Cutting My Best Asset

54 97
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

August 14, 2022

If there is one thing that I want to keep, that is my long hair. It gives me confidence and carefree. I feel like it's my best asset and I feel comfortable in it.



I remembered someone who became part of my life in the past mentioned that the first part of a lady he looks at is her hair. I wondered why. As he said, he likes women with beautiful hair. If he's walking in the street and encounters a lady, either she is facing back or front, it's the hair he first noticed. Not her face, not her clothes. I wondered if that was the reason why he liked me. But I guess it wasn't because we met through text messages and that's how our story started.

When I was younger, my mother used to cut my hair as it saved her from going to a salon. She liked putting bangs to cover my forehead and cutting short the remaining to lay straight behind my head. At first, I liked it, but as years passed, I became fed up with it and I also wanted to experience going to a salon. Unfortunately, I never experienced that when I was young.

When I got to secondary school, I felt like I was free. Free from having bangs and short hair. I got a chance to keep my hair long and seldom cut it. I loved it as I can make any style of it. I can put it in a ponytail, curly, braid it, or just lay my natural waves down at the back. But most of the time, my hair was always tied up.

When I stepped out of college, I hated my wavy thick long hair, especially when hair rebonding and relaxing became viral in our country. A copycat also wants to try it. So I saved money and made my hair fixed in a salon. It became straighter and lighter.

I liked it at first, but not the consequences later. I started to lose hair and it became thinner. Stress at work was one of the factors, along with the chemicals used in rebonding that seemed to damage my hair. I felt regretful seeing my hair thinner than before. That's when I started to keep it natural and away from hazardous hair chemicals.

When I worked abroad, I felt sad when my best asset needed to be cut. It was cut very short and I felt like a long strand of confidence was taken out of me.

Choosing the best shampoo and conditioner is often hard, as it is sometimes sensitive to strong chemicals. It easily gets frizzy when the wrong one is applied and more strands are falling after each shower.

Patiently, I waited for it to grow long again as I am more confident in it. It took a long time to establish the right hair care routine. And I stick to products that most suited my hair as I don't want it to be damaged again.

This has been my longest hair ever. Its length reached below my waist. Along with the advantages of having long hair, are, of course, the disadvantages. Oftentimes, I find it hard to manage, especially when I don't have enough time to regularly do my hair care routine. The washing time changed when I got here, as I needed to wash it at night, not day. 

Drying it takes a lot of time, and often covers the time I am supposed to write blogs. Due to regularly washing it at night, I sometimes sleep with wet hair when I am too lazy to dry it. Thus, adding more hair loss and the end part of it becomes dry. It easily gets tangled when tying it at work. And I often find it hard to sleep with the possibility that it might cover my face.

I was thinking about going to a salon a few months ago, but I was worried that it might get worse if the wrong hands handled it. So this afternoon while facing the mirror, the thought of cutting my hair crossed my mind. It always slipped my mind due to busyness, so I opted to do it right away when I remembered it.

I thought of cutting it short, but then I have no good scissors so I opted to only cut a small portion of it. Dubiously, using the small scissor at home, I cut probably 4-5 inches of length of my hair. It wasn't that long, but I felt sad about it.

And here it is, still long though, lol. The cut part may be short, but it seemed long for me who cared for it for a long time. Although growing it is just easy, still, it's like a precious thing that has been eliminated from my assets.

After cutting my hair, I treated myself to fast food. Sunday is my cheat day anyway. I found a wide area where I spent a few hours eating my late lunch while connecting to the mall's free wifi.

Look who's in the mirror

Then I just spent the rest of the day slacking at the park's pavilion.

My Sunday has been boring again. I said to myself that I want to go on a trip, but as Sunday falls, I always get lazy to set off alone. Maybe next time when Autumn comes, as the weather will be more perfect.

Back to the topic, how do you take care of your hair? Do you feel bad when it's cut short? What do you think is the best asset in your body?

Share it below.

Happy Sunday 😊.



Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

24
$ 5.22
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @LordKingPotato
+ 20
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Naranasan ko lang mahaba ang buhok until college pero nung nag work na ko lagpas balikat nalang buhok ko kasi hassle na pag nilalagyan nang headcap...never ko din na try magpa rebond kasi manipis na masyado ang buhok ko para sa ganyan

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Madam mas bagay ang long hair sayo at ang ganda ng buhok mo! Ako nong unang nagpagupit ng maikli iyak ako ng iyak tapos hinihila ko buhok ko para humaba. Ngayon sobrang hassle ang long hair kaya maiksi na lang saken.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haba and beautiful ng hair mo sis! Never humaba ng ganyan hair ko hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Despite cutting a little part of it, your hair is still long and beautiful. I admire long and well kept hair a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda ng buhok mo ateee. Na miss ko yung long healthy hair ko noon talaga huhu. Naputol ko kasi di na ako masyadong nagsusuklay haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang healthy ng hair mo sis, grabe I missed my long hair na rin, but yeah I need to heal this hair mine na rin hahaha nagpa short hair na ko nasira kasi talaga sya kaka bleach and color jusko, pero grabe ganda ng hair mo sis talaga, asset ng mga gurls talaga yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas healthy naman po na every now and then tinitrim Yung dulo... Ako din kapag nagstart na ng hair fall e nagtitrim ng dulo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haba ng hair :) Buti na lang well maintained.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nice looong hair! It shows how diligent you are and gives attention to details. That's how i see women with long beautiful locks. Anyway adding to your best asset is your smile. You have nice smile too Ms. Jane.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unti lang pala nabawas madam. Ayaw mo itry Yung short hair talaga?

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Ayaw...hehe..mas confident ako sa long

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hold up, that's your natural hair hanging below your waist? Omg! I have always thought it's an extension of synthetic hair 😂 I have never seen any girl in my country with such a hair length, and yours is very beautiful! Please never cut it too short 😁 I'm going to show some of my female friends the picture of your hair and see what they have to say 😆

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Neve wears extension..lol.. My hair easily gets long hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love it Ate Jane, my sisters were amazed by the length and beauty as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my goodness! I can't take off my eyes from your hair , i always think it's a synthetic hair, I never knew it's your natural hair , wow! it's looking nice on you .

I don't like keep long hair, I use to cut my hair but I always use wig anytime I'm going to a party and sometimes to school.. hopefully I'm gonna leave my hair to grow, though it can never be as long as yours ... lol

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Leave it naturally long and don't put any chemicals only except mild shampoos...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think that will be okay .... but our Hair in Nigeria here is so different .. lol, can't be as long as yours but can still grow to some extent

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your hair is so long and dark, Janeeeeeyyyyyy, wow. You are one beautiful lady. I don't know how you do it so effortlessly. You are just fine like 7 people rolled into one.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Not cutting for more than 2 years haha.. Regular shampoo and conditioner 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahaha you have done well. It's so shiny, beautiful and long. Fantastic...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously, I admire your long hair. I thought I have a long hair but not me comparing to people abroad. I also noticed that white people and other countries tend to have long hairs than ours in Nigeria.

I still am proud of my hair too because whenever people see it, they wish to have something like that.

The problem for me is not knowing how to pack my hair and make it into styles as much as I would have loved to.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I love your hair princess especially when it's not tied...I could make different styles if it's mine 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If there is anything I love most in my body it is my hair I love it long thick and natural I don't make use of relaxer because it damage my soft natural hair I wish I could have a long hair just like you but here in Nigeria we don't always have such hair 😎

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You can make a record though haha. Make it longer hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol 🤣 I wish I can

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakuha mo pa talaga ate mabored sa condition mo ah. Hindi ako babae pero feeling ko maaalibadbaran ako kapag mahaba buhok ko. Ako ate yung hair na gusto ko yung nasa middlenlang yung tipong a month after ko magpagupit hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Short parn yun kung a month lang pagitan hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ang haba pala ng hair mo miss Jane. Me too miss Jane mahaba buhok ko at gusto ko talaga. Nag short hair lang ako kaisa pero di na ako umulit kasi di ko nagustuhan. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mas confident ako with long hair..hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo miss Jane maganda pag long hair. Bagay sayo ang long hair miss Jane.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Straight, long and black yung hair ko dati. Alagang alaga din. Pero after I got married wala na akong budget to take care of my hair. Yung dating straight naging curly and wavy na. Lagi nalang nakatali ang buhok ko ngayon kasi super pangit na tingnan. One day pag di na tight ang budget paparebond ko to ulit at pa highlight na rin ng magkabahay naman yung buhok ko.. Anyway ang ganda ng hair mo sis. Lalo kang gumanda.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wag mo iparebond..mkakasira lang yan.. Jan nagnipis buhok ko..sakin nakatali din sa work, kaya wavy ang end part. Pero carry lang. I like its natural waves

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa akin eh hindi Lang end part ant wavy. Para na nga akong ngpa beachy waves sa buhok ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gandaaa at haba ng hair mo ateee ✨ namiss ko long hair ko bigla. Pinakamahaba ko na hair yung abot na sa may taas ng pwet haha kasi once every 2 yrs lanh talaga ako napagupit. Tas trim trim lang. Pero this yr nag pagupit ako pinakamaiksi so far nasa may baba tas ngayon na humahaba ng konti want ki nanamn mag pagupit hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

More than 2 years yan haha. .first time gupitan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I believe in Girls with Short hairs Supremacy haha i don't know why but looks cute in short hairs

Tho yours are still long like average one's!!!!!! Looking Good as always.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. It depends on one's preference

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😘 Nakita ka din namin. Iba nga yong datingan kung mahaba buhok mo, ganda din kahit short pero sympre kung mas feel mo ang long, andun ang confidence.

Nakakarelax yong paa sa pavilion hahahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Eh? Dami ko na mukha dito haha. Yun tambayan ko haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohooo, super bagay sayo ang long hair madam. Ako gusto ko sana din magpahaba kaso alam mo naman nasa Pilipinas tayo, mainit aguy. Bukod jan wala akong efan kaya no choice talaga but to cut it every year, aigooo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Anong efan?/h😅.. Bagay syo long hair.. Gamit ka coconut oil madam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh slacking in the parj with legs raised is never boring sis, in fact, it has been perfect. I which to roam around the park too. And your hair is long!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, still long haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed it is very dificult to clean and dry the long hair. I have long but that much maybe half if yours; but I would love to have mine lenghty like yours. You still have long hair, but not as it was earlier. Happy Sunday

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Happy Sunday too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Sunday my friend. I am really glad your reply back

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm those questions are not for me. You know what all your beauty is only for your life partner means your future husband and he will be so lucky to have this big hair beauty of yours. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol.. No future partner though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

First time ko lang long hair teh HAHAHAAH. Ang haba ng buhok mo, ako mahaba buhok ko now andami namang split ends. Di ko alam pano aalagaam kasi puro alo shorthair before

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So far never pa ko nagka split ends. Bka hndi hiyang sa shampoo mo..

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay akala ko as on short-short na Ms. Jane hehe. Mas bagay mo long hair in my perspective eh. Well for me, I am not fond of long hair, twice a month I will go to barber to cut my hair in short. Hehe uncomfy kapag grown wild eh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hndi nmn tlga bagay sa boys ang long and unkempt hair haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago