Coping With Self-doubt And Stress

24 73
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

|8th Nov 22|18:11|

There was once a contest in Hive Learners community on Hive, and this was my entry which I think is worth sharing here.


(Note that this happened 3 months ago, so emotions expressed here have nothing to do with my current state.)


I've been battling with my mind recently which ruined my tranquility along with getting sick physically that just rub salt into the wound. Emotions were overflowing along with the thoughts in my mind. I seemed hesitant to let them out, as my mind thought of the consequences, of the feedback of others. I always tell myself not to live in other people's heads, but I always fall on the same spot, and it seemed difficult to purge my mind to start with a clean slate, to a more peaceful one.

And every time I can't express my feelings due to possible unfavorable feedback from others, those emotions and thoughts just pile up until they get overloaded and would suddenly burst out that are much harder to bear.

What makes me think negatively when all I want to do is to get better? I feel like I belong to those groups with negative mindsets that need to be purged badly.

It always boils down to this culprit, DOUBT, I SELF-DOUBT, which leads to doubting others and STRESS.

Due to this doubt, I became demotivated and I lost the desire to interact genuinely with others online. The once excitement in blogging lost its spark despite engaging with others. I once shared my thoughts on a post about this matter on another platform, but the reply I received just made me lose the spark I once had. It gave a pang in my heart, it demotivated me. I doubted myself.

There are points that I think that there is something wrong with everything around me, but I can't figure it out. Or is there something wrong with me that I can't figure out? My mind failed to produce an answer either and just made it more complicated. The more I think about it, the more doubts are forming, both about myself and others.

I doubted others and thought if people I'm mingling with can still be trusted. Some are trying to form a smile in front of me, but as I turn my back, an unfavorable act would happen. Can you blame me if I doubt them? But sometimes I feel like someone who is just trying to fit myself into their small box. Despite having not enough space, I still want to occupy the little space in the corner. I feel like I'm being forgotten and that's disheartening.

This illogical fear is forming doubt about others that I can't trust their compliments anymore. My intuition towards other people is sometimes right anyway. Well, I can feel that there is something wrong and something that I can't change about them anymore. I don't even think this rant has a point, as there isn't someone reading posts per word.

And at some points, I will self-doubt. I would doubt myself as I seem not to improve despite the long period of doing the same routine, compared to those I know who seem to excel in this field. Oftentimes I would ask myself, what have I really got here? Did I really enhance my skills? But why do I still seem amateur and incompetent? Or is it just because of distractions that often halt my mind to produce better write-ups? Or is it because of those carpers who tend to mind my work so I just opt to write the typical random ones? They are big distractions and hindrances to my improvement. Their doubts made me doubt myself as well.

I would doubt my decision and I seem uncertain of what I am doing anymore. I am uncertain if I am really heading on the right track. So oftentimes I would pause and stare blankly at the horizon. I don't want to think. I don't want to feel anything either. I just want to find some peace of mind.


Coping with self-doubt and stress

These doubts became stress that badly needed to be scraped off the soonest. But sometimes I would ask myself, do I deserve these doubts? The world is so judgemental. However, nothing is perfect, and so I am. Maybe, what I truly need is to purge myself.

Life will either bless us or bury us Janey and it doesn't matter what people say about you but what you say to yourself. People will always talk and everyone is responsible for their choices. I wish we can purge other people's characters but sadly we can't. We are responsible for ourselves.

-Olasquare

What other people will think or say about me doesn't matter, but what I think and say about myself, as Ola said. And to doubt myself was my biggest mistake. I've said this before but I seemed to forget about it, "if the world doubts you, never doubt yourself." Easier said than done. But I doubted myself again.

But sometimes, those motivations aren't enough to divert my mind. I just want to do either of these three things to end this dilemma: STOP or IGNORE.

However, to stop means to end everything, to let go of everything, and just go back to my old life. But it is too tough to bear. To ignore can not guarantee that it won't happen again, as people will always say something against me that can trigger self-doubt again. And these options are pointless.

The other options...

Walk in nature. This is what I always yearn for every time I feel heavy and weary. This is somehow proven effective to lessen stress as I always feel comfortable and lighter when I am in nature. I always look for green that could calm my mind, where I could breathe fresher air.

Breathe. All I need is to breathe out those heavy feelings before they become heavier. All I need is to seek light and look for motivations, divert my negative thoughts into positive ones, and if possible, shut those negative thoughts down.

Shut my mind. At some points, I badly need this, as not all that my mind produces are sensible or helpful, but rather distractions, overwhelming thoughts of distractions. And the only way to clear my mind with preoccupied thoughts is to shut it down. So I better sleep and rest more to recharge my body and clear those overwhelming thoughts from my mind.

Self-reflect and think about my achievements instead. One main reason for this self-doubt is I tend to mind my mistakes in the past and other people's minds. I tend to doubt my own abilities. However, looking at how far I've come, I can't deny the fact that I acquired a lot that I can consider achievements. That I can do more and better.

Seek help from Him. At the end of the day, if all the aforementioned aren't working, that's when I seek help from God above. I just offer all my mistakes, negative emotions and feelings, worries, problems, and doubts to Him, hoping that the next day, everything is fresh and I could start anew with no worries in my mind and heart anymore.


Never let self-doubt hold you captive

I shouldn't think negatively about myself regardless of the negative words the world throws at me. As the adage says,

Background image mine, edited on Canva, and Quote from: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/15762667432709813/

Nothing can stop this doubt but only me. There is only one way to end the battle with my mind, which is to escape from being captive by self-doubt and just believe in my infinite potential regardless of what people will say or think about me.

Background image mine, edited on Canva, and Quote from: https://glassboxofemotion.com/self-doubt-quotes/

I've been through a lot of ups and downs, and conquered storms and this trial is just a small percentage of how far I had traveled. And those people doubting me that made me doubt myself as well are not actually worth minding. This is something I always forget that I need to constantly remind myself not to mind what other people will think about me to avoid self-doubt.

It's not their words and minds that matter, it's what I will say and think about myself and how I will deal with every situation.

So if you feel like you are in the same boat with me, never let self-doubt hold you captive!


**(Check out the new noise.app here and let's be connected. noise.app/Jane1289)**

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Ecency      PeakD Torum •Twitter

20
$ 2.67
$ 2.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 9
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

In a long class this week for work. Yesterday after class I felt defeated. A lot of self doubt but I got rid of it by taking a deep breath and talking to someone about it. A simple conversation sometimes is enough to shift your thoughts, doesn't even need to be about the issue either. I also got more sleep than I usually do.

Your timing of article is good but my reading it is behind 😂 Good advice though :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am so sorry to know this ate Jane. To make you a little bit better, I too experienced this whenever I cannot meet my own expectation. I put too much pressure to myself and so I doubt in the end. It is mentally draining. I try to forgive myself once in a while and just loosen up. I hope you feel better, ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If there is one thing that is quite stubborn to fight with, it is our self-doubt and yes, stress. Glad that you found out certain ways on how to cope up with yours :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Speaking of self doubt, damang dama ko yan. Sometimes overthinking kill's my motivation as well, at nauuwi sa self doubt and trust issues formed. Well we can't blame our self with that, kasi sa panahon ngayon napakatoxic na ng society. Hopefully I can also manage overthinking and cope up with self doubt para mag grow din ako.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For sure you can.. you just need to do it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are times when I also have these negative thoughts in my head, doubting myself if I will ever be the person I want to be. Siguro it's part of being human din, na there will be days that we will not be okay. But in terms of other people doubting my abilities or what I can do, that's a nah-uh 😏 they gotta step back coz they will only waste their time. I don't give a damn. 🤣

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I don't too..but sometimes nkakastress lang kasi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much, Janey. Didn't know you still have those words. Yes, doubting ourselves has to be the most unfair thing we can ever do to ourselves. Others can doubt me, I don't mind. Not everyone even loves Banana or Plantain 😂😂🤣🤣 so I'm not bothered. No doubt, it plays on our mind and that's why we need to always bounce back and trust our ability. Life is just a funny one but we keep pushing regardless, sweet Janey.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha, you got me there.. True enough, we can't please everyone.. So we shouldn't give a damn to them... Thanks

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Absolutely... We can't please everyone...that's the reality of life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even how I want to always be optimistic? I ended up doubting myself din, Ate. Feeling ko wala namang usad na nangyayari, ganito ganiyan. Lalo na sa thesis ko, grabe! I feel like walang nangyayari kasi puro revisions lang, nakaka-version 4 na ako. Pero at the end of the day, I will realized everything. It's part of the process & I just need to get along with it. More wittier, focused & determined. ✨

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's great.. Basta wag lang ma out of focuses sa goals

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All I need is to breathe out those heavy feelings before they become heavier.

Before pako mag take ng breathe bibigat na nararamdaman ko tas ended up nanaman sa iyak haha. Idk how to stop self doubting, di maiwasan haha. Pero ika nga, dapat alam mo makioaglaban parin sa buhay.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganun tlga..iyak na lang mgagawa, it helps somehow

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang every world you said tsugug sa puso ko. Super guilty of self-doubt before and from time to time also I still have to breathe, reflect and be redirected. It's normal naman kasi tlga at any age but ang hindi normal ay kung paalipin tayo sa negative thoughts and be caged for so long.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Caged for so long...we thought we are out of it, but at times, we feel like we aren't ..still stuck in that cage

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo po. Di ka nag-iisa ate Jane, pero kaya mo yan. May mas tough pa sa loob mo na kaya makawala jan sa cage. See you're one of the constants here despite negativities in life:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've had this crazy thoughts if I can get to my goals or reach it by just a little margin... Self doubt has a huge limitation on us, the fact that we want to be great but still don't believe in the process, its been a while dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad to see you back here

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Di naman talaga maiiwasan mag self doubt even me, lagi nalang nga ee. But life must go on pa rin coz if I dwell on that too much wala talagang mangyayari, lalong di ako nag iimprove. Minsan kasi kala natin di tayo umuusad ee. Hindi natin nakikita yong progress natin coz we are too focus to grow more. Parang nabulag na na dapat ganito, ganiyan. Basta ako, push lang ng push. Fighting satin.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dati pa yan...okay na ako now..thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Self doubts is a real thing that I can relate with and to be honest, I do walk in nature when I feel like stressed and it really helps.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Just in case I never shared this one with you! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=alYkT0pvGd4

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago