Are You Following The Crowd Blindly?

24 67
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

When I first joined noise.cash, I was intrigued by the Twitter-like content. And what's more intriguing is people are earning tips from those content.

I was excited. So I did what most members are doing. Greeting 'Good morning', 'Good Afternoon, 'Good Night'. Joining the  'comment/like/renoise contests'. Posting quotes... Though I always accompany my quotes with an image that I made. It was too easy earning a few dollars in a day.

I followed the crowd. I even made a post in read.cash about it.

"Why Tweet When You Can Make Noise?"

But then, I realized my mistake. I was following the wrong crowd. But it was too late. My first account was already tagged as a spammer.


Hi, I'm John and this is another edition of my Sunday Reflection Series.

For this Sunday, July 25, I will share with you my reflection on a verse from the letter of St. Paul to the Romans.

"Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. "

Romans 12:2a NIV
https://romans.bible/romans-12-2

Note that, this post is my personal understanding and reflection on this verse.  I do not intend to preach, but simply to share.


I suppose this clipart from In My World blog, says a lot.

Source: https://inmyworld-pam.blogspot.com/2015/05/challenge-follower.html?m=1

How many times, have we followed the wrong crowd?

In this era of social media, it's very easy to get lost in the online crowd.  How many times, have we forwarded or reposted a news article or piece of information simply because it was posted by a friend?

These days it's easy to accept a new thought or line of thinking, then question it because everyone else has accepted already.

We rather follow the new trend than stand firm on what believe.

"Hey, many of us believe this, so we must be right!"

We conform to what the majority believes in.  Well, it's easier to conform than be left out.

When conflict arises, it's easier to stand with the crowd, than to learn first what is right and what is wrong.

Marathon Lead Runners That Took A Wrong.

Have you heard this story of a Marathon in that the lead runners lost the race because they took a wrong turn?

I thought at first this was just a story. But when I was searching for a reference for this story, I realized that it was a true story.

In 2017, the lead runners followed the motorcycle guide who made a wrong turn.

But a local runner, who probably knew the route, did not follow the lead runners and continued to take the path he knew was right, and won the race.

Read the story here: https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/oct/23/unknown-local-wins-venice-marathon-after-favourites-take-wrong-turn

Do Not Conform

The lesson is, don't follow the crowd blindly. You have to know what is right from wrong.

Don't do it because your friends are doing it. Many young people get into vices and addiction because they want to be "in" with their friends. They do what their friends do because they want to be "cool" like their friends.

In other words, we conform.

And when someone tries to correct us, we argue and insist that "My friends are doing it, why shouldn't I? "

Everybody is enjoying playing ML for hours, why shouldn't I?

Guilty

I confess I'm guilty of this conformity too. I had my share of indulging in various short-lived pleasure, and conformity both in the past and the present.

Renew Your Mind

What does it take to renew one's mind?

First, you need to acknowledge what needs to be changed. I identify the beliefs that you have that you need to change.

image source: Unsplash.

In my younger years, I used to drink a lot. I drink every night. I noticed that the more often I drink, the longer I got drunk.

I was living in a boarding house in Cebu. We were all boys in that boarding house. And we. Would drink every night...

When I realized my alcohol tolerance is so high, I decided to quit. It wasn't easy.
I was looking for a drink every night.

I created a strategy. It was a long process but after a few months, I was sober...

Until now, I rarely drink.

If I was able to achieve that, I know I can change the other 'bad' traits that I have.  Like just now, I deleted the mobile game that got me hooked this week. I wasted so much time on that game.

Final Thoughts.

To help me decide which characteristics that I need to change, here are some questions that I would ask myself.

  • Is it healthy?

  • Am I earning money the honest way? Or I'm cheating my way to earn?

  • Am I doing this just feel good? Or I'm doing this not just for me but for the others as well?

Once decided, make a plan. Then the most important thing is, TAKE ACTION!

Happy Sunday and Thanks for reading.


Lead Image: created using Image on Text App



13
$ 9.82
$ 9.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 6
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Ako minsan I do follow the crowd na dumadating sa point na nagsasawa din ako. Pero sa sharing of news hindi. Mas gusto ko pa magshare ng hugot quotes and jokes. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah this is nicely written! Thank you! To be honest I just post on Noise cash to ease some boredom especially during the day. No expectations. Tapos dito sa Read cash naman pag nagkakaroon ng inspiration sa mahaba-habang content. Tsaka nakakamiss magsulat. Kaya tinatry ko ring maging active paunti-unti hehe. Minsan nakakakita ng mga interesting na articles gaya nito. Kaya salamat!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Why were you in Cebu that time? Am glad that you were able to take the too much drinking out of your habits

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I thought I have replied to this already... I studied at USC and had my first job in Cebu. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh i see... so makamao ka magbisaya sir?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Following the crowd doesn't mean you are following the right path, naranasan ko na ito eh, tulad sa ngayon, people might think na I am a boring person, na isa akong pick me girl kasi I do not play games, online games, tapos sasabihin na pasikat, nakaka-offend sa totoo lang, pero it will just stress me out finding a way to fit in with them, kaya I never follow them, basta dun ako sa comfortable ako tapos walang natatapakang sino man.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi I'm new to this community and this is the first full article I've read. I think I love this place already. The part apart the deleting the videogame got me. I have exams in a month and I have been spending quite a large amount of time on social media. Time that should have been invested in reading. Daily I keep on saying I'll spend less time and daily I spend more time. I love your interpretation of the Bible verse. I'm taking a step to renewing my mind and improving my grades tonight. Thank you.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Welcome to read.cash, Thorie. And I'm grateful to know that this is the first full article that you have read. I will check out your posts later. I hope you will enjoy your time here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never follow the crowd ever since the world begun 🤣. I never been in. I always flaunt the fake me 😅. In noisecash, I always show the real way of my posting. Actually, when were still blue and TSu. Never ako nagpost Ng droplet, langaw or anything. Hinde ako yun eh. Kung ano lang tlga ung interest ko.

Even on politics .. I never believe right away on socmed mainstream media. I listen to the right people too. I search .

In clothing.. I never been in since I was a kid. kayA never ako navictim Na may makakasalubong or makikitang identical twin na damit 😂. I always wear my own style.

Sa drama Ata naki in 😂. Pero like you kuya, narealize ko na Hinde Tama.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ganda kayang kunan ng pic ang droplets. Ang langaw din, hirap kaya nun. Lol. Yeah, sa tsu, nakakamiss ding mag tsumbie Hunt!. 😅🤣🤣. Kaya lang walang saysay. Di tulad dito at sa Noise, me ginagawa laban sa mga... Walkers ( hiramin ko muna ang term sa TWD). Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda tlga droplet pic.. cge na nga pati langaw 😂😂. Pero di ko kasi genre 🙈😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alam ko. Sunrise and gusto mo. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naman Naman Naman 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's wrong to go blindly with crowed but we go . Like you said when noise cash start you are doing posting like good morning, good evening etc but you think and you chnage the plan . I think first you followed the crowd and then you choose the right way Like you many people are on the right way by doing the same

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah. Because everybody else is doing it, it doesn't mean it's ok.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed we always follow the hype, what's new, what's trending. Sometimes it's good but it really depends on a lot of factors. I haven't watched TV for more than a decade so I'm definitely not following the crowd. There's no escape online though. Lol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

On the other hand, there are cases we need to see what's trending online... Not simply because we don't want to be left behind, but how to earn from the trend... Like sa line ng work mo. 😁😁😁😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes indeed. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tend to follow me and if there is a crowd I do the opposite instinctively haha. It is all too easy to do things wrong just because everyone else does it. I like to think I am not that like that.

As for getting addicted to games, that happens and you are right, it is such a time waster, I used to play a golf game and it was a time killer, now I spend that time on noise and read. More profitable and more enjoyable too!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Especially these days, you join a crowd, the chances are higher that you will get covid. 😁 My mind is still wrestling if I should reinstall that game or not. 😆😆😆😆

Jumping to you profile after I responded to the last two comments.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is wrong to follow the crowd blindly, we need to proof everything right or wrong before deciding on the step we would take. Thank you

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is true... We need to check the facts first before following the crowd.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have realised something important: that others are doing something,is never a sufficient reason for you to do it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago