I Wish I'd Done This

22 64
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

4th November 2022


Sometimes we wish we could turn back the clock and go back in time to do things we regret not doing. And sometimes those things appear in our dreams, making us regret them even more. Or are we simply missing some moments?

I had a dream about my mother and my siblings the other night. We appeared to be in a small room in my dream, but there were several items packed in bags and boxes that seemed to occupy the larger space of the room, leaving us with a smaller space to sleep at night. Later, my mother advised us to throw some things away, particularly the old ones, so that we could have more space. The odd thing was that other things seemed to decompose over time. My dream was altered to a different setting, but it eventually faded from my memory.

I couldn't figure out what it meant. But I guess my dream is telling me that we have a large family and need more space, lol. Our house is now larger, large enough to provide us with separate sleeping areas. Throwing out unnecessary items probably reminded me to declutter my belongings here in Hong Kong. Because, while I've been telling myself to declutter my room, I rarely have enough time to do so during my holidays because I prefer to sleep longer. I'm sure I'd organize everything once I switched over to winter clothes in my closet. Even though it's already autumn, I'm still wearing my summer clothes. I'll wait for the temperature to drop further before changing my closet.

I suddenly missed my mother and our home as a result of my dream. I missed cleaning and organizing our home. I missed reprimanding my younger siblings for being disobedient, lol. But if there's one thing I wish I have done before I left home, that is probably to hug my family, especially my mother.

I am not a showy person when it comes to my feelings and emotions, and I dislike things like hugs and kisses from family members. But, as the saying goes, "distance makes the heart grow fonder." I only realized how much I missed them as I stayed longer abroad. I missed binge-watching HBO movies with my siblings and singing karaoke with my family on weekends. I missed my father's loud voice. I yearned for my mother's cooking. I missed our home sweet home.

Being separated from my family for long years was the most challenging thing I have done. I'm used to living independently away from home, but being out of the country is too much of a change. At least in my country, I can simply return home whenever I miss my family, as opposed to abroad, where it takes years and some paperwork before I can take a vacation. I used to live alone, but being so far away from my parents feels strange.

I recently watched a scene from a Filipino TV series that I enjoy watching, and it conveys the importance of doing what makes you happy and showing love to your loved ones when you have the opportunity, because we never know what will happen tomorrow. Consider being trapped inside a room with no way out. A lot of realizations would undoubtedly hit you, and you would wonder if you would still be given the opportunity to see the outside world and your loved ones. It's certainly frustrating, and you'd feel helpless.

So, as much as you can spend time with your loved ones, make every day count. Don't be afraid to do things that make you happy. Don't be afraid to live your life and explore it. Because we can no longer turn back the hands of time. Furthermore, regrets always occur in the end.


This is just part of the Ask A Traveler series. Here are the questions for today.

What did you dream about last night?

Is there anything you wish you'd done before you left home?

What was the most challenging thing you've done?

Lead image from: https://unsplash.com/photos/PGnqT0rXWLs


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency      PeakD Torum •Twitter

19
$ 2.59
$ 2.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 9
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Kung sasagutin ko din madami ako masheshare pero malungkot lang ako dahil sa what if Kaya wag nalang hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

So truee. Nasa Manila pa lang ako last time pero nakaka homesick na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dreams are a reflection of our desires and thoughts that we are not always aware of but are hidden in our subconscious. You miss your family. I always lived with my parents until I got married and it was hard for me when we separated and since my dad passed away, it's hard for me to survive every day. Now I can't go back in time and hug and kiss him, and I didn't need to do that while he was there. Now I only have dreams left.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am the total opposite coz i am showy with my family ,i often say i love you , miss you , etc . hehe! I also kiss family members sa cheeks whenever they are home. and hug them whenever have chances.

Mom whose an OFW all her life always tell us stories how hard it was for her to be away with us . Keepsafe Ms. Jane !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not a showy person as well but I realized how I cannot leave our house now para magboarding house malait sa school namin I'd rather do commute kasi and hirap sa pakiramdam mapalayo sa parents

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i remember when OFWs in hong kong helped me and I stayed with them. different stories you can hear especially moms who are away from their kids. heartbreaking stories especially when the husbands are having another affair. maka bwisit.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nkakabwesit tlga mga yun.. Sla pa pinapalamon, sla pa nanloloko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am not a showy person too, but I do hug my parent's 😁. But not kisses.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako hndi haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really hard to be away to the fam, naranasan ko rin actually when I was studying but I can visit my parents isang bus ride lang. Living in a different country is different.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ibang ib.. Hirap mkauwi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I noticed you are not the showy type especially with your emotions when I asked you to give me a romantic name and you said "Kuya" 😂😂🤣😂🤣. I just gave up 🤣🤣😂🤣😂

I'm glad you interpreted your dream nicely and sleep is important. When winter hits, you will have the motivation to change your closet, no doubt.

It's normal to miss your family and I am sure they missed you too. You are adorable and anyone would miss not having you around.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Im annoying at home as an older sister 😂... Keep scolding those who disobey the older ones..lol..

Because you deserve to be called Kuya..unless you want me to call you Bro 😂

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha come and scold me too. I want to always hear your voice hahaha.

Hahaha let's stick to Kuya. Bro sounds somehow 😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aishhh, leaving your loved ones is the hardest thing, ate. Ako dati sabi ko mag aabroad ako pero ngayong nakabalik ako sa college, I think mas better na andito lang tlga ko sa country natin. For leisure na lang ako magta travel kako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Family really matters to us, and in your case who worked abroad, it would be very challenging. That's why I admired every ofw, who really work a even they are far from their family.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The challenging thing I wish I had done is to apologize to my sister for the last fight we had. I feel it would have brought us closer. You can probably do a video call with your family. Although, it won't be like being with them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here madam na di showy, but I love them syempre. By showing it on action nalang, no need for words or what. Anyways, video mcall mo nalang sila.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo every weekend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kami din sa family namin miss jane hindi showy yung sweetness each other pero we make sure that andun kami para magtulongan as a siblings and we are always there for each other.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tiredness lately doesn't let me dream at all :(

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I feel you sis hirap ng buhay abroad yung feeling na gusto mo sila makasama pero wala kang magagawa kasi sobrang layo nila. And hindi natin alam kung anong magiging bukas. Lalo na sa panahon ngayon grabe na yung hindi natin talaga inaasahan na mangyayari pala tulad ng pandemic yung feeling na hindi ka pwede makauwi kahit gustuhin mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago