Catching Up With Friends For Keeps

39 74
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

July 14, 2022

Friends are truly the most amazing gifts we receive in life. Without them, life would probably be so boring and not exciting. They seem like a rainbow that put colors into our lives, a sun that makes our day brighter, or extreme rides at an amusement park that makes our journey so thrilling. And not just that, they are also our real bullies, aren't they?

Real friends are our real bullies, that is true. Probably because we are comfortable with each other so we don't hesitate to throw negative things at each other. We are free to throw insulting jokes, funny greetings, and make annoying pranks. But of course, it feels so good when receiving heartwarming messages from them and great advice when we are down. They are like our second family.

Catching Up With Friends For Keeps

It's been a while since I catch up with my other friends. They were my former colleagues in my first workplace called the ACT department. I already forgot when was the last time I joined their conversation in our group chat because honestly, I am busier on different blogging platforms than interacting with them. So sometimes, they would call me a snob because I seldom visited our group chat.

Because of my 30 Days of Gratitude series, I realized that I became aloof to them. Those prompts about friends have led me to stay connected with them again. These people are for keeps. They've been beside me when I was in moving on stage after a painful breakup. So I shouldn't leave them behind.

I remembered how our friendship started, that was the day after our breakup with my ex. I went to the office with swollen eyes and feeling unwell. At lunch break, I went to the canteen and the only available spot was the chair next to Mitch and Rosita (Batch 3 in our office). I sat beside them and started munching my food slowly with my eyes staring blankly at my plate, and my food seemed difficult to swallow. All of a sudden, I talked and vented out my emotions. They, on the other hand, were confused about who I was talking to. But since they knew me as a pioneer in our office, they comforted me and gave me some advice. From that day onwards, I became comfortable hanging out with them.

That's how our friendship started. And because of them, I became friends with other colleagues from different batches in our office. Our circle of friends then became bigger and I easily moved on from that painful breakup.

Recently, I opted to interact with them again to know their whereabouts and life statuses. There were a lot of changes that happened in their lives these past few years that I didn't know, lol. I feel like I abandoned them for a long time ever since I started blogging, and I become outdated about their lives.

1st photo from the left: Princess, Rosita, Liselle, Mitch, and 😜 2nd photo from the right: J&G, Mel, Ena, Riza, and πŸ€ͺ 3rd photo from the left (The Caregivers): Mafe, Jel, Mitch again, and πŸ˜› and my baby πŸ˜‚

Princess, the prettiest, has been living in Canada for a few years now and working as a Caregiver. She even wants me to go back home since she will be vacationing this month and she is willing to buy the plane ticket for me.

She still calls me topnotcher, lol. What she meant here is she missed me because it's been a long time since I chatted with them.

The plane ticket is not the problem though but the time. My boss is always paying for my plane ticket, but I can only have a vacation, every after finishing a 2 years contract. She will be settling in the US afterward because her mother and relatives are there. And it would be impossible for us to meet again. Our next meeting would probably be when we are already aspiring seniors πŸ˜₯.

I thought we are the only two from our group that are working abroad, I was surprised when I found out that the youngest, Riza, is already working in Dubai.

She's a home buddy, the youngest too in their family, and a person who doesn't want to be away from her parents. It hit me like a bolt from the blue because I never imagined her leaving her parents and working abroad since she's not a social person as well. But I guess it's her dream before that I didn't know, lol. I'm introverted too, but here I am, working abroad and trying to socialize with foreign people. Everything suddenly changes because of dreams anyway.

Meanwhile, Liselle, who suffered from Bell's Palsy, ended the online work she got from her former supervisor in Dubai. I didn't expect it to be that short though. It didn't even last for a half year.

And now she's planning to work back in the ACT since we still have a friend who is working there. I was surprised as well when I learned that the new supervisor is Rosita.Β 

Among all the ladies in the photos, only Rosita was left while the rest opted to follow different paths. I know she deserves that promotion since she's been working there for more or less 13 years and I am happy for her. She's one of the top billers too, way back when I was still there, including Ena and Mitch.

Mel and Ena have their own families already and are busy with their everyday lives. J&G is missing from the group. All I know is G has been working in ACT Manila after Typhoon Yolanda and didn't come back to the Leyte site anymore due to the tragedy that happened to his family. Meanwhile, J pursued his teaching career, but we don't have any information about his whereabouts anymore since he opted to disconnect from us even on FB.

My Caregiver friends are the people I always chat with. Mitch and Jel's relationship is getting stronger. They seem like a real couple. I guess all they need is to tie a knot so they would stay forever, lol. But the same gender marriage isn't allowed in our country, lol.

And due to busyness recently, I didn't know that Mafe had already flown back to the US since her husband is there and covid cases have already subsided.

We didn't even see each other yet before she left and it is still uncertain when will she come back to the Philippines again 😒. I felt guilty about not knowing her flight details. I felt like not a real friend.

I spent most of my time slacking in the Cryptoverse and just ignoring the messenger's messages popping in my notif. So that day, I promised myself to stay connected with them all the time and interact with them so I wouldn't miss anything.

There's an adage that says to keep the old friends even if we make new ones because they are gold.

We might go on different paths and meet new people that eventually become our friends. But we shouldn't forget to look back and remember the people who once painted beautiful colors in our lives. Just keep collecting and never discard them. They are precious and gold.

Drafted this last month πŸ˜…

Follow me on:

β€’read.cashΒ β€’noise.cashΒ β€’HIVEΒ β€’Publish0xβ€’TorumΒ β€’Twitter

28
$ 9.14
$ 8.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 17
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I guess I need to check on my old friends too..being busy at work and also some grinding made me lose contact with them already

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Buti nga po kahit ang tagal na ng lumipas na pahanon ay hindi pa rin sila nakakalimot mag message sa inyo po at sa isat isa. Ganyan po talaga real friends kung tawagin, never po nakakalimot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang tagal na pala na draft hehehe.. ano language nyo sis parang di ko maintindihan chats ninyo, di sya tagalog eh hehehe... ai ayon na pala sa reply mo kay Dennmarc waray pala hehehe.. edit ko na lang hehehe nabasa ko after sending hehehhe...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awiee. Hello miss topnotcher! Emz! Ang saya makipag chat sa mga old friends and classmates natin before. Hind ko lamg mabasa yung convo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Waray-waray kasi 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's easy to lose communication with our friends who we don't see every day because of our very busy schedules (I am very guilty of this) but it's better if we can say hi to them once in a while and let them know we haven't forgotten them, I do that sometimes to avoid completely burning off the little friends I have πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha.. At least you have one here hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba padin talaga kapag may communication even just once a month hehe. We also have GC since 2019 pa yun, we were just 6 members and we just set a video call mostly gabi para available lahat hehe. True friends indeed.πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Worth keeping 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iniignore ko na din friends ko, na busy na sa Hive. Hahaha. Kinukulit na nga ako ng isa dito sa malapit. Bahala na, pera muna. Wala na ako budget.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sana makahanap din ako ng friends na pang lifetime, yung walang limutan kahit humirap man ang buhay. Sa totoo lang wala akong barkada pero it doesn't mean I don't have friends, of course I have. Wala lang akong mga ka-squad ganon.

You should treasure them Jane. ❀️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course,.. You'll find your real friends once you start working 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can't understand those who leave old friends for new ones. I am glad you are keeping up with your old friends...indeed they are gold. It's about loyalty and the memories created along the way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uy grabe ano. Nakakalungkot na ewan when you think of it. We are not meant to always be together after all. Wala lang, sentimental sa feels, tapos may kirot sa dulo. Unexplainable . Haha. Whew.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha..feel na feel

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly friends for keep, just like my Highschool friends till now solid pa din

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung high school. Yun ang wala tlga πŸ˜…..anjan naman group chat, ayoko lng makipag chat sa knla haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahha iba iba talaga Madam nuh kung san talaga tayo magiging comfortable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako rin may mga circle of friends na kahit nasa malayo na sila ay friends for keeps pa rin. Minsan nlng magkita kita but we still have that bond like the good old days..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganya kmi πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganda tingnan yung mga pictures nyo sis ahh.gandang ngiti at tawanan pag magkakasama at nagbibigay ng time para mag bonding.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabi madams sa sobrang bigat ng nararamdaman no nakapag labas ka ng sama nh loob sa kanila. But thabks to that kasi naging close kayo πŸ˜†πŸ€©

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Para akong aning nun 🀣.. Kaya ako nla pinansin 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So emotional while reading this. This is a beautiful moment to read such heartwarming article about your friends. Just as an adage would say β€œ20 children cannot play for twenty years ”

Everyone would find their path but one thing is that, we should never get disconnected from our moment together and how we have been all through different challenges and happy times.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Distance may keep us apart, but good memories won't...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope magsama-sama na ulit kayo Miss Jane and bond to the fullest. My friends have been hanging out recently to make most of the vacation pero hindi muna ako sumasama kasi hindi ko feel ahahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow. Mag bigatin mo maamsh. Nindot na kung ma kompleto mo magbonding.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha. Kaya nga. Sponsor nsa Canada bigatin yunn🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haizt , i suddenly felt guilty. Ako din kasi, simula nung nagblog ako kung hindi pa ako ememsg hindi din ako magmemsg, medyo nakakaguilty kasi nagmumukha akong paimportanteπŸ˜…. eh samantalang noon ako madalas magchat at may patampo tampo pa, ngayon ako na madalas makalimot. Haayy a lot of things change pa naman, when weren't connected with them.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yung isa jan, yung tomboy .d pa kmi masyado bati. Dahl nga hndi ako palachat sa knla 🀣.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You guys have friends? Haha lucky!

Being away from close friends is something Hurt's but it's life and everyone's busy making their career or life dreams which is Good_ tho!.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Why, you have no friends?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maganda din yan makapagbonding sa mga friends pero ako wala na akong mga friends na makakabonding ,may mga kanya kanyang buhay na.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kahit may kanya2.. Friends pa rin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's been a months since huli kong nakita mga kaibigan ko, although kamustahan malamg meron lami pero I'm excited to see in the future if gano sila kasuccess πŸ’•

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ako, years d nakita🀧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have 3 close friends too and puro kami long distance din Yung first BFF ko nasa Cebu, yung isa nasa Davao and the other one kahit nandito Lang sa Bohol pero mgkaiba kami ng town Kaya minsan Lang din kami mgkita. Minsan Lang din kami mgkamustahan kasi busy rin sila sa personal life nila and ako rin super busy sa personal and side hustles while working.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganun kmi. Mga nsa abroad na pla iba d ko nalaman kaka blogging

$ 0.00
1 year ago

busy kaka grind online sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago