section here and in noise.cash as well. Thank you so much.

Setting expectations for certain people.

When I opened my phone, I was expecting a greeting from some people I cherish. I expected my immediate relatives of course, my close friend, and my boyfriend.

I rarely open my Facebook account because as I said here or in noise.cash, the majority of the posts I'm seeing are too toxic. In fact, mom told me she posted on my timeline. That merely explains how inactive I am on that platform. I just couldn't feel the need to anyway.

Upon checking, my relatives of course greeted me but I was expecting from someone. My close friend and my boyfriend. Although the day is still long, I still waited until this moment.

Few moments after I took my breakfast, I got a direct message on messenger. It was from someone whom I cherish so dearly. A close friend from kindergarten up to now, a fellow Cancer and introvert. If you read my latest article, she also has dark sides and mostly cuts off contact with me. But I understand her. No hard feelings. I replied to her message and never got a reply back. See? Haha. That's why I love her so much.

Around 3 pm when I received a message from my boyfriend. I was expecting him to greet me early but still waited for his greeting. However, I must admit that I felt bad when he's one of the few people I expected to remember my special day. Yeah, I sounded like I'm attention-seeking but I believe it's valid to feel this. Haha. He explained to me why he greeted me late and I didn't mind it as long as he remembers it.

Birthday Voucher from Shopee.

The night before my birthday, my father told me to look for a circular saw because he wants to make a cabinet for the bedrooms. Our duraboxes are too old already so they need to be replaced as soon as possible.

So I browsed Shopee and luckily I found one that seems to be trustworthy. Upon checking for some vouchers, I was surprised when this voucher was available so I took the chance of using it. It was my first time using this voucher.

I didn't expect to receive material gifts. I gave a gift instead. Being alive is more than enough to be grateful for.

Lunch & Dinner time.

My papa anointed me on my forehead by the chicken's blood he killed for my birthday meal native chicken adobo and tinolang manok. This is one of his specialties. He cooks so well. I have eaten a lot of rice because it was so delicious.

Anointing on the forehead is a Filipino tradition that is a way of blessing the birthday celebrant and shoo bad luck. It also signifies sacrifice for prosperity and success.

Birthday Cake and Ice Cream.

When I was younger, I don't really look forward to celebrating my birthday. Since me and grandpa share a birthday celebration together, me on 8th and his on 9th, people would come over always to celebrate with us.

Memories start to kick in.

Fancy and creative birthday cakes were not really a trend before. As technology advances, no doubt that people would always venture to something new.

Peace sign counts as 20 and 6 candles, to make it 26. πŸ™ˆπŸ˜†

My birthday cakes were simple. I would actually feel embarrassed when people start to sing Happy Birthday, all eyes on me and then there's me standing awkwardly waiting for the song to be over so I can vanish.

Ice cream is one of my favorite desserts. My favorite flavor is cookies and cream. Growing up, cookies and cream set my standards. I have tried several brands of ice creams but so far, the best brand fore would be Temptations by Nestle.

Can someone suggest me another brand too so I can try it out?


It was just a simple and intimate celebration of my birthday. In fact, it's been a long time since I celebrated my birthday here. When I entered college, I spend my birthdays in our second home where my grandparents live.

I was 23 when darkness took over and almost controlled my life. Who would have thought that I will be blessed with 3 extra years or more to come feeling loved and forgiven by Him.


Thanks for reading.

Keep safe everyone. ❀

20
$ 20.99
$ 19.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ellimacandrea
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 9
Sponsors of Jeaneth
empty
Avatar for Jeaneth
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know much about ice cream but that looks good. Happy birthday to you and many more birthdays to come! You are indeed blessed to have come this far. It is my first time to know about the anointing thing. Why chicken? It sounds like what my grandfather would do. He still practices old traditions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someone tagged you on my comment section and I was forced to check out your blog since I haven't bumped into you before. I am glad to find myself here and I couldn't be more fortunate to celebrate with you on your 26th Birthday. Happy Birthday to you Jeaneth, that's such a nice name.

You know I understand what it feels to await a call or text message from your favorite people on your special day. Though it came late, I am glad it eventually came.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I went to your blog as well when a friend tagged me in your comment section. I was shy to approach you. πŸ˜…

Thanks for the warm greetings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. It's okay. No reasons to be shy πŸ˜‰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was once lost but he never left me. He saved me from harm. Since then, I never took my life for granted and he transformed me to be always grateful for everything. --- bet ko tong part na to. Kya never ever mo na gagawin yun ha. If you need ng kausap , you have true friends and we're here. okay?

Happy happy birthday madam.. Wishing you a life full of happiness and blessing. :) Try mo coffee crumble ng selecta and I love kasi yung cookies n cream and double dutch nila sis. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis. Hehe. Seryoso talaga ako dun sa last statement ko. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to you! Im also a cancer baby :) we have the same birthmonth po. Im happy to read what happened to your special day thinking if me too will experience that joy hehez. I wrote one article about my upcoming birthday also here :) but not as happy as this one. Lets say mine is a sad version lol. Anw, happy birthday again and cheers to more upcoming years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. Why is it a sad version? I'm sorry to hear that. Let me check your article then. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy happy happy birtthday! As for me, on my birthday, just a eat out is enough. Kahit sa Mang Inasal or Mcdo. Plus Ice Cream and cake ,if keri pa ng budget. I also am not fond of opening my socials, kasi sa read.cash palang ubos na oras ko. ehehe.

Magsubs ako sayo, ito po muna ang birthday gift ko. hehehe. Happy birthday again po! ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello there. Eating is life so best buddies tayo jan. Hehe. Not fond of facebook too kaya bahala na sila jan. Haha. Salamat :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy happy bday gurl... looking back, you will feel grateful of the years after that darkness took in (been there).. may be blessed more abundantly with more love to receive and share this new year of yours and beyond

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks madam. Totoo, darkness man yan pero yung lessons it left me were a necessity to face upcoming challenges in the future. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday dear. I hope you received many surprises from friends and family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks my friend. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy 26th birthday darling. You won't know a better yesterday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly. Thank you so much ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happiest 26th birthday madam! Ang ganda ng cake at ang cute nmn ni sunny marunong mag timing kung saan e pwesto ang paa hahah! πŸ˜‚

Cheers for more years of strength, love and abundance! ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Si Sunny gyud ang first highlight madam. πŸ˜† salamat po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swerteha ni Sunny uy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha! I beat him to it! Hehe. Who would have thought you would be blessed with more years when you will meet a weirdo and a few more years when you will be rockin' with that weirdo? Happy Birthday again Lil Sis. Let the years roll on and let the rocks roll on too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I believe this is our purpose why God never let that happened to us. Haha. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A blessed day to you! You can try Magnolia Ice Cream or Arce, for local brands or go for the imported ones like Hagen Daaz.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. Will look it up to the internet. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday again madam.. sana ay may sumunod kapang birthdays Good health as well.. basta lage lang positive 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat madam. Sana mkapag publish pa rin ako ng article dito sa next bday ko. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana nga madam magtagal pa ang rc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday, happy birthday, happy birthday to you!!!!! πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‚ You once told me you can be a little sister to me since I really don't have a girl sibling but you always call me Ms. Andi. I guess you're used to calling me that already. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Kidding aside, I'm lucky to have met such a wonderful soul like you Jeaneth. I wanna call you Jane coz I think I read before that you can be called Jane but it might be confused with the other Jane here on Read so I'll continue to call you Dai Jeaneth! πŸ˜…β˜ΊοΈ

I'm sure, God will grant you all your wishes because you are such a good daughter to Him. Just always trust in the Lord. Never give up and know that there are a lot of people that loves, supports and believes in you! I'm one of those people! Again, happy birthday to you and have a long and happy life! β€οΈβ€οΈβ€οΈπŸ™πŸ™πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nikanta pud ko pgbasa nako miss andi ay. Hehe. Pero thank you for this heartwarming sincere message. I felt that. I really hope we can meet in personal or if not, just bond here like usual. πŸ˜πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll visit Bukidnon one day, and will meet you there. Or maybe if you wish to visit CamSur someday! Hahaha. Let's wait for Covid to go away na! Hehehhe..

You're most welcome dai!!! Thanks too for being a good virtual/ not so virtual friend!!! ☺️☺️☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cge miss andi. Excite ko. Hahaha. See you soon. 😁 salamat sa tip mo. Sa imo npud next month, 24th. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. lagi dai. Oh no. I dont want go reveal my age. Hahaha. πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haaaaaappy birthday madam Jeaneth!! πŸ₯³πŸ₯³ oh di ba ang tagal ko bago nakaikot. Hahaha. Kung hindi mo pa birthday hindi makakaikot. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed your special day. Ngayon ko lang narinig yung sa dugo ng manok. Parang gusto ko ipagawa sa pamilya ko para sa birthday ko. Hahahaha. May ganun na families talaga noh? Yung nahihiya magsabi kahit happy birthday. Paano kapag I love you? Nahihiya din? Sa amin ganun. Minsan nga wala ng bati-bati ng happt birthday eh. Ako yung talagang mas bumabati ng happy birthday. Kaya nung binati ako dati ng tatay ko, yung feeling na uminit yung ilong ko na maiiyak ba ako. Hehe. Anyway, again happy birthday madam Jeaneth. Many more birthdays to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi madam. Hehe. Salamat sa greetings. Oo, may ganong tradition pero usually sa mga probinsya lng. Kaya nga, awkward masyado pag grineet ka nila. Pag sa I love you nman, mas nasasabi ko sa phone kesa in person. 😁 kelan bday mo madam?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday sana dumami pa manok ni Daddy mo hehe. Ice cream sana 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More chickens to kill. Hehe. Kawawa nman. Thank you ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthdaaaayyuu ateeee ❀❀. Wish you all the best in life any may the Lord God grants all the desires of your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Sequoia. πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happy birthday ate!!!! i didn't know it was your birthday today ;;-;; i hope you enjoyed your day!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I did zell. Thank you for your greetings. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

so yournage isn't that far off from mine ;;w;;

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice it is to feel the affection and love of everyone, even your boyfriend, hehehe.... happy birthday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Thank you. I was about to start a fight with him but the good thing is he messages me before I started it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa Amin Lang yata Kasi available yung ice cream na paborito ko hehe. Yung punos ice cream. Happy birthday ulit madam β™₯️β™₯️β™₯️

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Thank you my yen. Check ko sa google yan. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago