Some Cravings In A Melancholic Day

27 94
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 5, 2022

Hustling in sickness and in health because we have given no choice but to grind continuously. I seldom get sick but it seems like my whole system is inflamed when it happens. Counting the number of times that I got a severe cough accompanied by inflamed tonsils, sinuses, and body pain, this is only the second. The last I remember was during the winter season in 2020 if I'm not mistaken.

I wanted to heal this too soon as I find it too uncomfortable while working. The pain behind my nose and my throat when coughing or sneezing is painful that I just want to hold my cough sometimes. Cough is bearable, but if it is accompanied by other sicknesses and discomforts, it is totally a disturbance.

Moreover, inflamed tonsils give me difficulty to swallow solid food. This kind of sickness leads to a loss of my appetite and makes me crave Filipino food and soups. Foods that are usually served when we're sick at home, are porridge or arozcaldo, chicken or milk fish tinola, and pork sinigang.

Back in the Philippines, I like drinking soups, especially when I don't feel well. Although I can cook some here, the taste would be different.

With this, I opted to go out yesterday to buy some food despite the rainy gloomy weather. It gave me a sense of melancholia and sadness. This sickness make me want to go back home where my mother could take care of me and all my cravings will be granted and I could have full rest.

Many said that honey with lemon is best to cure cough so I went to the supermarket to look for honey. However, the prices of honey here just make me feel sicker, lol. If I will convert this to our fiat, the cheapest costs more than Php400. Meanwhile, the lemon here is HK$20 for 3 pieces or Php140. That's a pain in the ass.

Sometimes, I just don't want to check the prices when I want to buy something. I might just lose my appetite, lol. While checking the other side of the stall, I saw a Korean honey lemon citron tea which is cheaper than the honey. I know pure honey with lemon is more effective, but this one contains lemon and honey already. I just want to drink something with honey, that's all. It tastes good, so far.

I bought banana as I like eating them each day and it contains anti-oxidants too. And since I was craving Filipino soup, I bought chicken and papaya for chicken tinola.

And tadda!!

Chicken tinola with papaya. I added Chinese celery leaves to have more green veggies since I can't find moringa here.

Yes, it tasted like chicken soup, but too different from what we cook in the Philippines. Probably because the chicken isn't fresh and we usually cook fresh native chicken in the Philippines, not from the supermarket.

And since my tonsils are inflamed, I can't swallow solid food well. I opted to cook porridge and I added it with pumpkin to make it healthier. No seasonings, just plain porridge.

Aside from the Chinese herbal syrup, which I am taking three times a day, my boss gave me this Chinese medicine for cough, cold, flu, and others that could help diffuse lungs and remove toxins from the body. I need to take 4 capsules three times a day and that is too much for me. Since it's just a herbal medicine, I just accepted it and hoped that I would get better after taking this medicine.

My daily routine has changed as well, instead of writing articles during my free time, I opt to sleep to recover soon. Sleeping at night became earlier than the usual time. And last night, I remember about the lymphatic drainage massage and I'll be doing it each night before sleeping. I really need to get better soon as I am running out of drafts already. So pardon me for posting nonsensical stuff.


Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

26
$ 4.98
$ 4.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 15
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

kailangan mo na tlagang bumawi s pahinga madam...naniningil na katawan mo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's better to rest and pray for recovery than worrying. I pray for you ate. Sarap talaga when people still makes Filipino dishes outside Philippines. And soup and lemon is are good remedy for all, what my parents says, even when I hate lemons.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard a lot of time that people love taking soup when they are down. I wish we have something like that here and maybe we do and I'm the one left out 🙈. I can relate to what you said about the taste being different to the one back at home...

I wish you quick recovery, Janeyyyyy. This thing should free you and let you explore. Please get stronger and better... I wish I can come and hug you. My hugs work like drugs 😍😍😍😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's always a shame when we surrender to the whims of nature. I wish you quick recovery

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku ate, naawa ako bigla sa dressed chicken hahaha. Get well soon po. Iba talaga kasi kapàg si inay nag alage ee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako madam kapag masakit lalamunan lalo akong kumakain ng kung ano ano hahaha. Kapag mandin nasanay na lalamunan ko sa sakit ee sa huli ee nawawala nalang ang sakit. Un lang kinaumagahan naman saka uliy sya sasakit, lol. Bumabailk din ee pero same lang ganyanndin gagawin ko. Saka sakin sapat na ang warm water with salt. Ayaw ko na ng gamot ee aigooo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Iba ang sakit ng tonsils madam.. You'll understand it once you feel it...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You actually didn't post nonsensical article but I kept reading and feeding my eyes with the whole chicken. Don't tell me you are finishing all? 😂😂😂

You hardly get sick. Same with me. I don't like getting sick at all because when I do, even though it's once in a lifetime, I feel the discomfort. I don't want to be sick 🥺🥺

I hope you recover soon and since you are eating an healthy meal and taking your drugs, you will be fine soon. Sorry my friend 🤗

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Of course, I shared with others here at home..they are sick too.. I really hope I'll get better soon. This is too uncomfortable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

honey with lemon is best to cure cough

Works like a charm. Another variation is to mix the honey with crushed bitter kola and this is the one my mom uses, also works like magic. I hope you get better soon Ate Jane

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What's kola?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, I had a feeling it is not common in Asian countries. It's a plant that is indigenous to Africa and according to Wikipedia:

The fruit, seeds ("bitter kola nuts") and bark of the plant have been used for centuries in folk medicine to treat ailments from coughs to fever.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you really need to treat yourself right, it's not been easy and no where like home ☺️ I hope you'll get well soon..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember I took linhua when I got infected by covid last year. And yeah, I had the same feeling when I am sick. I wanted to go home too as I miss my Mom. That's the reason why I usually cries when sick. Nasasad ako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Get well soon ate 😔.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Health is wealth pa rin talaga ate hehe. Medyo pain in the a$$ rin yung price nung lemon ate, fav drink ko siya noon ate kaso nga masyadong mahal. Akala ko ate tuseran yung sa last pic. Upon typing this comment, I realized that I forgot to buy my vitamins haha. Next week na lang tuloy ako makakabili hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Get well soon sis. Pahinga ka muna.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Take care jane and get well soon, anyway try mo magsuob, I think alam mo yun kasi sa probinsya natin madalas ginagawa yun, yung maaligamgam na tubig na may asin? Tapos talukbong ng kumot. Maganda yun para mabawasan bigat ng pakiramdam mo at guminhawa pakiramdam mo sa sinus mo. Pagaling ka, mahirap magkasakit pag malayo sa pamilya.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hndi ko nmn mgawa yan dto😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eh di para sa sinus mo nalang, sa maliit na tabo lagay mainit na tubig na may suka kahit sa loob ng cr gawin mo un, langhapin mo yung usok nun, much better sana kung peppermint or vicks ilagay mo sa mainit na tubig maganda yun para mabawasan sakit ng sinus mo, I also have sinus at masakit talaga yan sa ilong. Yung sa tonsil naman gargle ka ng maaligamgam na tubig na may suka.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks.. I'll do that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung feeling na may sakit ka na pero need mo pa rin ipag luto self mo :"(( get well ate

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Get well soon ate 😔.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon sis. Sarap Naman Ng chicken tinola kaya lang iba talaga pag native pero ayos na rin Yun makatutulong Yan sa fast recovery mo. USO din dito uno at sipon ehh..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ooooh sarap talaga ng mainit na sabaw sa malumanay na araw... Arozcaldo din po masarap

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Taking to those sickness preventive measures listed above, I think you're gonna get well quick as soon as possible. Quick recovery ma'am

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pagaling ka ate, for sure naman pagka galing mo eh babalik na ulit sa dati. Nako nako, ngayong uso flu tlga dapat may vitamins ka palagi. Ano na ba season jan sa HK ate?

$ 0.01
1 year ago