A Solo Lady Traveler, How Does It Feel?

34 119
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

June 30, 2022

How does it feel to become a solo lady traveler?

When I read this topic, I can so relate as I am one of those women traveling solo. Well, I never travel with any man anyway, so I have been a solo lady traveler since the beginning of my traveling journey.

Let me remember first when was the last time I had a real partner, 2013? No, that was too short and unofficial, so 2011? I guess. I forgot. Or should I say, I opted to forget about it? But we never travel outside our city anyway, since we weren't capable of traveling yet at that time.

I can't deny the fact that I feel envious of those traveling with their partners. Oftentimes, I would ask myself, how does it feel to have a male travel buddy? I mean a real partner who would go with me anywhere I want to.

Solo Travel Challenges

Have you ever felt like an outcast or someone who has been ostracized by a society of real couples?

Just imagine standing in the middle of the road and being surrounded by a group of families and couples traveling together. They look happy, meanwhile, you are alone and have no one to share stories with, laugh with, or enjoy the journey with.

Undeniably, it is much more enjoyable if I have a travel buddy. A partner who would carry my heavy bag. A partner who would help me conquer an arduous hike. A partner who would wipe my sweaty forehead. A partner who would open an umbrella for me when a sudden rain comes. A partner who would reach a hand for me when I stumble or fall.

Someone who would read my favorite books and share stories with. Someone whom I could spend an afternoon tea with. Someone who would offer a shoulder and an arm when I feel sleepy along the journey. Someone who would sing a song for me when I feel bored. Someone who would make my journey worthwhile.

And of course, a partner who would take souvenir photos for me 🤣. Besides, it is still better to have someone beside me in case an unexpected accident or emergency occurs. It is still better when I have someone who would hold my hand from the beginning to the end of my journey.


A Solo Lady Traveler, How Does It Feel?

But over the years that I've been traveling alone, I could say that it isn't bad at all.

One reason why I like solo traveling is having no one to argue with when conflict arises. Traveling with someone is also the same as carrying heavy baggage with me, which I don't like. It is common and avoidable that partners could have different decisions, preferences, and opinions, thus, it could cause conflict as well. And what I hate with men is being bossy and they think their decisions are better than women's. So I prefer to plan with myself, rather than argue with someone which might just lead to misunderstandings (and the travel plan might just end up like a drawing, lol).

I am free to set my schedule and no one would nag at me if I wake up late in the morning. I am free to set my budget and no one will deprive me of buying food that I want to eat and no one would say, "don't eat that, you'll get fat." I am free to buy souvenir things that I want regardless of the price, and no one would say, "it's expensive, just choose another one." I am free with a wider space and no one will tell me to walk faster if I walk slowly. I am free to do anything and no one will hinder my plans and decisions.

Besides, traveling alone helps me grow as a responsible and more confident lady. I have never been afraid of walking alone in the dark or on the street at night. I feel more responsible for dealing alone with the situation and solving any issues that may arise by myself.

I somehow enjoy my own company more. I may be alone, but not lonely. I even learned to mingle with strangers, my co-travelers, and once in a while, an introverted one becomes outgoing. I am meeting other people along my journey. I am learning new things and experiencing a new lifestyle.

I am learning to stand on my own and face the world confidently and bravely. I never care about the consequences or obstacles along the way, what matters is I am happy being alone outside my comfort zone.

But who said traveling is only enjoyable when you are with your opposite partner? Don't you know that it's more fun traveling with co-ladies?

When traveling with co-ladies, there are no restrictions, there is no boss, there are no rules and roles, we are just ladies who want to have fun. We don't need to prepare things for our partners. We don't need to serve and follow anyone. We share the same interests, jokes, and stories. We can be crazy or wild, and no one would reprimand our stupid actions. We could dare to do things without minding the consequences.

Above all, there is only "freedom." So if you want to travel in a group, go pick the birds of the same feathers. It'll be more fun 🤣.

What about you, which do you prefer, traveling with a man or woman? Share your thoughts below.

Follow me on:

read.cash •noise.cash •HIVE •Publish0xTorum •Twitter

18
$ 3.94
$ 3.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I would like to try to travel alone. Feeling ko mas okay yun especially if gusto ko talaga ng pahinga mula sa stress. Mahalaga din kasi yun alone time para makapag isip isip.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malay mo ate sa pagta-travel mo din makikilala yung partner mo hahaha. Like busy ka sa paglalakad tapos may makakabungguan kang afam na pogi. Odiba hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mas gusto kong isipin una sis na makapagtravel, how i really wish to travel peru wala pa talagang budget dyan. Sana tumaas si bch para kahit travel within our municipality lang magawa man lang namin. Hanggang community plaza lang talaga ang travel nimu, masaya na nga din ako kapag makapunta sa bukid. Since my family na ako, off course I would love to travel with them para sabay2 mag enjoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having a travel buddy is better than a solo one ehheheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I experienced travelling with my friends but I would love to travel solo as well mwehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya mo yan.. Kht sa hndi malayo 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Janey, I want to be your travel buddy. I snap amazing pictures too 😂🤣😂🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure uncle. But don't complain or else I'll abandon you 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂 I would never. I would be a good boy hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also like to travel and visit from one side of my country to another side. I like solo Tourism when it is safe. When we have partner we can't enjoy our own taste because our partner can oppose what we want. Strangers can be our best solo partner no doubt and we enjoy when we got same ideas persons.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So if you want to travel in a group, go pick the birds of the same feathers. It'll be more fun 🤣.

🤣🤣🤣

I really love how you explain the pros and cons of traveling with or without a partner. For me, I don't want someone to be bossy over me but I want to be free.

I love those pictures. They are so clear and neat 😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha.. That's why I like traveling with girls..everyone is the boss 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

okay lang naman mag travel mag isa at least wala akong kahati sa food ko....food is life anubaa hahaah...pero malay mo while traveling alone makita mo yung poreber mo and you'll meet halfway ayieeeeeeeee

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahehe.. Malay natin db?haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well it's nice experienced for travelling solo.. but it's more fun when you are with your friends and maybe soon to your mister right😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Traveling alone can be so boring to me , so I will prefer when I travel with my friends, just like you said, I will love to go with the people with people who Will Make the journey a memorable one .... like I would love to have tons of fun and I'm not be free to everything I want if I go with a man just like you Said.... so I'll prefer to go out with women ☺️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True.. No stress haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both madam, pero if gusto mo ng puro tawanan lng syempre girls kasi alam na walang katapusang halakhak

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True. Mas kalog

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you have an amazing experience abroad and even though you are alone sometimes. i see you are having a good time there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In all honesty it was good to have a male travel buddy, specially if you have the same interest, but if you're a total package of opposite don't dare. Lol. I remember when my partner and I went to a long rides with his friends, and when we arrive to our destination I look like an outcast 🤣, specially that his friends isn't my friends and you know, I'm an introvert and socializing with them are hard specially that I just meet them for the first time, and so I ended up acting like busy with my phone though theres no signal, hahahahhaha. I was really annoyed the whole time, as my partner is busy with his camera and he just wants me to follow him, like what?? Can't he just entertain me? Hahahahha. So I would suggest to have a girl travel buddy, with lot's of chitchats and kaartehan, rather than a male buddy and be an outcast 🤣. A solo traveler is also fine indeed as no one will order you to do this, and that and etc. It's also a worry less journey.👌

$ 0.03
1 year ago

acting like busy with my phone though theres no signal Natawa ako dto 🤣 Ksya ayoko mag travel with boys . my sarili sla mundo🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahha totoo yan, pero pinagsisihan ko lang din after kasi feeling ko mas lalo akong nagmukhang tanga, kasi narealise ko nalang bigla na what if they also know na walang signal yung area tapos busy kuno ako sa kakachat, hahahahhaha diba? Kaya di na talaga naulit na sumama ako sa kanya sa long rides tapos kasama mga friends nya🤣🤣🤣. Hiyang hiya na ako🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pro buti sinama ka.hehe.. Gusto lng nya ipakikila sa friends

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madamssss di mo ba nakausap ung guy sa unahan no? Napansin ko lanf, matambok pa pwet nya kesa sakin huehuehue. Hahaha baka yan na pala polebel mo hahahaha.

Pero ako gusto ko mag try ng solo traveling. For experience lang sana.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣. Hndi pa nmn makapal feslak ko pra gawin yun.. Kaya bga madam..mas malaki pa pwet kesa sakin 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAHA like are you lost bebe boy HAHAHAHA charrrrr.

Di tayo pinag pala madams hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha.. Exercise nlng..baka madala 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wanted to type it's not necessary one travel with the opposite gender alone until i saw the part you talked about it. Though it’s enjoyable sometimes when one travels alone , but there are times when a partner or partners are needed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah.. Coz some circumstances can't be handled alone,especially the emergency

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isa din sa mga pangarap ko Jane ay makapag-solo travel kaya gusto ko yumaman para mapuntahan ko yung Norway, Japan, Switzerland. Napaka sosyal na mga countries I think mga billionaires lang nakakapagtravel kahit saan sa mundo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The only way to do that is to work in those countries.. That was my plan before . work in different countries while traveling.. Pro na stuck ako dto sa hk 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The challenge traveling alone is to feel yoi are alone when you are surrounded with happy family and couple. Naalala ko yung article mo ate na gusto mo maitravel ang parents mo, I hope it happens in the next following years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hopefully.. Ipon muna ng madami 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago