Hustling In Sickness and In Health

54 83
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 3, 2022

Do you know what's the saddest part of adulthood and being a provider? It's when you still need to grind even if you are sick. And we have this weekly schedule to hustle each day for the whole week, lol.

Image credit to PVM

Work situations here abroad aren't the same as in my country where I can pass a sick leave when I don't feel well or if I just want to take an absence. Here, the hustling will continue in sickness and in health while taking some remedy to alleviate the sickness. And at the end of the day is the only time that I could rest well.

Image from Unsplash by engin akyurt

It's been a few days since I had a cough, and along with it is body pain and other discomforts. The cough started from my boss's son and the virus had spread inside the house and we all became sick as well. Instead of putting more ventilation or purifying the air inside the house to get rid of the virus, they just stick to using air conditioners so ventilators are always closed.

Sometimes, I would laugh in my mind when hearing coughs in chorus, from one person to another. For over years of working, I never take absences even when I'm sick and I always find ways to recover soon, as I find it uncomfortable while working, and it demotivates me in many aspects.

We have this belief in the Philippines that the more we slack, the more we get sick. So as much as possible, I want to stay active after taking some medication. Drinking more water is my main remedy along with this Chinese herbal syrup for cough and paracetamol for my body pain.

It's not just body pain that gives me discomfort but the pain behind my nose. It seems like air-filled cavities in my sinus are infected as well. Some anti-histamine is necessary but I just can't buy it over the counter as it needs a physician's prescription. This is one thing that I don't like here in HK, over-the-counter medicines are limited as most need to be bought in hospitals or clinics after a medical check-up. But physicians here would only prescribe a lot of medicines of more or less 5 kinds, and some are not even related to your health issue, lol. That's the main reason why I don't like going to clinics. It's just a waste of money so I rather treat myself at home with some natural remedies.

The sudden sickness felt by many residents here is due to weather conditions. The weather recently has been so hot that it makes one just stay indoors or inside an air-conditioned room. But it seems like our request for some rain was granted yesterday and today and the atmosphere gets better. Mr. Rain finally comes out after many days of suffering from too much heat.

But nowadays, what's annoying is when you want to cough in the public but people might think you have covid, lol. But what if I have? That means I don't need to work. Of course, I'm not yearning for it. I am yearning for more rest.

Pardon me for this random post, but thanks for reading.


By the way, have you heard about the latest contest of BCH Sun? You can have a chance to share with the 20 BCH prize pool and this is open until the 8th of August. You can check this link and open the parent post. Can I have some like and RT? Hehe. Thanks 🥰.

https://twitter.com/1289Jane/status/1553908141888118785?t=obhS4IB4_bWRIL6QiKqqNw&s=19


Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

31
$ 8.78
$ 8.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 16
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Parang gusto ko tuloy bumalik sa pagka bata ate tamaang kupit lang sa earnings namin pag nagbebenta ng yelo hehe. Now kasi relate ako wala tlgang pahinga eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have other side hustle beside read cash and it really makes me tired sometimes. But, I always remind myself that patient is virtue and money didn't grow in trees so we need to work hard for it...Take care of your health, just don't overdo things in your life, get well soon!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Only those who are dedicated to work are found doing that. Some will pretend to fall sick, so that they won't go to work. They don't know they are literally Doing themselves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Stay in ka sa kanila madam no? No use lng din pala kung punta sa clinic. Dagdag gastos lng. Pagaling ka madam ha. Tibayan ang loob 🥺🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my! Jane pagaling ka more more more water. If needed ng rest, rest parin sometimes it is a way of our body to tell na ui pahinga naman tayo busy ka na lately.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm so sorry, Janeyyyyy. That's adulthood, we keep pushing even when we are down especially when we keep remembering the responsibilities piling up.

How do you feel today? Can you go natural and get lemons. Squeeze lemon and add honey to it. Take it all day, you should be fine, my dear.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah im looking for it now.. Still not fine..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry dear. You should find Lemons in any supermarket or you visit fruit stores.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can understand what you're passing through , but sometimes, we don't have choice than to hustle, but at least, you should be granted maybe a week rest....our health is very important, what if you took an excuse? you'll not be allowed?

just take care of yourself, hopefully those medicine you bought is gonna work for you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I hope so.. 3rd day.. Still my throat and sinus are hurting..😥

$ 0.00
1 year ago

then maybe you'll create time to visit a physician, sorry about the pain...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon jane. Commenting this while I'm also sick - Cough or flu since the today's evening

Tho it's the worst part of grinding even when you're not in condition but yea thats how abroad treat I've heard this from my relative working abroad.

You're strong lady jane.! Really appreciate and much love.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you...i.appreciate your concern too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon Ate. You should probably take some time off blogging, since it won't be possible for you to get a sick leave from work

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's just a small amount of time for blogging anyway...but trying to sleep earlier than before

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That will certainly help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry about your health, I believe you will get better soon. There is always a difference between home and foreign land, I am wishing everyone at home a quick recovery. Thanks for the contest notice.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks George

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhhh i hope so you'll better soon and never tired from work too. Yeah working in abroad is difficult or living in abroad is difficult when you've no one around you like family or partner. We can't imagine the pain of those who working in abroad just for family ♥️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Not only there, here also in our clinics, doctor advise to take more medicine than necessary. I'm also realizing when I get a cold I ditch everything and stay home. Because going in front of someone with a cold is annoying. Anyway, get well soon and now I will go on Twitter for you. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do you know I am the 2000th roller of yours... Get well soon sister. I pray you get your health very soon. One thing I don't like much is, me caught by cough

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. Thanks.. You are lucky then

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I am very new here. Could you please give suggestions or advice on my writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just write what comes from your mind while following the rules.. Engage to have more readers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sweet and kind of you. So far, I have been doing and write anything that comes in my mind. Though I have been reading others,hope my writing style will be not so bad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello sis, hope you'll get well real soon. Hirap nga naman ng changing weather conditions, hindi na maka-adjust agad yung immune system.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi sis.. Nahawaan lang ..yung binata una, tapus kmi sumunod

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mahirap talaga magkasakit, lalo na sa pag malayo ka sa inyo, kailangan mong magpagaling agad...aigoooo

get well soon madam..inom ka maraming tubig

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lage na nga naiihi kakainom ng marami tubig. Storbo dinn😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon madam. Ang hirap apa naman kapag may sakit parang laging nang iimbita ang kama na humiga ka. Aigoooo. And rest kanalang muna siguro. Abay tuloy ap rin hustle mo dito ee. Pahinga mo naman body mo abah.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo naman madam. Early ako matutulog tonigh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry about your health. Make sure you get well soon. I'm also scared of coughing in public because people may think that I have covid😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sorry ate! Get well soon... since you're taking medications already, i'm sure you will be back stronger soon. The grind doesn't stop, I love your dedication.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks. Btw, did you post on Hive yet?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes i have, I'll send the link to you on TG

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gonna check that link now ate Jane. Pero anyways, grabeeeee sana makpag relax ka nang bongga pagka uwi mo dito sa Pinas ate Jane

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Matagal pa yan

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well the soonest dear. Isa sa pinakamalaking struggle ng mga working abroad, yung alagaan ang sarili at the same time kayod pa rin kahit may sakit. I used to hear it often from my mom when she's still around. She was an ofw all her life. Anyways , ingat ng marami lods. Praying for your fast recovery .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you.. Hirap tlga wala sick leave dto..work parn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon! Unfortunately the hustle never stops!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah.. Sad reality

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga health is wealth talaga, kasi kulang lang daw lahat nang kita natin pag katawan na natin maningil jusmio.. kaya ako natutulog na maaga ngayon kaya wala masyado ganap sa hustles ko, andito rin kasi asawa ko pagagalitan ako non pag laging puyat ahahaha

Anyway, inom ka na lang gamot saka mag steam ka para mabilis gumaling..

Di ako makasali dyan sa 5 years anniversary ni BCH wala ako idea ano gagawin ko.. blank yung utak ko haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Banner madam.. Bsta andun ang theme.. Hndi rin ako mkpag steam dto.. Tubig nlng tlga at itong herbal med

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bakit? Or inom ka na lang warm water makakatulong din yun to kill those virus.

E try ko pag may naisip ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hndi ko naman bahay to. Limited lang galaw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon, it is really hard to get sick while working abroad and specially if we were away from our own family. Luckily within my stay in HK i never had cough, but i suffer from UTI as my employers likes noodles🤦. I even heard that almost all of their helpers suffers UTI upon staying with them and it was because of noodles I guess? Anyway more water literally helps and have some rest. Take care of yourself.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ako hndi mahilig sa noodles.. More on rice tlga.. Nkaka irita lng kpg may sakit.. Sakit sa throat kakaubo.. Nag hawa2 na kc...kmi lahat nagkaubo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Use mask para hindi matuyo throat mo at maiwasan na matrigger ang ubo. It would also be better if mag honey lemon ka. Anyway mga amo ko kasi tipid yung bigas kaya hindi ako basta basta nakakapag luto Ng kanin. Imagine yung 8 kilos need mong budgetin yan for two months. So no choice you have to eat noodles lalo at yun din hilig nilang kainin.🤦

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. 8 kls dto minsan hndi umaabot ng 1month. Ako pinaka malakas kumain ng kanin sla kunti lng 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can understand how difficult it would be to work even during sickness. Lol...its true we can't cough in public, as everytime people will consider us a Covid_19 patient...lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is why sometimes, I'll just clear my throat without coughing lol...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truth. Walang pake ang bills sa health natin. Kaya laban lang at magpursuging bumuti ang pakiramdam kaagad.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Salamuch.. Tubig2 lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago