Unforgettable Biyaheng Pinoy Experiences

34 79
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

July 21, 2022

This current Hive PH Contest made me reminisce about the good old days back when I was still in the Philippines. It's more fun in the Philippines, as they said. Indeed it is because even traveling from home to the workplace or school needs not just one ride, but three rides. Amazing isn't it?

My hometown is the mabaysay (beautiful) Basey located in the western part of Samar Philippines. It's a humble town full of beautiful natural features that are waiting to be discovered. The nearest city to our place is Tacloban City, 43 kilometers away from our town which takes more than an hour drive (without traffic).

Tacloban City is the main big city of Leyte and is nearest to Samar. It is where big schools and universities are located and a place for shopping.

When I stepped out of high school, I ventured into this big city to study for college. For a country girl new in the city, it was tough for me to adjust to the new routes, especially waking up too early in the morning, just not to be stuck in the traffic.

Our village, on the other hand, is located outside our town's proper area. So I needed to travel from our village to our town terminus, from our town to Tacloban city bus terminus, lastly, from the bus terminus to our school area.

I needed to wake up as early as 4 or 5 in the morning as my class started at 8 and sometimes earlier than that. I would ride a pedicab (like shown in the photo) to our hometown, and sometimes during peak hours, I have no choice but to ride with a pile of students rushing for school since their classes started at 7 in the morning.

Image from Pixabay

In our hometown, students going to the city are rushing and squeezing themselves inside the jeepney just to be on time at their schools.

Image from Unsplash by Joshua Kyle

During those rush hours, I feel like time ran so fast that I needed to chase it, or else I'll end up missing the first part of our class discussions. There were times that I tried standing by the door or sitting on the jeepney floor as it seemed like there were no gentlemen from our hometown, lol. No, the gentlemen were on top of the jeepney, and some were hanging on the sides 🤣.

Along the way outside our town are more students waiting to be onboarded by the loaded jeepney. The driver would onboard and onboard and onboard more, until no more available space on top and inside the jeepney, to the point that we can't even breathe well anymore.

Traversing the inclining part of the San Juanico bridge was even harder as the jeepney would go slower and slower as it was fully loaded.

Image from Unsplash by Lance Lozano

I guess the bicycle was even faster than the loaded jeepney, lol.

As the jeepney reaches the Leyte area, more problems will arise. The road congestion for instance. It was stressful for students and workers because even if we woke up earlier, the circumstances along our journey were robbing our time.

Image from Unsplash by Alexander Popov

From the bus terminus, I would ride again another multicab vehicle that would pass by our school because the bus terminus is quite far from the main city area.

I would reach our school premises either late or just on time. Gladly, our teachers were considerate, especially for those living outside Leyte that still need to travel for a few hours just to be in school. It was my routine during the first two years in college, and I opted to rent a room in the city in the last two years as more time was needed to work with my group mates in Thesis, as well as attending On The Job Training or OJT.

It may be a toxic daily routine, but there were a lot of ways we did to make our journey worth it. Oftentimes, I would use those times to flip my notes and study. Some would just enjoy listening to the music played by the driver or chitchat with their friends. The sense of humor of my co-Filipinos is what I missed when riding a jeepney. Some would just make the scene into comedy, or throw jokes out of our funny situation inside the jeepney rather than stressing out ourselves. Everyone wants to reach their ideal destinations, we would endure difficulties because we Filipinos are resilient.

There were also moments when I spent Christmas and other special occasions on the bus, van, or jeepney traveling back to our hometown, especially when I started to work.

But the most unforgettable moment in biyaheng Pinoy is when I experienced riding on the top of a jeepney. I was already working when it happened and renting a room in Palo Leyte. One night, we watched fiesta events in Tacloban city. There were limited jeepneys going to Palo and mostly were fully loaded. It was getting late and almost midnight, I worried that I might end up sleeping somewhere in the street.

When one jeepney arrived, people immediately ran towards it and occupied the seats. I, on the other hand, was left outside the jeep because I was too slow, lol. My co-workers suggested just riding on the top of the jeepney. Others were already climbing up, and there might not be any available space anymore.

Without hesitation, I climbed up to the top with the help of my co-worker and then sat at the edge holding the handrail too tight. It was full of excitement, but in the back of my mind, I was cursing myself for doing a scary thing. "What if I fall?" That was my first question. As the jeepney started its engine, my heart pumped fast, and it became faster when the jeepney ran on the road.

I was nervous at first, but it turned into fun and excitement when a group of teens started to sing. And I tried one thing that I can only see in movies, and that's to raise my hands in the air, one hand only though as the other one was holding the handrail tightly 🤣.

So those were just some of my biyaheng pinoy experiences. There were a lot more and all I could say is, it's more fun in the Philippines 🇵🇭 😁.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

31
$ 3.24
$ 2.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

wahahahaah pag bumibiyahe talaga dami nating experiences...ako yung habulan talaga sa jeep pag rush hour, at yung dumaan sa bintana at yung sumampa lang at humawak lang sa railings nang jeep para makauwi lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hidi ko pa iyan na experience sis. Mukhang masaya siguro kung mararanasan ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman po sa bubong o sa top ng tricycle (diko po sure kung pamilyar kayo dito) nakasakay pero hindi po sa top ng jeep. Masaya naman po yung naging experience ko kasi mahangin po that time. Pero naexperience ko na din po makasakay sa jeep na halos makapalit palit na kami ng mukha ng mga nasa loob hehehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kahit bubong ng pedicab nga eh. Pero bata pa ako nun haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang lala nung sa floor ng jeep ka na. Haha ako naman nung nagwwork sa taguig, bcda to guada grabe hirap makasakay ng jeep kahit 4am. Dun ako nakaranas mag-wax in wax out hahah pero ending nakasabit sa jeep hahahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

4am? Pauwi kpa lang? Ako cguro mag 12 yun pinaka late .nsa manila ako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heheh hindi, uwi mga 1am taz gising 3am para makabaon taz 4hrs byahe haha hirap at puyat puhunan makapadala lang. Hehe ayaw kasi nila tto na ipag bhaus aq, aun uwian

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakaka miss na mag jeep kahit na ang traffic at siksikan haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hndi kb nagjejeep 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Puro tricycle lang po dito sa province namin mag jeep ka lang pag super layo pupuntahan mo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahhh haven't experienced na sumakay sa top ng jeep sis, gusto ko sana itry heheheheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are some experiences that would stay with us for life and this is one of them...they are so important based on the memories they hold and how they made us who we are. You are tough and strong and that's admirable.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. Made tough by the situation 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely...our experiences shapes us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You showed great courage. me too. I went from the village to the big city for university. it was very fun and adventurous

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha.. Yeah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really admire people that sum up the courage to travel to another city to study for college, I never did that and I am currently studying in the same city I have lived all my life 😆 makes me wonder if I will be able to comfortably live in another city

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Why don't you try haha.. I live in a province so really need to travel to the city to study 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's such an experience. Some times ago I think my mum had also told me some experience similar to your own. I think this experience would be part of experience you would be telling your children.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga Jeep po satin nalipad na HAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahit full?/🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes pooo kahit full haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I definitely want those kinds of adventures, I am also a girl from the village and I dream of venturing in big cities, regardless of the sacrifices, to have experiences like you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sus Ginoo ko, nalagas na laak waray pa gud ak nakatesting pagsakay ha atop hit jeep or ha multicab.. hahahahha. However that could be the best experience as well, if ever I got a chance. But anyway didn't you rent a boarding house when you were still a student? That journey each day is quite exhausting.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I did..in the last 2 years.. Taga diin ka pa hadto madam? Nag waray2 lage 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha taga Palo gadla ak..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haroy madam..magharani la kita.. Ano m apelyido? Nag ukoy ak dida 2011-2012

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito sa cebu maraming ding pedicab na namamasada,ma eenjoy ka nga sa rides pero habol ka naman sa oras dahil mabagal pero ok lang naman basta agahan lang

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Need pa ng magpupush sa likod 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha lalo na pg may kabigatan yung pasahero kawawa ang nagpapadyak.doon sa probensya namin ayoko sumakay pag matanda na yung driver naaawa kasi ako na sa point na gustohin mong palit nalang sa posisyon ako yung magpapadyak at si matanda yung pasahero😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same samin. Mas mabilis pa ata ako kung maglakad kesa sa sumakay sa matanda yung driver 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa yung San Juanico Bridge sa pinaka gusto kong mapuntahan hihi. Pero ka relate ko anang mag lumbaanay sa jeep og sakay ate ayyy. Makamingaw sab nibg nag skwela huhu. Compared sa akong student life, mas kapoy jud run nga ga trabaho na HAHAHAHHA.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. Student pa lang gusto magkawork pra magkapera.. May trabaho na gusto bumalik pagkastudent pra hndi hassle ang life 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago