The Outdoors And More

41 85
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 1, 2022

I never thought this community, The Outdoors & More existed until Galenkp posted something that caught my attention. This community recently had a contest, and one of the topics is hiking and trekking, the good and bad experiences.


If you will invite me to go hiking or trekking, I would definitely go, unless it's Summer and it's too freaking hot outside, I would decline the invitation. I never experienced trekking though, but that is something I want to try someday.

The seasons that I prefer to go hiking are during Autumn, late Winter, and early Spring. As long as it's not too cold and not too hot, I would go to the mountains or wherever places I could unwind.

My first and official hiking experience was here abroad as I never hiked tall mountains in our country before. Hiking or trekking is certainly the best way to experience outdoor excitement and adventure, or simply escape from this bustling world and get fresher air in the middle of nature. When my travel buddy had a chance to travel, it gave me the opportunity to hike and travel to different places too.

Of all those trips of ours, we always end our journey with beautiful memories and some lessons to learn from our bad experiences.


Hiking Experiences and Lessons

Image created on Canva

THE HALF-DAY HIKE AND VILLAGE DOGS

The mountain below was our first trip together. Have you tried hiking a mountain in the afternoon? Yes, it was afternoon when we reached the starting trail to this mountain due to unforeseen circumstances.

We thought we couldn't make it since it was already three in the afternoon. Yet, we continued and challenged ourselves to reach the summit at dawn because it would be another beauty to behold. In fact, it was my first time staying on a summit quite late in the afternoon. It was a worthy hike when we witnessed the beautiful dawn up on the mountain.

Yes, it was my first-time experience and it was fun and thrilling. It was thrilling to go back to the base as the paths got darker and darker because we left the summit at past five in the afternoon. What we only had were our phones that served as our flashlights. I was worried and my heart was beating anxiously while descending the stairs as images of venomous creatures that might pop out from the dark were in my mind. My friend was even calling all saints to give us protection 🀣. It was funny, yet scary.

We got lost in direction too when we successfully reached the village. We know how to trace back the paths where we started. However, the group of barking dogs diverted our direction as we were worried that they might attack us. I got a phobia of big dogs when I was a kid due to a terrible incident, and every bark of those dogs got me reminded of that worst day in my childhood life.

Luckily, a concerned villager helped us get through the group of barking dogs and we heaved a sigh of relief when we reached the bus stop safe and unharmed.

You can check our complete journey to this mountain here:

Escaping From Covid and Bustling HK City (Our Journey To Lung Kwu Tan)

The Middle East Of Hong Kong


TWO TRAILS IN ONE DAY AND OUR SNAKE ENCOUNTER

Another good and bad hiking experience was when we hiked two of the most arduous trails in Hong Kong, the Violet Hill and Terrible Twin Peak in just one day.

The first stage of our hike was already challenging, as we have to conquered stairs with hundreds of steps in a row. And in the middle of it, my friend unawarely stepped on a snake. She frantically jumped and screamed at the top of her lungs which startled me as well and made my heart beat so loud. I don't easily get scared, but only because of her.

Fortunately, she was wearing good shoes that protected her from being bitten by the snake. And I felt relieved when I searched about the snake online and found out that it wasn't venomous. But the thought of it still made us worried, so we avoided going to secluded areas as there might be more snakes or other venomous creatures.

It wasn't just the snake that made our hike challenging and arduous, but the other set of thousands of stairs while hiking the terrible twin. It was after surpassing the hundreds of stairs in a row on the first hike.

Both Violet Hill and Twin Peak have arduous stairs that are needed to pass through to reach vantage points of the hills. And that day was the most exhausting hike we ever experienced. There were points where we wanted to give up due to exhaustion, yet our determination to get through trails helped us finish our hike before the day ended.

We somehow managed to deal with the pain set upon our legs and became accustomed to it after several hiking experiences. Besides, the stunning scenery along our journey helped us ignore the pain in our muscles and not worry about having a lack of water on that day to quench our thirst. That was a lesson to learn and something to add to our backpack if we plan to hike an arduous trail again.

At least, we ended our hike successfully without getting any injury. This was also the longest hike we had, from morning until dawn, and it was indeed a great hiking achievement.

You can check our travel journey to these hills here:

Passing Through Trails Of Endless Stairs To Violet Hill And Tai Tam Reservoir

Our Exhilarating Hike To Twin Peak a.k.a. Terrible Twins


LOST TRAILS UNDER THE SCORCHING SUN

One thing to consider before going to hike an arduous trail is the weather. But our excitement to visit this beautiful place made us forget about things that should be taken into account.

We never thought the weather would be as hot as hell that day, as it was fine in the early morning. But as we started the trail, we seemed to be walking on the fire and being grilled under the sun. Moreover, the lack of information about the place made us lost in the middle of the trail that robbed our time that was supposed to be spent visiting other beautiful spots in the mountain

I never thought there was a tissue on my nape until I zoomed it out πŸ˜‚ (of course, you will). It was freaking hot that day that I kept on wiping my sweat.

Albeit, it was a worthy hike as we reached the beautiful summit. A place that I never thought existed and only I can see in movies and travel magazines. After the arduous hike and successfully climbing the top of the enormous toad stone, I felt like I received a trophy and another achievement was added to our travel diary.

You can check our travel blog to this stunning spot in Hong Kong here:

Exploring The Kam Sui Shek Teng Of High Island Reservoir


Of those hiking trips are lessons to be learned as well.

Adventuring with only a few in the backpack would somehow make me realize that life is simple and we don't need to add unnecessary baggage to our journey. We just need to choose the vital ones to make our journey less hassle and more enjoyable.

We shouldn't push ourselves in the mountains, and so things in our life as well. A mountain is truly beautiful and one would definitely want to reach its summit. But some points are too difficult to get through. We shouldn't push ourselves to prove that we can make something to be proud of and that we are strong and risk-takers. It is much better to enjoy the hike than to get injured just to prove something new.

And traversing those undulating ridges, bumps, and lows is like passing through the ups and downs of life. Some days are stones and sometimes, we would fall, get hurt, or injured. But as the day doesn't end yet, as long as we are capable to stand again, challenges can be surpassed with the determination to get through arduous hikes and storms of life.

Walking in beautiful landscapes of nature is definitely a great escape and at the top of the mountain is a beautiful refuge. And conquering an arduous trail is the best achievement, and reaching back to the base safe is a sense of success. And it is worth noting that good memories are worth keeping more than bad ones.

These were just some of my good and bad experiences in hiking. The Outdoor & more community is definitely a good place to drop my thrilling and unforgettable outdoor experiences.



By the way, today is also the 5th Anniversary of Bitcoin Cash and there's an ongoing contest for all of us. You can visit this link to see it.

https://twitter.com/1289Jane/status/1553908141888118785?s=20&t=rQAfYcwzDC6WoWvrJytE-Q

Can I get some like, RT, and comment for this one? Thank you πŸ₯°. It's cute, isn't it 😊.

Happy Anniversary Bitcoin Cash!!


Follow me on:

β€’read.cashΒ β€’noise.cashΒ β€’HIVEΒ β€’Publish0xβ€’TorumΒ β€’Twitter

26
$ 2.84
$ 2.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @aminul
+ 14
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Woww, now I envy you for having such amazing travel experiences, haha. Joke. Those travel destinations’ views are breathtaking. Hope I can visit there someday although like you, I am also not into trekking. Nice meeting you. Stay safe and see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Never ko pang nasubukan mag trek sis, ang saya siguro niyan gawin lalo nat maulan hahaahahh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha I knew you'd be the one to do this Galenkp's contest. I searched for every option and he said my swimming pool experience didn't count πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. I had to take the back seat on this one. You are always doing well, Janey.

Happy new month, beautiful.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha..is there a result yet? πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚ I don't think so...but I want to see you win. It would be wonderful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's done. I didn't win πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch. I'm sorry, Janeeyyyy. πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You want to try trekking? That's even more difficult and extreme than hiking, you're really brave for considering going on one coz some of us can't even go on a simple hike, trekking is simply out of the question πŸ˜†

PS: I love the picture you made for BCH anniversary, it's very beautiful and creative. Good use of the boss baby image πŸ‘

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha.. Never tried trekking so I want to experience 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will only say that one day I want to have the opportunity to travel as much as you do, I usually see your articles and I love the photos more and more, the quality of the photos, the places, you are happy, definitely that is the lifestyle that I want

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The Boss BCH @ 5..ang cute sis..πŸ₯° Anyways, i love hiking back when I was single. Ngayon wala ng oras sa sobrang busy pero walking-walking na lang dito in a few distance kahit papano.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Reading all your hike journey makes me wonder how it feels like after the long walk going up the mountain. I have already experienced hiking in our province and after that I had a body aches πŸ˜‚and that is why I never hike again. But the view in Hong Kong is literally worthy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course, calf muscles pain for a few days.. Tapus need pa magwork πŸ˜‚.. Hike pa more haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap nga maghike kapag sobra init, kasi nakauhaw. Hirap naman magbitbit water oi. But I was thinking masaya din siguro kung medyo maulan.. tapos madulas trail? ChallengingπŸ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Gusto mo mapilayan sa bundok? πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha not naman, pero parang ang saya siguroπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've also experienced hiking, and it's very tiring but worth it, because of the beautiful view when you are already on the top of the mountain...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iniisip ko kung kaya ba ng energy ko yung gantong activities perooo very rewarding kapag nakaka abot ka sa taas

$ 0.01
1 year ago

rewarding kpg mareach ang summit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

grabe na talaga ang layo nung thousand of stairs ms janee and ganda rin ng captures nyooπŸ’—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

β˜ΊοΈπŸ’—πŸ’—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang saya bg ganitooo, kaso huhu di keei ng energy ko hiking since maoperahan ako. Bawi next life 🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sana may next life haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You love the adventure madam. Hindi talaga ako panghikingan at andali kong mapagod maglakad how much more paakyat pa. Minsan pinupush lang talaga ako ni hubby paakyat 🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. Mas mataba nga yun syo ,πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako bago ako mag hike ate todo research muna gagawin ko at nako kakapanood ko ng mga movie na horror tapos puro trekking eh mapapa hindi tlga ako pag inalok ako haha.

Buti jan sa HK ate okay naman mga bundok? Wala nmn bang mga tribes na alam mo na?.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Safe naman dto.. Dami nga nag cacamping overnight stay sa bundok.. Unlike sa pinas, dami NPA πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahahaahhaa truelala ate

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di rin ako aware na may ganyan an community. Winner na naman eto :D Pag uwi mo, akyatin mo na lahat ng bundok dito sa atin :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi yan nanalo πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jane you are perfect in Tourism and visits to beautiful places. I have suggestion for you, made a YouTube channel where shared your visit on different sites. It will be good investment of time and enjoyment a lot also. I wish you best of luck for the contest.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I know that, don't have time to edit videos

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just seen a top graffiti saying "live a life you will remember". Often we forget to do that!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hehe.. We just need some reminder

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Will send it to you! Check DM

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung mapapa wow kana lang sa mga pictures miss Jane kasi ang gaganda ng view. Ang sarap talaga mag hiking ma'am Jane. Nakakaaliw tas parang exercise nalang din.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wag lng Summer.. Nkakamatay. Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga miss Jane dahil sa init. 😁 Masakit yun sa balat.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Makakaya ko sakit sa paa at legs pero yung snake. Jusko. Mamamatay ako pag may encounter ako jan. Huhu mapapraning siguro ako

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yung kasama ko, grabe sigaw.. Pati ako npasigaw 🀣.. Tagal nka move on nun, umiyak pa nga

$ 0.00
1 year ago