Hypocalcemia; how I overcame it

16 31
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Hello good day to y'all, my darling friends, the weather today seems quite ok, there's no much sun and there's no rain as well, it looks beautiful. For some weeks now, I've been battling with sickness and it has been bad, though I still get to write here sometimes in pain but I just have to pretend like nothing is happening and go on with my online activities, well I feel better now, I can't say I'm totally fine but I feel quite ok and I will be sharing with you all the nature of my sickness and how I maintained it.

Image source

Hypocalcemia

This is caused by the deficiency of calcium in the blood. According to what we might have learnt in school, calcium is the substance that is found in plants and animals and that is important for strong and healthy bones. So deficiency in calcium means lack of strong bones in the body.

How it started with me

Some weeks ago, I started noticing that I was feeling very weak, it looks like fatigue to me, I tried doing some exercise maybe it's gonna help me but no, it only got worse, I started loosing my appetite and I get tried easily anytime I get involve in somethings. So my mum being a nurse, I complained to her and she said that I shouldn't worry about it, that I should make sure I eat well, so she got me malaria drugs thinking it was malaria in which I took and I felt a little bit better, I guess I was truly having malaria then. Then just about some days later, I started feeling a sharp pain in my chest bone so I complained to her again, she did some minor checkup on me and so she discover that it was a weak bone symptom that I have and that made her resolved that I have calcium deficiency.

Causes of hypocalcemia

According to the definition above, the most common cause of this health condition is;

  • Deficiency of calcium in the blood

While other causes might include;

  • Not getting enough exercise daily

  • Not taking enough food rich in calcium

  • Being underweight

  • Taking of some medication which decreases the hormone levels in the body.

What I did to overcome it

I did series of things right from taking of medications to changing my diet and doing enough exercises.

The medications I took

Calcitonin and vitamin D was prescribed for me. Calcitonin is a drug that is rich in calcium and therefore strengthens the health of the bones and teeth.

Calcitonin picture taking by me

Vitamin D medications helps in increasing the level of vitamin D in the body and also helps in absorbing the calcium well into the body.

You can get Vitamin D into the body by either taking the oral medications or by exposing yourself into the sunlight for some minutes everyday. I did these both practices and it really helped me.

I didn't capture the image of the vitamin D I took because there several types of vitamin D so it won't looks as though one is better than the other.

Changing my diet

Changing of diet is also a very good way to build up the calcium level in the blood. Consumption of foods rich in calcium is very important. Below are some of the foods I started eating which are rich in calcium;

  • Salmon

  • Broccoli

  • Milk

  • Cheese

  • Yoghurt

  • Sardines

  • Fish and bones

  • Beans

  • Other legumes

  • Eggs etcetera.

Image source

My exercise routine

Making sure I get enough exercise everyday is also one of the things that helped me. Not all exercise are good for the bones but some of the exercises that are good for the bones include;

  • Walking

  • Dancing

  • Lifting weights

  • Running

  • Jugging

And some other weight lifting exercise.


The bottom line is; Never tamper with your health, take alot of healthy meals, add exercise to your daily routine, do not take any medication without your doctor's prescription, take in enough fluids everyday, be happy and live your best life.


All rights reserved. Honey_bch. Copyright 2022

Hello friends, thanks for stopping by🙌

I will see you in my next post and in yours by God's grace.

I love you❤️

8
$ 0.75
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 4
Sponsors of Honey_bch
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Honey_bch
1 year ago

Comments

Seeing the name rang a lot of memories, I still remember the day, our lecturer talked about it, causes and medication... I was about advicing you to take calcitonin containing tabs and even eat food rich in calcium like seafoods such as oysters, shrimps and others.. Don't worry you will be fine

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwn.. that's good, thank you so much. Are you by any means a medical student?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear.. I am a cardiologist

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, that's great

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I saw the name hypocalcemia, my brain immediately tells me that it has something to do with calcium and it turns out I am right. Some people actually have this condition right from birth but yours just occurred recently so that's why it wasn't so difficult to overcome, just the right amount of calcium in your diet taken for a period of time will remedy it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah you are right man!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. I would think calcium is one of the money most common minerals and being deficient in it should be very rare. Anyway, it is good to hear that you've overcome it, happy to hear that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, I'm glad I've overcame it as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all should do pray to overcome from bad moment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes o, I think I even forgot to add prayers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This might help someone who is suffering like this. Do glad that you overcome it. Stay healthy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It sure will help other people.. thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You gave me lots of information there. I am not underweight but overweight actually, can I lose calcium in my blood too?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes being overweight does not mean you can't lose calcium as long as you are feeling the symptoms, you might need to see a doctor.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Calcium is very important to the body for it is needed in many activities going down inside our body. I'm glad you're Hale and hearty now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
1 year ago