Today's Vogue is Tomorrow's Cliche

25 110
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Have you ever wanted something so badly but all effort to get it proves abortive?. You might be lucky to later gather the money and resources but when you get it, it's no longer as big as it used to be to you. Take a look around you. There are shreds of evidence of how things change so quickly.

Years back, it was my dream to get a BlackBerry phone. Though I was still in high school with no job or source of income, I still desired to own one. I was secretly using a phone back then, though my parents got to know about it later and of course, questioned me. But they believe my story of a friend handing it over to me. They will be alarmed if they knew I bought the phone.

It isn't the fact that I spent money on something they believed I don't need but the state the phone was in. The phone has more rubber bands around it than Screws. The time it takes to charge was longer than the period it stays on. So you can understand the reason why getting a BlackBerry was paramount to me. I looked forward to the day I will leave high school and work a little before going to the University. All the money I earn will be used to get my dream phone.

Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty

But my dream changed when I saw what Android phones could do. Getting a BlackBerry at that period will be backward thinking. So a new desire resurfaced. Playing temple run, PES, Angry bed on my friend's Android phone back then was pure bliss and then came iPhones. I looked forward to the day I will get mine and play those games without ever getting tired. But here I am today with no single game on my phone. lol

You don't have now?

There is always one thing we desire that we don't have. Maybe Bezos, musk, our very own Marc all have the money to get what they want anytime they wish to. But the fact remains that there are some things they wanted in time past that didn't get.

You feel sad and angry. Why is everyone having what they desire but yours is different?. The latest Versace bag your saw on Instagram attracted you, though you have the money for the bag, but bigger responsibilities lie ahead so you denied yourself the pleasure of getting it. But every time you see someone with it you wish you were in their shoes.

Let's move away from material things and look at issues like work, marriage, children, status etc. You might have friends that have it all. It seems everything is working out well for them. I had everything ready while just the simplest thing looks like a mountain to you. You feel back for being envious of them. But you can't just help not comparing their lives with yours. You're frustrated and devastated and close to breaking at any point.

Not having today doesn't mean you won't have Tomorrow

As I explained earlier with my desire to get a phone back then. It kept on changing because Value for most materials doesn't last forever. The phone you are using presently was once new and popular in the market but today it isn't the same as it used to be.

Don't put too much pressure on yourself. Tomorrow will be better than today.

Today's vogue...

Everything in this world is vanity. What is in vogue today might be of no use tomorrow. Why not relax and work with your own time. Be grateful for the little you have. So many people will do anything to be in your shoes.

There was a time when Beetles (car) was the talk of the town. Only the rich own it, but today if you go about with a beetle, people will laugh at you. Whenever you want something but can't get it due to financial constraints, take it with Good faith and know that nothing lasts forever. Your situation will change soon and you will be able to afford even far better things than that. All you need to do is to work hard and hope for the best. Someday today's situation will be a motivational story to many.

Thanks for reading!🤗🤗🤗

Lead image source

27
$ 13.57
$ 12.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.21 from @Pichi28
$ 0.20 from @ZehraSky
+ 17
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Great point to ponder. All of us wanted spme things in the past that we didn't get. But no, don't lose hope. Life is a series of unending wants. As you said. Vanity

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started with a Sagem, it couldn't even come on most of the time, had to use paper to fit the edges... It was my pride... today, iPhones are trending...the way life changes

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I totally get it................................... Life changes so fast, one minute you're a child the next you have bills to pay......... I mean things fade and nothing is permanent in this world, the best we can do is just be us and enjoy the moments

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Patience is everything we need in Life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

First of all, I love your lead image. Secondly, your piece is agreeable and I actually identify with it. Everything we see as trend or vogue today is only temporal. Being content with what we have now is actually a better way to enjoy life. Great writeup!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Life is not static neither the things therein. Some years ago, Fubu and fila were the designers in town, the took over the whole space. Look around now, you can barely have anything like fila or fubu. That's his life is generally.
You may be relevant today and tomorrow, no one see you. That's life for you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Concise and very easy to understand. Nice article!

I guess as we mature as well we realize that the designer watch you were wanting few years back because everyone wears it tells the same time as the old, unbranded one you have now.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly, we should really enjoy and be contented on what we have now while working to get our desire. But later on as we grow older, we can also realize that our desire for a thing will not last forever because we also know that it can be faded or broken. Maybe we are also persuade to desire it because it is "uso" or popular today but as time passes by we can said to our said " I don't need /want it anymore".

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I used to dream about that blackberry phone too. I was just so envious when I saw my classmates have that and so I end up, buying it. But after months, I got fed up with it and not wanting it anymore. Lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Most times when we see something we like but we cannot afford it, it is usually a sign that it is not yet right for us. That is why I think it is important to just keep on focusing on exerting efforts to reach what we want. And a lot of the times, when we could finally afford to buy that thing, we realize that the desire to have it is no longer as strong as when we first wanted it. This usually saves us from spending money on unnecessary things when we could buy something even better

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Seasons change likewise our urge, we may desire it now cuz of all its attributes but in a year to come it feels like nothing....we need to always value what we have now there will be a time where our priorities are less then we can afford that....this is powerful bro thank you

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Omo this is so relatable I remember I wanted on airjodan kicks so badly some months back . Now I have it and it’s just like meeeeh .. I barely wear it

$ 0.04
2 years ago

That's the reality of life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not very attached to material things, but I remember the craze for BlackBerries even though I never had one. The joy that material things give us is transitory. That's why I always prefer to spend more on experiences, those are left to us forever. But you are right we should enjoy what we have.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

"Why not relax and work with your own time. Be grateful for the little you have. "

trueeee, I am contented in a little things that I have now. i don't need bigger things, I just need my family

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly! Happiness and contentment is all we need. And with family , we have that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That blackberry phone. I also wished to have that before.. But when the touchscreen android phone came out. I forgot about it already and my interest changed to android phones 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for inspiring me too keep going and not think much of the things that aren't happening yet. Indeed, live today and make it better.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Our wants and needs change and everything fades. We should be thinking instead about our own well being and focus on that instead of material things that will not last for a long time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The only thing possible we need to do is to live our lives so well and also to work very hard. That thing we have desired so much shall be gotten if we work towards it.

Life is all about achievement and looking forward to have what you so much desired. So, you may not have what you want if you sit at a spot feeling so lazy .

Time is something that cannot make us progress if we waste it or let it go without making good use of it. Be vigilant and know what to do with your time.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That is why you have to use your time of relevance very well because time will soon come where you won't be relevant again, where are motorola, Sagem, Sony errisson even blackberry of olds in Nigeria market they are no more relevant

$ 0.04
2 years ago

True, everything is about time and season

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing last forever. And that should always be on our mind. There's one thing my brother do say " because I don't tend with the world,doesn't mean I don't know what's trending, I have only place my priorities right " . And that's true.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Wise words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also want blackberry phone before I thought it was very techy that time haha but with our current era the new models of mobile phones are released almost yearly, so indeed what is vogue today will not be the same tomorrow.

$ 0.04
2 years ago