Reality Check

26 72
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

I learnt the importance of networking the hard way. I thought going to school was just all about getting the best grade and every other thing will fall into place for you. Reality dawn on me when it was time to get a job. My result became useless and "who recommended you?" Was the question on every interviewer's lips. With disappointment, I moved with my file in hand from one office to another. It was like a dream to me, I thought having a good result was enough to get a good job and if it comes to defending the result - I could. My hopes went up when I was asked to write an exam at one of the interviews and I finished in record time. The interviewers said they've seen none like me and showered me with praises. I was happy and went ahead to get ties, shirts and trousers waiting for the day I'd be called. The call never came through.

I began to wonder if the tales I heard of Excellent students securing good jobs and scholarships was a farce or am I the unlucky one? I started hating myself and was closed to depression. I went for the option I've been ignoring for long, but by the time I did, it cost me a full year. A longer than usual 365 days. Lived with pain, annoyance and hatred towards everyone involved.

I got into the university and thought of ways history won't repeat itself. I don't want to go back into that hole again. No one would understand how I felt during that long year even if I explain to them over and over. I spoke with different people and I expressed how worried I am, the expectations people have for the intelligent ones in class, the stigma and the unspoken hope that they fail after school so they can be mocked and used as an example. Believe me, this is something most students have in mind. It's easy for the news of "1 out of 10" Distinction students that end up on the street begging to trend that the news of "9 out of 10" pass students ending up on the street. People prefer the former to the latter.

I decided that I won't let the noise affect me, or the expectations. This second chance given to me won't be wasted. I resolved to try my best to be the best version of myself but not fight to be the best. This might sound funny and confusing, but it's my decision. From speaking to people I got to know ways one can be assured of getting a job after school.

- Father's connection or position

If your dad has a company, then you are assured of getting a job. Jobs like that aren't based on merit, your result doesn't matter, you've qualified by birth just like the host nation of the world cup tournament. It's one of the easiest and most assured ways. One's Dad can also know someone working in a company you desire to work at, that is another way. The reason why a friend said to me one day "The friends you make now are the connections your children will need"

- Depend on luck

Some term this "God factor" or "merit". It's rare to see but it happens, maybe I wasn't just lucky. This is when a graduate with good result graduates and get a job instantly. So many companies fight to have him work for them and he is left to choose the best option. It doesn't necessarily have to be a Distinction student. They know no one but still get a job, hence the 3 different names people call them.

- People/friends you connect with

This is a powerful tool that works for both Distinction students and pass students. You are not just in school just for the certificate, Far from it, you need to start expanding your network right from school. The one everyone might look at as the most irrelevant in class might be the ladder to your success.

Try to have no foe and be on good terms with everyone. This doesn't mean you should start befriending every tom, dick and harry. No, be the type that can be Recommended for a job by any of your coursemates in case there's one. Right from school start building your network, attend workshops and seminars, have your CV designed and get ready to be rejected but be ready to try again.

-Don't expect any job

This is another way to go about it. Rather than sit waiting to get a job, find a way to create a Job. In Economics we are taught some people saw the problems facing society and propose a solution to them. In doing that they became known. We need to change the mentality that we are owed a job after graduating. It might be so in some other countries, but the situation of things in the country is known to everyone. You can be disappointed one you have no prior expectations.

Rather than wallow in self-pity and join the millions in complaining every day about the state of things in the country, why do you find ways to stand out? Find ways to be the solution to problems and not add to the list of problems. My brother George_dee is a typical example of a problem solver. Rather than sit and complain all day about how bad things are in the country, he got to work.

Conclusion

If you're still a student, you should start thinking of life after school right now. Are you going to add to the unending list of unemployed youths and underpaid workers or are you going to be the solution to some people's problem?

Though not in detail, the first two paragraphs is something that happened to me and a conversation on noisecash with Giddyboy reminded me of it, he asked me to share the story but I don't think I am ready to give full details yet. It's something I look back to and I feel sad, but it was an eye-opener to the crude reality of what the world is all about. Take your decision now!

Thanks for Reading!✍💚🤗

Special thanks to ma'am @JonicaBradley for the sponsorship renewal.

23
$ 14.31
$ 13.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
+ 17
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Siempre debemos de buscar la manera de tener a alguien que nos dé la cara por nosotros en momentos difíciles. Esta es la verdadera esencia del ser humano. Feliz día mi bello amigo saludos un fuerte abrazo y que tengas un buen día

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky are those people who have a backer that can help them get the job position that they want. But the sad part is that people who have good skills sometimes aren't accepted because they don't have someone they know working in that company, or a backer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree that It's really essential to build linkages from other people because you are not just building a relationship to them but also you are heading your way to more opportunities through them. Stay humble and be somebody who is likeabke. Nice blog entry @HappyBoy. 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your opening paragraph was enough for me to know where your article was heading to. I have been there and have first hand experience about the matter. When I left school I knew there was no one there for me so I chose to start a small business while at the same time looking for a job. After five years of fruitless Job search I gave up that hope and give full time to my small business. I am happy that I made that decision, it would have been hell for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not me thinking that after I graduated college I will be rich already. And yes, now reality hit me. It is indeed true that in some ways to get a job easily you really need to have a lot of connections.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 🤣 is just like when first finish my ND and went to look for work so that I can continue my HND guess what the interviewer told me hey lady this result is just like secondary school certificate ok I couldn't cry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someone said sometimes back that we should make friends instead of focusing on getting our certificate in school because in life, we need connections whether we like it or not.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have already started thinking about life after school since my second year in school and I thank God my course (fisheries) isn't the one that is majorly dependent on getting a job. Even getting a job isn't difficult in agriculture, as long as you have the skills you will not even need to look for a job, jobs will find you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the complete reality of life, I have never felt emotional like I did with this piece, seriously the system have changed... the slightest person or the least person in class can become the giant of today..

I'm always careful with the way I communicate with people and try to always create a balance... what is really life after all of this, I wrote recently that I've been worried... so many unanswered questions but I do believe that hardwork will single anyone out..

God bless you richly for introducing this platform to us, it really opened our understanding to the real world..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly o ,especially in this country if you don't have connect its a waste of time, thats why most people learn a skill, so that all our eggs won't be in one basket, the struggle out there is real. Nice one😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happyboy nailed it on this one just like in the cinematography world before you will work they will ask who have you worked with or for no one want to be risky of an unknown person or skilled into his business

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, just 1 more to 400 my friend! 🎊🎉🤯👌Congratulations!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂😂😂 I didn't notice it at 399. After reading your comment i checked and realized it's 400 already. Thanks 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahah. Congratulations!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm one of those unemployed person OMG. I don't know if I will ever have time lookinh for a job really

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo everything you just write about worries me a lot after I read Elvis’s article the other day it reminded me of how worried I am . After school what’s next ? Did I learn enough to secure a high paying job? Because sometimes we just read to past not even to understand. And then the pressure of being an A student Omo God dey sha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! They expect much and the worst thing is, they hope the worst happens to such person so they can say "na him top class o, see wetin he dey do today. Me wey no even sabi anything for class dey do well pass am"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo it’s so sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Studying is not the real battle in Life. Graduating and Finding a Job is the true battle in life. The most important in life is being resourceful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, everything you have mentioned is correct. I have two bosses for different skills. One of boss I met through my friend and he is my friend's elder brother.

You have to start building a connection right from when you meet anyone and when you guys get talking, tell the person about what you can do. Note: not all your friends are your friends and not all would refer you for a job they know you're good at.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I definitely don't see myself looking for a job. I am already thinking of what I am going to do when i get out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Best thing is to meet up with as much people as possible in a bid to create a circle of conection while still schooling; the god factor should be considered as well, put all things in God's hands and he will make things easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alot has changed over the years and it becomes advisable the ditch the mentality of going to school to have a job especially in Nigeria. Get something going on for you before you graduate and try making good connection with good people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though thinking of life after scholl as early as in student years sounds pressuring, it is right. It's also for our own good, to prepare ourselves in reality.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is why it's good to have a skill before you graduate from school. This happens to people like us that look up to God here in Nigeria. I pray everything is fine

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pray so too...

$ 0.00
2 years ago