Food And Memories On Sunday Morning

55 84
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

October 16, 2022

Another opportunity to rest the whole day but I was awakened earlier than my preferred time by noises coming from outside my room. The Chinese family woke up earlier because the lady need to attend an assessment exam today for her future studies abroad. I wasn't able to wish her good luck because my mind demanded to go back to slumber and so I just stayed on my bed.

Unfortunately, the noises were distracting which gave me difficulty going back to sleep. My eyes were closing, but my mind was fully awake. So at nine when the family was about to go, I just opted to get up to check online notifications and interacted with some.


It's Sunday, but my thoughts were still on Saturday.

Our kumquat tree made me smile in the morning as some fruits are already ripped. Although they aren't allowed to be eaten for some reason, this is grown at home so I guess the fruits are safe. One of these days, I'll pick some before they fall to the ground. The last time this tree bear a lot of fruits, only the birds enjoyed eating the ripe fruits.

At lunchtime, the leftover pork I cooked the night before that day satisfied my tummy. It was a recipe I discovered and tried at home. Pork belly, taro, and fermented red bean curd were the main ingredients. I like eating taro and other root crops. They are great alternatives to rice and could bring back good childhood memories.

Back when we were young, our rice dispenser often got emptied, especially when our father's salary wasn't enough to make ends meet for the whole month. There was once a lot owned by our rich relative and our grandfather was the caretaker. He planted several plants, including banana trees, sweet potatoes, cassava, taro, and other vegetables. Every time we have nothing to eat, we would harvest some of our grandfather's root crops and those served as our meal for the day.

My favorite way of eating them is with grated coconut. They were eaten by coating them with grated coconut, or sometimes with sugar. Those were just some of the Filipino simple food that could satisfy one's appetite.

Among all the Filipino recipes with root crops, the one that I missed the most is bilo-bilo. A recipe consists of sticky rice balls, sago, banana, sweet potatoes, cassava, and taro, cooked in coconut milk. Some are adding jackfruit too.

📷 image source

But there is a recipe we called "tabudlo" in our dialect similar to bilo-bilo but without sago (pearls).

It was one of my favorite food when I was young. It's a rice porridge cooked in coconut milk with different root crops; sweet potatoes, cassava, and taro. And sometimes our mother would add bananas too. We sometimes use glutinous rice or plain one, or a mixture of them. We used to eat this food during rainy and cold seasons. Just one bowl packed with nutrients was sufficient for a meal, even without any viand.


Staying long in bed on Sunday morning made me crave those Filipino foods, especially since Autumn is here. It was eleven when I reached this part and my tummy was already growling. So I opted to end this so I could grab some lunch.

What about you? What food brings back good childhood memories to you? Share them below.

Happy Sunday everyone.


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency      PeakD Torum •Twitter

25
$ 3.54
$ 2.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 19
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Di ko sure kun kumquat un tumubo sa grandparents ko. Parang iba un itsura sa pix mo hehe. Pero masarap daw dabi ng kapatid ko. Last na visit kasi namin dun walang bunga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

parang lime sya hitsura

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My grandmom used to cook it for us but now she's 91y/o so she seldom cook, I miss that bilo bilo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Si grandma din magaling dto . dati nagbebenta sya kakanin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I genuinely wan to taste that sweet that mentioned at the end. I love eating fruits or any dish that is made using fruits

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hey there. Welcome back here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Landang man siguro nas amo sis. Pare parehag ingredients.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

D ko alam term na yan hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Super relate dito, Ate: "our rice dispenser often got emptied."

That's why gusto ko din magka-bukid ey. Para di na super poproblemahin ang isasaing, hihi! Pero baka someday, matupad ko 'yernnn. 🤞🏻

Umuulan talaga ng cravings kapag Sunday ey. Lalo na kapag nagrerelax, puro foods ang naiisip. Hehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha.. Sinabi mo pa.. May small rice field kami binili ni papa..iwan kung enough yum to supply rice samin monthly..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm ashamed to say that this is the first time I'm hearing about kumquat, I didn't know that fruit before now 😆 it probably doesn't grow in my country. It does look a lot like an orange, I'm guessing it's eaten the same way

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup..it looks like cute oranges haha..or most similar to lime fruits

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natakam ako sis sa ginataan mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a difference in food culture, it's impressive. For me it is sweet milk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like coconut milk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwd ba mag post Ng Tagalog ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Huhu nakaka miss yung Bilo-bilo miss Jane. Tagal ko ng di nakakain niyan. Lagi kami nagluluto niyan sa province pa ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May naglalako na pinoy kahapon..kaso sold out na bilo2 nya...sayang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba miss Jane. Sayang naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My favourite desert too but we haven't cooked it for awhile now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako tagal na d nakain

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your neighbours that always wake you up every day. I think you need to find a single room nearby Janeey... I don't like it when they disturb you this much.

See the delicacies you are treating yourself too...this is lovely 😍😍😍. When can I visit you?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They are not my neighbors.. They are the owner of the house..my boss 😂.. It's expensive to rent here..so I better live here..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha the owners? I rest my case then 🤣🤣😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never tried the phillippines food dishes but they always look delicious in picture. Maybe one day I'll also eat Philippines food too. Yes leftover food save my many Days too

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe.. True

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One of the best dessert as well by the pinoy who really love to eat that kind of food, the sweetbes was always be there

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Filipino ka pla hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kakamisa yong ho halo na may coconut milk, halo halo lang tawag nyan samin haha. as for bilo bilo di ako gaanong mahilig pero masarap yan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same lang ata yan hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my, same kami ni ateGrey hahaha. Ginataan talaga ang twag dito sa Cavite. Masarap kapag madaming gata.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Waray-waray term yan hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sunday is always my best day here. I rest a lot on Sunday. The only thing I do on Sunday is eat and sleep😊😊. Your food is making me salivate. I love it😊😊

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nagluluto din sa amin madam nung parang lugaw with rootcrops, tsaka ung gabi na isawsaw na niyog na my asukal ang sarap

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lalo na yung cassava

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay oo madam yan tlga ang perfect partner

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As for me, there is no food that brings childhood memories for me because we eat anything that we want to eat. But u remembered my dad said that rice is one of the food that makes home remember childhood. Those days they only get to eat rice only during Christmas and new year.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I haven't heard the word tabudlo😂 so lucky you demonstrate it will. I grew up and only knew about ginat-an😅. Anyway I also love taro, when I was a kid we also sometimes don't have rice so we only eat Saba and sometimes sweet potato as our meal. Bilo-bilo is my favourite anyway.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sa palo ka right? Ano tawag nyo sa ginataan? 😅 baka waray-waray term lang yan hehe..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ginat-an lang talaga alam ko😅.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me this Sunday is just like being lazy meanwhile need to do preparation for exam but nah, nothing is motivating me.

Those dishes made me hungry... Craving for one lol Gonna eat something now hah. Have a Great Day ahead.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No motivation because you are more focused on side hustles.. You better study there 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything is temporary except side hustle or pain 😂

I'm like oh I will study at 10pm - sheet it's 10:05 already will study tomorrow lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang Calamansi na sobrang hinog po yung first pic hehehe. Yung bilo bilo po grabe sobrang favorite po yan ng mama ko and later on naging favorite ko na rin po. Ang sarap naman po kasi talaga nyan eh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kit kiat sya satin..kumquat tawag dto

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh okay po. So nagiging orange pa po pala yung kulay nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's quite a few that bring back memories. For the sake this a comment I'll elaborate on just one. Liver and onions. It was one of my father's favorite. Once he passed away my mother didn't make it no more. My sisters and even my mother didn't care for it much. No worries I have had it a few times since and every time I eat it brings up a bucketful of memories.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

If if brings a good memory, then it is worth cooking.. If not, then one wouldn't want it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which one of these is taro?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gourd..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I just checked it on Google now, we call it makani over here. We eat it with palm oil and salt, like yam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

our rice dispenser often got emptied

Relate much with this and oftentimes we ended up eating root crops too paired with seasonal veggies. Ahhh, those childhood memories. Why life was so hard back then?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True...was hard and simple, but you know what? it was fun too 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha kaya nga, kasiyahan ko lng makita puno ang lagayan ng bigas,,,

$ 0.00
1 year ago