The Dangers of Using A Mobile Phone and Other Devices Too Much

15 95
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

The Dangers of Using A Mobile Phone and Other Devices Too Much

Since June, I have been relying mostly on my phone to earn. All the articles that I have posted here were all composed using my phone. The photos that I posted in noise.cash were all edited using my phone. Even my digital drawings were done using my phone.

I am grateful that because of my phone, I was able to earn enough to pay my bills and contribute to our basic expenses here at home.

Image Source: Undplash.

But the prolonged use of my mobile phone, plus all the driving on my motorbike, is now taking its toll, particularly on my hands and eyes.


Hello readers. Today is the 12th of August. In this post, I will share with you the following:

the dangers of prolonged use of gadgets particularly mobile phones; and

Some measures to prevent these dangers.


Repetitive Strain Injury

Prolonged and repetitive use of any device or instrument could cause injuries.

"Repetitive strain injury, also known as RSI and repetitive motion disorder, is a term for damage to tissues caused by repeated physical actions. These actions are often work-related, such as typing or performing manual labor." -ada.com: Repetitive Strain Injury

But RSI is not only acquired from work, guitar players would feel the strain on their hands. Tennis players would feel the strain on their elbows, thus the term tennis elbow.

RSI From Using Computers and Mobile Devices.

I have been a computer user for more than two decades... Ok, make that three.

There was a time that I would sit in front of my computer typing, programming, or playing games. It has been like that for years.

I can't remember when it started, but there was a time that started to feel the numbing sensation on my wrists. I have not heard of RSI at the time, so I would just shake my hands whenever the numbing sensation starts.

Later, I have learned that it was a sign of RSI. To be precise, the condition is called Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, or CTS.

"Carpal tunnel syndrome is a common condition that causes pain, numbness and tingling in the hand and arm. The condition occurs when one of the major nerves to the hand — the median nerve — is squeezed or compressed as it travels through the wrist." - https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases--conditions/carpal-tunnel-s

I was glad that I was able to do something before it worsened. I will share that with you later.


Trigger Fingers

My ring and little fingers were painful to bend

Two years ago, I was hooked on playing a nimbed of mobile games. Though I was avoiding the more popular online games like Mobile Legend, I was playing an offline  First Person Shooting (FPS) game, along with at least two more Tower Defense games.

But I think it was the FPS game that did the damage. With my wrists and fingers locked in on an unusual position for a long period, and only my thumbs are moving, it caused another condition on my hands and fingers.

At first, I felt numbness on my fingers. Then as the days go by, I find it difficult to bend the ring and little fingers on both of my hands. I can not make a fist without pushing those fingers with the other hand. And straightening them up is painful also. And they would make a popping or snapping sound when I do so.

I saw on TV that it was a condition caused by using mobile gadgets for too long. It's called Trigger Fingers.

"Trigger finger is a painful condition that makes your fingers or thumb catch or locks when you bend them. It can affect any finger or more than one finger at a time. "

Webmd.com: Trigger Finger

My trigger fingers worsened. I looked for some home remedies online. I would soak my hands in warm water every morning and evening to relieve the pain. I tried some exercises for trigger fingers. They helped, but the pain won't go away.

I went to see an orthopedic doctor. He prescribed a Vitamin B complex with analgesics. He said if the condition of my hands would not improve in two months, I may require surgery to fix the problem.

Thank God that after two weeks the condition started to improve. I can now bend my fingers without snapping. I still could not make a full fist but they improved. After a while, I can make a fist on my right hand, but even up to now, I still can't fully close my left hand.

Carpal Tunnel Syndrome and Trigger finger(s) are just two of the dangers of using computers and mobile devices too much.

Another danger is the strain they cause to our eyes. Maybe you have experienced this. After using your phone for a long period, it's difficult to focus on an object far away from you.

This is how I see things after using my phone for too long

Computer vision syndrome also referred to as digital eye strain, describes a group of eye- and vision-related problems that result from prolonged computer, tablet, e-reader, and cell phone use.

-aoa.com: Computer Vision Syndrome

Preventive Measures Against RSI

Disclaimer

I am not a health professional and do not claim to be an expert on this subject matter. But the information that I will share with you in this part of this post is based on what I have learned and experienced over the years.

Nevertheless, I will share with you other resources for further reading.

Perhaps the best way to prevent the onset of RSI from the computer and other gadget use is... Stop using them. But I don't think that is possible.

Computers and mobile devices have become an important tools to most people.

So what can we do to avoid RSI?

Here are some common ways to prevent RSI as suggested by many experts. In this post, I will focus mostly on mobile device use.

Proper Posture
For desktop and laptop users, you need to set up your PC or laptop so you can sit with proper posture and proper hand position.

But how about mobile device users? The concept is the same. Hold your device in such a way you will not slouch. Your head should be in a natural position, not bent down.

Hold your device at least two feet away from you. This will reduce the strain on your neck, back, and eyes.

Your arms should be rested on a table or something so you can hold your phone in front of you.

Use Large Text Size

It doesn't matter how young or how old you are. Large text size will reduce strain on your eyes.
If you have a screen size of more than 6 inches you may be comfortable with the normal size, but avoid using small text size.

Adjust Your Display Settings

Brightness- keep the brightness as low as possible or Automatic. This will not only help your eyes but prolong your device's battery life.

Use Eye Comfort
Using eye comfort will reduce the blue light from your device. Doing this will reduce eye strain especially at night.

Use a Bluetooth Keyboard.

If you are a writer, get a 10-inch Bluetooth keyboard. This will not only reduce the strain from your wrists and fingers but will help you type faster.

Use the 20-20-20 rule.

The 20-20-20 rule means for every 20 minutes (or 30), take a break for at least 20 seconds and look at something at least 20 feet away.

When I take these short breaks, I would stand up from my chair and walk around. 

You can also take this time to stretch your arms and legs and shake your hands.

Use Screentime Management

Most phones these days come with built-in Screentime Management. You can find it in your phone's settings as Digital Balance.

With this, you can set a limit to your total

  • Daily screen time- when enabled you will see your remaining balance on your notification.

  • Daily limit for each app- this is a great way to monitor and limit your game time. Once the limit for a particular app is reached, it will be blocked. But you have an option to extend for 15 minutes.

  • Away time - you can set as many Away Time per day if you need a constant reminder to take a break.

    This will stop whatever you are doing on your phone and either turn the screen gray or block all applications except for call and text messaging app and those you chose to be exempted.

Discipline is a must!

This is the most important part. If you can't discipline yourself, if you can't control your use of the gadgets, you will soon feel the consequences. As the multiple academy award-winning actor Denzel Washington asked:

" Are you using the device or the device is using you?"

Thanks For Reading.

If you want to read more about preventing computer-related RSI, check out these links.


P.S.

If you have some ideas regarding this subject please share them in the comment below. Thanks.


Lead image is from Unsplash.com.

The rest of the images are mine

I STAND AGAINST PLAGIARISM!

11
$ 10.57
$ 9.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.55 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

I forgot from whom I have read that 20-20-20 rule. Maybe from Ellehcim but I am posirive that it was also from straykat on noise.cash. It hurts actually tho experience trigger fingers and carpal tunnel syndrome. Years ago when I was still into Facebook, I was always on my phone and using my left hand to scroll, scroll, scroll. Then later I have noticed a small lump on my side wrist. I didn't have it checked and thankfully it went away after not using my left hand for a week or so. That is when I started to also li-lo from scrolling on Facebook.

And just recently, I also experienced a strain on my eyes at the same time a low blood pressure in the morning then high blood come evening. I do not know yet if my BP results were due to over using my eyes so now what I do is to really take a break from looking at my screen. I had to decrease my screen time as well. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thankfully I don't have any symptoms like the ones you mentioned. But I started to have this weird mannerism on my right hand specifically on my point finger (pressing the mouse) I always feel like I want to tap the mouse button hardly whenever I touch one! and I don't get easily satisfied unless I am able to click it the way I wanted. really odd

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's something else. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe yes, we only learn to take care of our bodies when we experience the bad effects of using it too much. Much like what we're doing to our planet. I hope it's not too late before we save ourselves. Lol.

Well you know I have some all natural superfoods juice I mentioned before. It can help boost your immune system for real. Might help with your hand situation. :) Wouldn't hurt if you drank it because it's all natural juice anyway. But maybe you can just drink some herbal stuff you find in some people's garden too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a student, I've been doing ng heavy school tasks in front of laptop. Also, my forehead near my eyes, are always in pain. :( Haysttt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah this is true. My eyesight has suffered the most because of longer time on the PC (coming from my day job)

Thanks for writing about this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

very good tips.. i thought I had carpal tunnel before but thank God that went away. Also, when I was pregnant and even after giving birth, I had felt the carpal tunnel syndrome but it went away as well after a few months, probably caused by the pregnancy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been working from home in front of a computer for a long time now and I am feeling the strain. I am trying the 20-20 thing but I can only do that at least once because my work requires me to continue working else I cannot finish my task in time. So only after work can I relax but there is always something that needs to be done lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah... Sometimes our work forces us to do that. But, I think a couple of 20-second breaks every hour won't affect your productivity... It might even help improve your productivity...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God for the tips. I ensure I use my phone's eye comfort shield. But we have no choice than to use our phones.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True. For the past two months, its my main source of income.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka po. Nakakasama po talaga ang sobrang pag gagamit ng mga mobile devices at computers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that's true based on my own experience, hence I try to limit my screen time too, although it's quite difficult but must be done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heheh. Yun bang sinasabi... Isa na lang talaga! Last 15 minutes! Hehe hang umabot ng 15 hours kalalaro. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha need ng disiplina🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago