To the children

25 87
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

In the past few days much has been said about the limitations of parents in the career choice of a child. Sir @Fexonice1 went further to drop a wonderful piece titled “Your children are not your retirement plan”. He talked extensively about the duties of the parents to a child and how they owe their children the duty of care.

Today I will be addressing the kids. All has been said about the responsibilities of the parents to the child but we need to talk about what is expected of the child too. There is this popular line lecturers love using “It isn’t compulsory but it is necessary”. Making your parents proud and happy should always be on your mind. There are different ways you can make them proud. Performing well in your academics, helping once in a while with the finances at home, obeying them and making them happy.

As Mr Felix said, parents shouldn’t see their children as an investment, something they can fall back on at their old age to avoid disappointment. We can say the modern-day parents have this at the back of their minds, most are saving up for their retirement and also taking necessary steps. But what can we say of parents that are either not educated or are the old school type? I mean no insult, I’m just trying to describe the different generations of parents we have. Moreover, we have some parents managing to survive each day, send their children to school with the little they have to school. You can't expect such parents to have a saving against days they can no longer work.

The best time you can take care of your parents is when you are single with little responsibilities. Yes, we all have the plan of renting an apartment of our own, buying a car or even buying land while we are still single, but making our parents happy should also be at the back of our minds. The sacrifices they made for us, the different times they slept on an empty stomach just for their children to eat shouldn’t go in vain. I’ve seen children doing so great neglect their parents. I’ve seen children live a luxurious life, spend on ladies, while their parents wallow in wants and hunger. This shouldn’t be. It isn’t too early to start giving to your parents. I’m not saying you should give all you’ve earned to take, but you can help a little with the finances. Your little brother in school that your parents struggle to send money o weekly, you can help with it.

In life, we all are running a different race, because you’re working at the same company with Mr John and he has 2 cars does not been you should compare yourself to him. Our responsibilities are different. Putting a smile on one’s parents’ face gives an incomparable joy. The prayer they shower on you whenever you do something that makes them happy goes directly into God’s ear and this will make him bless you more. There’s time for everything on earth, we youths tend to rush and take up things we don’t have the power yet. I know of a friend whose parents are not doing so well financially having two girlfriends. He spends on them lavishly while his parents struggle to survive each day. Ours shouldn’t be so. Take care of your parents now that you still have the time to. 

We are entering the festive period already. I’m charging us to look for a way to put a smile on our parent’s faces this December. Let it be at the top of our December wish list. Do this and see how they will pray for you fervently. May God bless us all.

Thanks for Reading! 👨‍🦯💚👩‍🦯

We are having another Power outage. Sorry if I haven’t visited your article. I’m currently typing with just 10% battery power all thanks to my uncle’s solar power. I’ll be back later in the day to do the needful. Thanks for your understanding.

Special thanks to @Pichi28 for the sponsorship renewal. Thanks, God bless you 🙏💚

30
$ 13.66
$ 12.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
+ 25
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

You have mentioned some vital points. Not all children also know how to give

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me encantó este artículo esta demasiado bueno. Los padres son los que nos llevan a grandes y hacen todo lo necesario para que estudiemos. Es justo que cuando tengamos ingresos los ayudemos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't read Sir Fexonice' article yet, but thus one is beautiful. Someone's gotta talk about the child's responsobility to the parents, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In some culture, it seems children don't care about their parents welfare after getting a job. But, I think it should be a moral obligation, perhaps not all and mighty in the financial aspect, but at least we still care for them as our parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Helping our parents is the best we can do, at the end of the day, they are the ones who sacrificed for us since we were little.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reminding us that we have a duty to our parents too. I just pray that God keeps us all alive so we can be what we want to be and do what we want to do.

Seems like were both having power outage, I hope it gets remedied soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents need to guide children to make sure they achieve their goals, children are meant to love their parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries buddy. Take your time. I think every child wants to see their parents happy and that's my wish too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parent did a lot for us, so we should also try to stay loving and caring with them, as they are becoming old they behave like a childern so at that time instead of tiredness we should give such attention and care to them as they did with us in our childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not really required but I still want to give back the things or love that they give to me. It's my choice and I want to do it, not because it's my responsibility but because I love them and that's the only things I know that I can do to them 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By any mean, I want my parents to be happy. I value it more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My material or spiritual bond with my parents is not a necessity, but consists of values that I have willingly made. They are very precious to me, I love them. In addition, receiving the blessing of our parents helps to start difficult life conditions ahead, if I can't receive my parents' prayers, how can I see the benefit of other prayers?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We children are not obliged to give back to our parents but it's our responsibility as children to help them financially and other things at home. They sacrifice themselves that's why they deserve to receive proper treatment. Currently my sister gives us food and education but she told us that once we finished studying she gonna go back to province and live there, she wants to live in peaceful life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right, parents shouldn't use their kids as an investment. But as for me, as long as I'm still single, I will always prioritize my mom. And spoil her with everything she wants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes this true our parents should be our top priority when we are yet to start our own family and when we finally start ours they should be next to our immediate family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, we should make our parents be proud of us, of the things we do. We owe a lot to them. I mean how can a son/daughter disregard all the sufferings their parents do just for them to have a wonderful and stable life? This is way too selfish. I believe we should give back to our parents. We deserve all the good things in life. 💙💙💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have carefully drawn a beautiful sense of responsibility to children. Often at times, we are more focused on ourselves, forgetting that we are all seeds of a particular flower. Hence, these flowers need to be tended to in order to blossom too.

Sadly, we are in a country where young men would rather do clubs over family matters. This is a dogma that needs to be changed. No one is against having fun or taking a break to rid yourself of the stressful life. Although, while at it, you should remember that your family is also undergoing the same dilemma.

Thank you so much for calling our attention to this. And trying to proffer solutions to it in your own way. I'm glad I tasted this delicious meal you cooked. I hope the power supply in your area is being worked on for improvement. Do have a wonderful day ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said ,yes we must help our parents when we get a work , or even when you have on family now, give us what you can ,even small things they will be happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents have sacrificed a lot for their children, and it will make them happy to see their child given back to them without being forced. Parents should be our #1 priority when we become independent!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nicely written. The fact that the parents shouldn't expecting anything from us the kids doesn't mean we shouldn't feel responsible for them at some point in time. All we can do is try cos as long as we live and they live, we can never pay our parents back.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am inspired to write something I have been keeping for a while now and I would definitely be publishing this tomorrow by God's grace. We need to seek for parent's blessings and how do we attract that? By taking care of them now that they are alive. We shouldn't compare ourselves with others. Thank you dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said, bro. I have more reasons to be grateful to my parents. It is a payback, it's just taken up four responsibilities when you care for your parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami bukas walang kuryente whole day kaya try ko talaga clear all my notifications today. By the way, nice one dito. Ganda basahin, makaka reflect ka talaga lalo na sa pag aalaga sa parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true that the child– parent bond is the strongest. But it is also true that some children decides not to take care of their parents even when they have less responsibilities and they are doing okay

I still understand the part you're not more single, because you have new priorities, new job. New life to start over and their own family to nurture but still make out time to take care of them you can't be too busy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some really spend lavishly on their friends or partners, but thrifty to their families. I am sometimes thrifty to my siblings..but never to my parents. I really don't know how others can take seeing their parents suffering while they are enjoying. I guess they have less to no conscience ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago