The Postponed Dragon Boat Competition, What Have We Done?

40 89
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

June 3, 2022

At the time of writing, the 3rd of June, Friday, was the Dragon Boat Festival here in Hong Kong. In my entire stay here, I never watched a dragon boat competition so I felt happy when I learned that there will be a boat racing competition. The day before this day, I already have planned what to bring and things to do at the event's venue. Because aside from the competition, the place also has a lot of beautiful spots to explore, especially the beach. Unfortunately, before I hit the sack, I checked the schedule of the event and found out that it was postponed to October due to some reason.

I felt sad upon knowing the updates. There were two boat racing competitions though, but the venues were quite far and located on an island and the other one on a far fishing village. And I already visited the two places multiple times so I don't want to visit them again.

But it didn't stop us from pursuing our plan to visit a beach. However, my friend will be meeting her other friend with a company and I got disappointed upon knowing about it since I don't like socializing with others. The more the merrier of course, but not for an introverted person.

I just let her go with her other friend since she has other important things to give her. And I thought I'll be just swimming on my bed that day, lol. But I message my other friend if she wants to go to the beach. Gladly, she accepted my invitation 😁.

And there you go, I packed my things and readied to go. Sunblock is a must as my skin is getting darker already, lol.

We meet at Central Worldwide and people were swarming around. Some were in beach outfits too, so we expected a crowd on the beach we planned to visit as it is one of the biggest and most famous beaches in Hong Kong.

By the way, Worldwide is the place where you can find a lot of Filipino stores and a meeting and shopping place for most Filipinos here in Hong Kong. There are small karenderyas (small eateries) selling Filipino dishes inside this place too. The place is always crowded, especially on holidays.

After buying some food for our lunch, we proceeded to the bus terminus and looked for the bus bound to the beach.

Standing mode. Look how crowded the bus was. Many were going to the beach as well.

As expected, the beach was too crowded and there were tents everywhere. The temperature was so hot despite being gloomy, so we opted to look for a shed under the canopies of a tree.

This is pretty Anne, my travel buddy for this day. I met her on one of the FB groups before.

We had some Filipino food, macaroni salad, some chips, and buko juice (coconut juice). It's been quite a long time since I ate Filipino food and I truly missed them.

We looked for a spot by the beach after eating and we placed our mat near the spot of many Filipino. Next time we want to buy a tent because we can use it anywhere we go.

Kids everywhere were enjoying and it reminded me of younger times when we were soaked by the beach until we get tanned. Some were digging sand and would bury their bodies in it.

When it wasn't that hot anymore, we dipped our bodies into the water and had a little swimming. All I can say is, that the beach isn't the best one in Hong Kong. Although it was rated Grade 1 for its water quality, I don't like staying for long in water as it was a little bit dirty.

There was some floating trash on the water and it wasn't crystal clear. It didn't meet my expectations since I've been seeing a lot of beautiful photos of it online. Probably because of the number of people swimming on the beach. We didn't stay long because of the dirty water and we opted to go back home after we washed our bodies under the public shower. Besides, the queue at the bus stop was too long and we didn't want to stay until night on the beach.

I might just gonna make a complete travel blog about this place and will add more photos. That's all for now. Thanks for your time.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

27
$ 5.96
$ 5.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 18
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

may mga bagong travel buddies ka na madam!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

super puno ang beach! omo!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least you got the chance to travel😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know how you always look so good effortlessly. This is what we call in Nigeria "chop life" classy enjoyment hahaha. You always look absolutely phenomenal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag ako talaga naka graduate ateeee mag bebeach talaga ako huhuhu. I mean malapit naman kami sa beach pro gusto ko yung white sand ahhahaha. Daming tao jan ate jane sana nag pic ka ng whole body naka swimsuit hihhihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nawala photos ko.. Separate blog dapat yun about the beach alone 😭. Napost ko yun sa noise

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's quite a crowded beach. The Dragon Boat race may have been postponed but at least you still had fun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Photos were gone so the memories left are the ones in my mind 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just keep enjoying your travel moment and keep recording for memory's sake. I don´t like going into dirty water too and one needs to be careful. Besides, your travel buddy is a pretty lady and I love your shirt too 😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks.. The photos were gone though 😭😭.. Refer to my noisecash post

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no! Maybe next time, when you make such post, you can just keep them on Hive since it's a decentralized platform. Meanwhile, you should join Blurt too. It works like hive and this is the time to start growing your account before it becomes hard like Hive. For now, you get automatic upvote and people will come too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Almost as though the fun never ends in Hong Kong 😅😅. I need some fun in my life. 😥😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The day I will visit a beach when I leave the state I am currently in now, I will take a lot of pictures and frame them as a beautiful remind. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayst.. Refer to my post on noise 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's great that you got to eat Filipino food after a while, one of the downsides of living abroad is that you won't get to eat your country's food as often as you want.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True.. Always looking for food we love

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have been hearing about the dragon boat composition, but I have never seen how it is been done before. I love such competition how I wish I could witness it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang feel at home parin pala diyan Sis no, daming Pinoy tapos may karenderya din pala, if mamiss mo ang Pilipinas go ra lang dun:D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kya nga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madamsssss daming pipol owemjiiii. Pero nakakapag enjoy pa rin ata kapag ganyan Sa tulad ko na takot da utaw feeling ko mapapatakbo ako pauwi nang wala sa oras nyan 🤧🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lng kpg may kasama ako..kph ako lng mag isa. Mahihiya ako lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang wala pa ring papantay sa mga beach here sa Pinas no ate?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have never seen someone who loves nature like you.. I wish I was in hong Kong So we could tour the world together

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. You can visit here too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I will someday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

by the way, I love your outfit of the day.. that peach colour looks gorgeous on you Jane.. and whata detailed post, thanks for taking us there with you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Welcome..although the rest of our photos were gone. See my post on noise 😭😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's new for me. Better luck next time and yes, you are looking fantabulous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti nalang ate maraming Pilipino dyan kaya nafefeel mo pa din yung Pilipino vibes lalo ma sa worldwide.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super... Prang Pinas ang HK kpg holiday

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cute nung floating unicorn! Kapag introvert talaga minsan gusto mo alone ka lang, minsan okay ka sa grupo. Hindi ka pala mahohome sick dyan sa Hongkong kc madaming Pinoy.

Nakakatuwa makita yong mga pinupuntahan mo para na din kaming nagHK.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks.. Sa una lang mahomesick.. Pero napagod ako. Gusto ko matulog na 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha tulog ka na, gabi na din yata dyan sa Hongkong. Dalawa lang talaga kayo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hong Kong is so lovely full of life. Overpopulated, of course, but organized and offers many escapes from the daily routine. Love to read your travel articles Jane, and watch the pictures you take.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks.. This isn't the complete one 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I tell you honestly when I was still there , I never watched dragon boat competition due to my laziness, even the place was too near from our place I really didn't go out to watch it.lol. my employers keep on inviting me to join them but I always refused and so their daughter is really annoyed with me. She even nag me as for her I am wasting my time in my bed😆. I'm literally a boring person 🤣. Anyway just watched it on October maybe there's a reason why they cancelled it today. Oh I suddenly miss central. My friend and I used to roam around inside, looking for nothing. We don't like buying foods inside, minsan na kasi kaming nakabili ng panis jan kaya di na kami umulit pa.😅 Anyway where is that beach located? It looks so familiar.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sayang tlga . dami mgaganda dito.. Ako nanhinayang sa inistay mo 😅.. Sa repulse bay yan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah kaya pala, nakapunta na kc ako jan..hahahhaha anyway ngayon ako nanghinayang na wala na ako jan..hahahahaha wala kasi akong masyadong kaibigan jan. Tsaka yung day off ko Saturday, eh yung kaibigan ko Sunday yung off, kaya lagi lang akong nasa bahay. Pag holiday naman nagkakataon na walang allowance yung kaibigan ko kaya stock kami pareho sa bahay🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. Wala dn ako masyado friends. Iilan lang. Kya kung wala sla. Stuck lng din ako sa park na tambayan ko, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago