Under Pressure to deliver

15 74
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

News of the ongoing strike by lecturers in universities across the country coming to an end was spreading yesterday and I’m yet to validate this but it got me worried. My project has been left untouched since I got home, I don’t even know where my drawing is. This got me worried. If truly the strike is over, then I’ll have to do everything within one week or two at most. I know I can do it but I feel I’m just giving myself unnecessary pressure with my nonchalant attitude.

However, based on experience, I think I perform better under pressure when the stakes are high and it looks impossible. I’m feeling like some superheroes. This got me thinking of a programme I attended some time back. We were taught how to write a CV and I can remember how everyone kept writing “I work well under pressure” as one of their best traits. We all think so until we land the job.

How do you perform under pressure?

It's that question that recruiters or HRs love asking when hiring people for any job, but for some people, the question is much more than a mere statement.

These are the people who are not only able to perform under pressure but excel at it.

Recently my little cousin and his friend came home from school with an assignment to create a short video to enter in a contest. My Sis-in-law decided to help them with it while I watch the drama. This assignment was due the next day.

Without giving it much thought she jumped on board the project and started shooting away. I couldn’t help but watch in awe. I think mother instinct was at play there. What am I trying to say? One of the things that determine how well one performs under pressure is the Love one has for the project or person involved.

I love pressure – it helps me to focus better, be more creative and work smarter, faster and more effectively. Working under pressure can be tough but to some people, it isn't. They perform better when put under pressure to deliver before a specific deadline. These are the people who are not only able to perform under pressure but excel at it. They achieve great results; they work fast, they're dedicated and they succeed in completing their set objectives. Some of these people like myself have been lucky enough not to have ever faced real stress – we're so comfortable with our lives that we don't feel pressured. But that doesn’t make procrastination a good thing.

The term pressure is used in different contexts in life. In a marriage, pressure can be used as a way to make things right in a relationship. If a husband or wife is unhappy with something the other one does, they can bring it up and talk about it but if the person doesn't change then they have some pressure, or stress, on them to make the necessary changes. If they are working on a big project and haven't reached their deadline yet, they may be working late or staying at work longer until they have done what they need to do.

Whether we like it or not, people are always going to put some kind of pressure on us to do something and meet their expectations towards us. Not meeting their expectations can lead to bigger negative situations for both parties involved.

 

The major reason why most people work under pressure is for the money. However, other reasons motivate a person to work under pressure. As a Cost engineer, I have always worked under pressure. This is because I do my job very well and I take pride in what I do. There are times when there are tight deadlines for one to deliver. This would give rise to a lot of pressure at work because if you fail to deliver on time then the company will be forced to fine you for it. This can be stressful but if you know how to manage your time well and prioritize what needs to be done first then it would be less stressful and more manageable.

 

Thanks for Reading! 🤦💚🥲

I didn’t know what to write today and I was under pressure to write something. So I did! 😀

27
$ 5.76
$ 4.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.06 from @Captainkay
+ 23
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

i dont really know myself when it comes to this aspect. i can do at some point and i might not at some point.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's looks like we're on the same boat 😆 anytime I hear ASUU and FG are having a meeting, I usually panic because I know if they suddenly call off the strike, I am doomed. I have an over 90 pages report to write and right now I have written only 5 pages 😂 I just can't find the motivation to continue, but the funny thing is I will be able to finish it within a week if school resumes, so yes, I perform better under pressure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all really are made with different materials ain’t we ? For example I hate pressure it makes me anxious I work better when there is less pressure but what can I say maybe that’s the beauty of life different people different lifestyle.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really do not think I can work well under pressure. Once I'm under pressure, I leave everything I'm doing till I feel like I'm calm or else, I'll do rubbish. Pressure gives you a time frame to finish a particular work. But I still believe that there are some people that can work very well under pressure. And there are some people that if they are not pressurized, they can't work 😂. Would you believe that?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do. I've heard and see people like that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still believe without any doubt that I work better under pressure, although much delay might mean that I may not finish the course work with the little time given. I'm just looking at this ASUU people from afar. They should better be careful not to end this strike without prior notice 😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm project 😂😂😂, the last time I touched it was when I was in school and I really want to start but my drawings are in the hostel, I will definitely have to sacrifice a lot of hours to cover up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least you know where yours are🤣. If can just cancel this project of a thing it will be good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many times, it is our procrastination that leads to bring pressured to do things before the deadline. Though it works for some while others wouldn't give the best. For me, though I wouldn't oppose the fact that there are some days when i feel pressured to perform a task, I might come out with the best result but at some other times, I will fail woefully not getting more needed information for it.

So, I'd prefer doing things before the deadline so I can have time to concentrate and work the best out.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

All I can think of is how I can relate to this, I work so efficiently under pressure. Although I might be a bit cranky. There was a time I started reading all of my course materials two days to the exam, I was surprised as how we'll I assimilated it considering how many times I've failed to get anywhere with the materials

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I also heard that Asuu were to resume yesterday, but it was later reported to be false. Pressure brings out the best in us, it brings out the inherent capability in us. I could remember last semester, how we were given extra course materials 2 days to our exams. We read under pressure and pass.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pressure does bring out more in us sometimes, like when superman starts discovering his powers while doing something he hasn't tried before. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yeah as I have seen many CVs they mentioned their attributes as we performed well under pressure. I am happy to see you are engineer. I hope you can do either you are given one week or two for preparation just focus on basic things in your project. I wish you best of all luck brother.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That news has been confirmed to be false. Take your time bro, release the pressure.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is great. It's like music to my ears

$ 0.00
1 year ago