How Can A Beginner Be Successful In Fiverr?

16 162
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

June 6

"How Can A Beginner Be Successful In Fiverr?" This is the question that I have been asking myself for quite some time. Fiverr is a huge marketplace for various types of freelancers. From data entry, graphics design, video editing, and even programming. However, a marketplace as huge as Fiverr also has a huge number of sellers competing with each other. A lot of them have established themselves already for years. The question is, how can a beginner be successful on Fiverr?

Created using Canva

Greetings once again my readcash family. It's already the middle of 2022. How are you about your goals this year? Me? I'm still struggling. However, I can say, I am getting there... a little slower than I hoped for.

I have been looking at Fiverr to earn extra cash in Fiat. In this platform, I can offer my various services in graphics design.

Read: Time To List Down What Else I can Offer Online


What is Fiverr?

Fiverr is an online marketplace where freelancers can offer their skills to potential clients. There are several categories where freelancers can offer their services or known as 'gigs'. But the categories that I am most interested in are:

  • graphics design

  • writing and translation

  • programming and tech.

For now, though, I want to focus on graphics design.

Screenshot of Fiverr page

Looking Back

This is not my first time offering my gigs on Fiverr. Ten years ago, I already joined this platform and got a couple of clients. However, for some technical reasons, I stopped. In 2017, I created a new account. However, the competition is stiff. Some would offer multiple jobs in one package for only $5. A job that I thought could not be done within a day. Since I had a full-time job back then, I thought it was no longer worth it.

Note: In Fiverr freelancers are known as sellers, the clients are known as buyers, and the services offered are called gigs.

Extras and Multiples.

In recent years, Fiverr now allows the sellers to offer extras to upsell their gigs. Like, if the buyers would like to have the editable file, the seller can offer it for an extra $10.

In the same way, the seller can offer related gigs in one package for extra pay.

How Can A Beginner Be Successful In Fiverr?

Disclaimer.

Before I continue, the following information is purely based on my understanding of how the Fiverr system works. I cannot guarantee that following the guide below will make you successful on Fiverr. In the end, it will be up to you and how diligent you are on this platform. In one of the discussions on the Fiverr forum, a beginner can lat his/her first sale in a matter of weeks or months. Also, I will be focusing on gigs related to graphics design.

In my study, I came up with the following steps.

  1. Know your market

  2. Learn the best practices and current trends.

  3. Develop your skills

  4. Study the competition

  5. Learn how to land your first sale

1. Know Your Market

Almost in any type of business, this is the very first thing that an entrepreneur has to consider. Know your market. Since this is offered thru the Internet, you are not limited by geographical boundaries. You are offering your services to clients across the Globe. However, you can also offer your gigs to your friends on your social media. I believe this is where your should start.

Also, by knowing your market, you will determine which gig should you offer to begin with

2. Learn the Best Practices and Current Trends.

For instance, I want to offer 'Logo Designing' and 'Business Card' designing. I did a little research on these two and I was amazed by the new concepts and practices in designing these.

3. Develop Your Skills.

After knowing the market and knowing which gig to offer, you need to develop your skills related to the gig you have in mind. You need to excel in your work if you want to get the attention of your clients.

Related Post: Why Do You Need To Sharpen Your Skills.

4. Study (and analyze the competition).

Oftentimes, you can learn from your competitors. What gigs they offer, how they package their gigs, their timetable, and other information. You may copy their concept at first, but you need to stand out later. What can you offer that your competitors cannot?

5. Learn How To Land Your First Sale.

Last but not least. Learn how to land your first sale. There are several ways to do this. But the seasoned members suggest that you find buyers who are offering jobs related to your gigs.

But of course, the best way to do this is to DYOR (Do Your Own Research).

In Closing

Fiverr is a huge marketplace for freelancers. However,r the competition is high also. Again, I encourage you to do your research. Some jobs are in demand with few sellers offering. You might find one or two that fit your skill set.

Also Coingigs, maybe a good platform where your can mirror your gigs and earn Bitcoin Cash instead of Fiat.

It may take time before a beginner can land his/her first job at Fiverr. The important thing is to start.

Whatever your plan is, take action right away, and may you live an abundant life.

Thanks for reading.


If you are interested in joining Fiverr, I will appreciate it if you use my referal link:

http://www.fiverr.com/s2/5a931167a9


Reference(s):


19
$ 5.66
$ 5.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
$ 0.05 from @SuperJulalaine
+ 5
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
1 year ago

Comments

Dear friend, I am interested in all this information, I would like to know more. I am going to investigate on my own and then I will tell you how it went.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Jlo, you have lots of knowledge about freelancing and having no fulltime job this month didn't victimize or stop you from learning and earning. That is the Spirit! We will check this too.

Coingigs, this is my first time hearing it. Another BCH Project?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't earned from Fiverr since I started (so painful). I guess it's because I haven't been consistent though. I will go back there and this time around, I know I will get good clients because I am not giving up until I get one.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Have you considered "seeking" out the clients? I'm doing some research regarding that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't done that! How do I go about it?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

De verdad lo felicito y espero que tenga mucho exito en Fiverr, no es facil encontrar clientes, pero una vez que se consigue hay que mantenerlo. le deseo mucha suerte

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish you success in that freelancing site. Yes, there are a lot of competitors but once you found a good client and they liked your service, they will surely come back for more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's like in other online sites which offers services, super hirap makipag compete.. madami kasi nag offer ng kanilang services na very low price...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Have heard about fiverr but was skeptic, sorry to sound funny, but who is paying people ? And are they any country restriction ?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have already earned from fiverr already when it was just starting. There will always be people or businesses that are looking for freelancers and this this one of the platforms they go to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oww nice may ganyan pala, but I leave it to digital artist like you hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

meron namang ibang categories like, digital marketing, data entry, etc..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tska mapag aaralan mo na lahat ngayon from youtube, dun din lang ako nag eenhance ng new skill ko or from other sites and channels -Skillshare/Shaw Academy etc...

Then offer that new skill as freelancing, don't limit yourself, the net does that to us and a big help.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I currently have a gig on Fiverr but up until now, I do not have clients. Maybe I have to wait more and also learn more about markeing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since fiverr is a freelancing job, do they require a degree level of education before we can start or create an account there?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

nope. Your skills matters most. But if you want to add credibility, they are offering courses related to different categories. Once you complete a course, you earn a badge.

$ 0.00
1 year ago