Why Do Parents Need To Encourage Their Children To Engage In Extracurricular Activities?

42 68
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Writing

October 17, 2022

I've been reading several argumentative essays by several writers here like Eunoia, and Denmarc, followed by Jijisaur and probably Usagi is now doing the same, and I guess that's a good way to beat writer's block. Additionally, the topics they choose make sense which gives good quality to their content. This initiative is commendable and recommendable to others, and this could at least, contribute more sensible content to this platform.

Although I don't intend to take part in this initiative regularly, I do like making some when I want to. In fact, I have posted a few recently if you guys have noticed them. It coincidentally happened that the other day, I saw this bunch of primary students from our window doing exercises in this large field. The students started the day by running around the field for several cycles before doing other activities and exercises. Then the picture formed a question in my mind.


Why Do Parents Need To Encourage Their Children To Engage In Extracurricular Activities?

Back in the day when I was in primary, I wished to participate in more extracurricular activities in our school, but my mother wasn't that supportive as she prefer for me to help her in taking care of my siblings during my off-school days. My only time to do other activities in school was during our Physical Education lessons. I never had a chance to join any girl scouts' school camping which I truly wished to experience back then as there were a lot of activities carried out for a certain period. Thus, having fun while out of school.

Now back to the question.

It is undoubtedly true that school extracurricular activities can help develop students' cognitive and other skills. Participating in sports, for instance, could help students acquire fit bodies and enhance more skills while in the process. And anyone can undeniably enjoy joining any kind of sports activity in school.

This is actually a great way to unleash those hidden abilities or special skills of students that they never thought they had.

Back in the day when I was in primary four if my mind serves me right, our art teacher required us to draw the portrait of the President of the Philippines that was displayed right above our class board. That memory is still vividly clear in my mind, and the person in the portrait was former president Joseph Estrada. After submitting all the artwork, my teacher noticed mine and she praised my talent.

That was when I checked back my work and noticed that I drew our president well compared to my other classmates. But I didn't really care much about it. Another activity was done, I was in primary five at that time, wherein we drew something from a book as required by our Math teacher, and the result surprised her that even my classmates liked it as I almost copied the exact photo. When some of my teachers noticed my skill, they suggested I join the art competition for a school event. My art piece won the second rank in that competition with the theme, Technology. That's when I started to become more interested in art, and I liked watching others drawing too.


When different activities are given, students require to use their thinking skills to solve or create given tasks. That's how cognitive skills are activated. Moreover, young students are curious and they want to explore and learn new things. The more activities they have, the more skills are being developed.

That's the main reason why a lot of parents are enrolling their kids in different learning centers while they are still young because it's the developmental stage of their minds, and the possibility to enhance hidden skills is high. Although passion and talents can be developed as we age, it is still better if students could unleash them while they are young so they could develop them more which can be beneficial in their studies.

It's not just cognitive skills that can be developed here but also social skills, as activities require teamwork. If all students engage in extracurricular activities, then there'll be fewer introverted students and their self-confidence can be enhanced as well. And most importantly, they will learn how important it is to work as a team and have healthy competition.

The only issue that can be seen here is not all parents are supportive of this matter as they thought it required more money as well. This is unfortunately true in some schools, even in the Philippines. If only the Department of Education could offer more free activities that could help students develop their skills, especially for those in public primary schools, then more kids would grow up skillful, confident, and competitive.


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency      PeakD Torum •Twitter

22
$ 2.80
$ 2.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 16
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Writing

Comments

There are now schools that focuses more in developing the basic skills of the young learners. Including socialization skills. They have their own curriculum though. Unorthodox, and different from DepEd's curriculum. But I think, I like their program.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've seen parents say no due to finances and for family obligations. I wonder how much talent is wasted due to this.

I knew a couple friends growing up that were extremely athletic but they weren't allowed to participate in sports because of farming duties.

I'll use my son as example. He's a really good basketball player. It's not cheap for him to play in the spring and summer. I actually work extra hours to make this happen. This past season he has got the attention of a few colleges scouts. If he were to get a scholarship that pays for his college. In a weird way that is kind of an investment for me right?

There's always two paths to everything. On the other side of the coin there are parents who are to pushy and force their children to do extra activities they don't want to do. That's not good as well. Btw I'm not that kind either.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

That's the bad part there...the parents who are pushing their kids to do activities that they don't like.. It will gonna be a waste of money and time. Take my boss's daughter for example, She enrolled her in French school when she was like 8 or 9 yrs old.. She studied in that school to learn the french language for four or more years..but she never learned to speak French fluently.. Just even know the basics.. Lol. The reason was, aside from the french language, she also has a lot of learning centers, maths, English, Chinese, and music. All of those can't be put together in her mind at the same time.. Besides, the kid never like to study French..it was just her mother's decision.. Imagine the huge amount of money she wasted because she pushed her daughter to study something she doesn't like....

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yes that is definitely an over load even for a full grown adult. My brother in law has been forcing is son to do baseball 24/7. The kid likes baseball and is good but you can just tell he doesn't want to do it all the time. Anyways the big thing here is getting your child to do activities that he or she would like to do. Let them do it at their pace. Well written and I can relate to the content very well, thank you for that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for reading too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are lucky to have such activities in your country. There are only few like the inter house sport. I remembered back the when I was in primary school and I was good in sketching portrait of people but because there was no encouragement, I could not develop my skill and it went off like that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Back when I was young, extracurricular activities was expensive, like we need to pay for everything and I know my parents cannot afford those things, so I better not. I also wanted to be with like those but happened not for thinking financials. Maganda nga now kasi meron nang school base lang, time namin need to travel other schools pa, so kind of not my budget.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako hndi tlga pinayagan nung elem pa..magastos at need ko magbantay mgs kapatid ko 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right, Janey. They are at the stage where they have to try a lot of things to know what they are good at. It's about discovering what they are good at naturally rather than imposing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

How's your daughter there? Are you planning to enrol here to a UK school?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's good, Janey. Yes, that's the plan. She can't start school here until she's 3 but she has started going to playgroups to ease the transition.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good then 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. How are you doing? Have you been able to catch up on your missed sleep?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truth, maganda talaga na may mga extracurricular activities ang mga bata para makadevelop ng bagong skills at mas maenhance pa yung talent nila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kaya nga...habang bata pa..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got to realize the importance of those extracurricular activities now after I have left school already. I choose not to participate deliberately

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa part ko sis, yung extracurricular ko is mga essay contest lang, kahit ayaw ko mang sumali, teacher na mismo nagsabi ehhehe. Ok lang man sa parents pag hindi or sasali ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a great way to enhance vocabs and mind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true. Gusto ko talaga din sumali sa mga extracurricular activities sa school before yun nga pangit naman nang buhay ko dati, walang pag asa 🤦

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..sakn hndi naman pangit. Kaso hndi pinapayagan kc bantay bata 163 😂.. Kya junakis mo, ipush mo madami matutunan..dun maunleash kung ano man skills meron sya..pra talented haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nman, sure yan sa anak ko.. masyadong active pa nmn to sayang at fast learner din.

Ganon din nmn sakin di ako pinapayagan. 🤦 Tas ganon din bantay bata 163 kaloka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂.. Hirap maging ate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never experience og joing camping and girl scouts too because of money problem,pero totoo iba kapag active ka sa mga extra curricular activities ng schools

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun nkakawala stress sa kakaaral haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kya nga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Extracurricular activities is one of the reasons why schooling in developed countries is better than in underdeveloped or developing countries.

Like in my recent article, I talked about how intelligence is beyond Education. Some children are book smart while some excel in extracurricular activities.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

In general, I agree with what you say and I know from my nephews that each of them is useful activities... but as someone who has always avoided such activities and physical lessons in the past, I am in favor of using time in accordance with the child's talent and desire. For example, my family supported me to participate in extracurricular activities, but they would choose which activities they would take.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's another issue there.. Parents should support the activities their kids want...not the ones they want..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're very right. Curricular activities are very helpful to children. They are so interesting. Children love interesting activities. While doing their curricular activities, you will know their strength and weakness. It helped me and I'm sure it will help others

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh that's good to know. Kids will be more competent then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Values and life skills will also be learned. That would be helpful in the wise decision-making and critical thinking of a child.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Samin may mga ganyan din ee kaso ako lang talaga ang tamad lalo na do naman supportive sina mother. Sa isip non, gastos na namam yan blablabla, aigooo. Kaya ako nalang din mag sawa na mag sabi sa kanila. Di talaga ako nag eeffort na matuto ganon

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako tlga gusto..d rn supportive si mudra.. Yung camping sa baguio tlga na missed ko kc hndi pinayagan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nowadays, many extra-curricular disciplines are respectfully honored as co-curricular subjects. In the 1970s, my lower-middle-class parents made it a point to put me to learn Tabla, an Indian percussion instrument, when I was in Class II in elementary school.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tabla is flat wood in our dialect hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Incidentally, the body of a Tabla is made up of wood! The sound-producing part is on the top of the wooden tub and is made from goat skin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The school encourage it as well here Madam kaya si Jigz after school my extracurricular activities si Tia din pero etong kay Tia mahalers every Friday lang.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Meron na sa schools, pero not all parents ay supportive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I try to the best I can with my son :) besides everything. Thanks

Bw, I send you a sponsor request, please check it when you have time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think parents get scared sometimes of their children getting hurt, football for example, that's why they try to restrain them

$ 0.00
1 year ago