Rug pulls: Let's do our part

26 115
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: SmartBCH

Recently, there’s been some loud rug pull that are silent to everyone. I don’t mean It as an oxymoron but that’s the perfect way of describing what happened in the last few days. I got to know about the first mid-way into the fair launch but knew straight away it was a scam scheme. I felt bad for those who lost their money but blamed them for falling for such a blatant stealing scheme.

This bad idea came to mind - “I know it’s a scam plan but why not just make quit bucks ?”. Though I later didn’t get the token due to some reasons but after sharing what transpired on noisecash, someone gave me a reply that led to re-evaluation and thinking. She accused me of being a perpetrator of scams and I shouldn’t be proud to say things like that out loud. It hit me hard and I was ashamed for even having the thought of indulging in such activities in this first place.

Sometimes, being silent in the face of evil is the same as saying “Yes, I approve of this wrong thing”. As I said earlier, I wasn’t aware of the first scam scheme on time, I got to know about it after so many people bought the token. With the current trend of naming a token as a reflection of a known one e.g BabyEben, BabyLaw and co.. ., I thought the token called “MoonGame” was just another of such. But after going through the chats on the group and also checking for any details that might be of help in knowing what the token was all about, I realized it was a scam. Within a few hours after checking for its validity, the dev pulled the rug. I felt bad for the victims

The following day, I saw yet another group invites and I decided to join. Also, I went to the dexsceener, checked for new token pairs but saw none, “Maybe this is just the planning stage, in a few days it will launch”. I went back to the group and saw @PVMihalache 's questioning the dev. Apparently, the name of the token was stolen and the dev was impersonating the original one which is on other smart chains. He called the token OHM (Olympus token) and also, used the name “Zeus” after the original token. He kept on evading the questions and at some point started adding “lol” to each sentence he types. It felt weird and it was declared by PVM that it’s a scam.

The fake “Zeus” announced that a fair launch will start in 30 minutes. we all requested for the use case, whitepaper, site or CA but he refused to drop any. He continued with his “lol” prefix and I decided to leave the group but the temptation came in. I also, discovered that others in the group also know that it is a scam but greed and desire to make a quick buck won’t let everyone leave. “Okay, let’s play this game,” I said to myself.

I plan on buying the token immediately after launch and selling immediately my investment doubles. (note, this is something I’m not proud of) . He launched the token and the race began. After a few minutes, he swapped $200 and someone in the group was able to detect that and he started mocking everyone. Saying “You all know nothing about defi lol”. He added the $200 back and the race continued. I got a call that disrupted my network and that was the end for me. I left and went about other activities.

I came back online and got the news that he pulled the rug badly, but the victims have no one to blame other than themselves after all the warning signs were there and the actions of “Zeus” showed it was an obvious scam but the quest to make money made everyone go into it. It was later discovered that the same person (Dave) that created “MoonGame” was behind “OHM” too.

The long and short of the story is that knowing projects like this as scams but still indulging in them is bad for SmartBCH and only tarnishes the image of the community. We all need to do our part by reporting impersonators like that, warning people on the group and if they don’t listen-leave them. But getting involved in it can be likened to being a scammer too. I feel bad for even having the thought of joining, despite knowing it’s a scam. Hopefully, bad eggs like Dave alias Zeus will be fished out soon and the community will be washed clean.

Sometimes silence means agreement!.

Thanks for Reading!💚💚💚

Happy New year in advance🤗

Special thanks to @CoquiCoin , @elyz and @heartbeat1515 for the sponsorship renewal. Sorry it's coming late

32
$ 16.89
$ 14.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 25
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Topics: SmartBCH

Comments

Whatever happens, experience will give us new knowledge to start work more thoroughly. Don't give up looking for other experiences.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do not really know much about tokens. But I am just awed at the fact that scams are in all areas of life now. Wow!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fear of losing everything has held me back. I try but it is a lot of negative experiences. Maybe in 2022 it will drive me a little more and try it with some tokens

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should be very careful and smart this day, coz those scammers are increasing every day finding one way or the other to make people fall into their trap. Thanks to the information boss.

Complement of the season🎆🎇 to you from SportBoy😎

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't encounter those tokenn, good thing I didn't. A lot of scam token was circulating here I can see it in the dexscreen. But I avoid some of them but there's still some that I can't stop the temptation. Good thing I only invest a small amount so I'm still okay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Has soon as someone detects something not good that means we should try to inform other people so that they won't fall victims

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They say if you can't beat them join them. Haha that what many people use to indulge in something that it is wrong Bad element like Zeus need to be removed from the community not to make people loose interest and believe in developing projects.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why they say; "no answer is still an answer", which means keeping quiet is an answer on its own, it shows we approve of what's happening.

This article relates with what I did last year, I was involved in a lot of ponzi schemes and I usually know they are scam, so what I usually do is to get in fast, cash out once or twice and quickly get out before it crashes, but at one point I asked myself; "aren't I encouraging these things? Coz someone will have to lose for me to gain, which inevitably means I am getting fat on other people's investment", then I knew I had to stop

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moongame token might be good but we have a biggest opportunity to trade BCH and marketing with them we can also earn them from noise cash or read cash and can sale for trade. Happy new year 🎉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though I didn't know about different tokens but thank you for telling me that scam tokens exist. I didn't know that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These Olympus and MoonGame were big scam that also caused a big loss to Daisy. I was lucky I didn't join and remained save from this big bullshit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just stick more with the established ones m.y dear very good friend and brother @happyboy ok cos most of them will surely not make that survival mark in the defi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must be careful too for these scam tokens, we shouldn't indulge in it so as to grow the sBCH community

Happy new year in advance happy boy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forget new token, I fear buying established ones as well lol.. just be careful with your hard earned BCH.. I know you are smart :) Happy new year Happy boy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm these serious I am just hearing and learning about these scam tokens , we really need to do our part to wash the community

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Scammers are they absolute worst, preying on the innocent as well as the greedy. I hope they'll get to pay for their doings. It's a good thing that you're connection saa disrupted, causing you not to fall victim.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like buying the new tokens nowadays, unless the dev is known.in this community.. Better safe than sorry..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also thought same as it is ...🤣 And then I said enough BS and left the group 🤦😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And then I said ... enough BS and left the group! 😆 🤣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You did well by telling everyone it's a scam scheme. I should have left too but I wanted to make quick bucks. Lesson learnt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I fear how this rug pulls might affect the credibility of SmartBCH but I believe that with time, people will learn to investigate well before investing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is one of my bad , I regret buying babylaw. Lesson learned.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't think baby law pulled the rug , it's a meme token and it is meant to dip once the hype is over.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know that he didn't pull the rug , but the project look somehow to me even before dip, but I mistakenly forget the token thats why I was affected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! I get... the early withdrawals are the winners.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago