Need & Want

17 67
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

There is a great difference between needs and want. You might want something but it isn't needed. You might need something but can't afford it. By knowing the difference you will be able to set goals and save money for those things that are truly needed rather than just wanted.

Currently, I’m deliberating on getting two different things. One will fetch in more money for me, but there’s an alternative which I can manage for now or go for something just for the sake of luxury. Though my decision has been made, I decided to put into writing what most of us know already. Right from Secondary school, we were taught what demand and wants are. So here goes nothing…

You need a place to live, you need a car to drive around in, you need food to eat. You want a new computer or tablet, you want a refrigerator with a built-in freezer or a 50" TV screen. You want that new game or the latest gadget.

This is how it starts... you see an ad for something that you are interested in. You start to think about "what if" and soon enough, you are hooked into the idea of getting it before anyone else does. You want that must-have item of the season.

Learn to be satisfied with what you have and always try to make do with what you have got before spending money on things that don't matter.

There is a great difference between needs and want. You might want something but it isn't needed. Here are a few examples: You might want the latest bag from Dior. You might want a lot of money but you don't need it. You might want to live in a big house but you don't need one. You might want to fly around the world on a private jet but you don't need to. I believe that we have too many things that we don't need if we consider the needs of others.

Types of needs - When we are talking about the need, it is not the same as a want. For me, there are 2 different types of needs:

1. The necessary things: Things like food, water, air, sleep, money, etc. 

2. the things that you really  (really) need.

In this 2nd category, I see things that:

1. will make our life better

2. make us feel better

3.  will make us think that our life is complete

4.  will give us happiness

5.  make us feel that our life has a sense

6.  increase our confidence

7.  And much more…

We are always hearing and reading about something that we need. But what do we need? And what is just want?

In essence, Needs are deeper, stronger and more specific. Needs are the things that are required to stay alive. All people need to feel that they belong somewhere, with someone. Social needs include friendship, belonging and love from others, caring and affection from others.

As a young adult, I was impatient with the process of growing up. In my eyes, everything was clear and it was only a matter of time before I could achieve my wants. While wants are important, need is less important. The need for love. The need for stability. The need for healing.

The needs are what we should focus on more than the wants. Wants come in a box and needs require an effort to meet them. I can see how the process of growing up can work.

We need to weigh our options before taking a decision. I’ve taken mine and I hope it doesn’t backfire…So maybe when you want to make a decision next time, ask yourself first- is it a need or a want?

This is just another article written in a rush to meet up with my daily article trend. Though it’s just the beginning of the year, the workload is already getting much and it’s taking much of my time.

The SmartBCH article i have drafted isn’t good enough for publication. With time I will try to balance everything but for now, I’ll have to go with the tide. Thanks for your understanding.

Thanks for Reading!🤗💚🤗

28
$ 11.16
$ 10.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 16
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for telling us the difference between needs and wants, it will help us make better and wiser decisions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Needs should be listed in order of priority then after the needs have been met we can now go for our wants

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Human wants are insatiable, our wants can't be satisfied it keeps increasing as we attend to them or even get higher in life. So we should focus on the major needs first before attending to the wants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All we need is Love :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've really made the difference distinct, needs and wants shouldn't be confused anymore

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you know sometimes we come to a compromising state when it comes to needs and wants? This is because our want is looking like the need likewise do we desire to have our needs met the same as the want.

Our society today has projected norms to us, where everyone wants to be like what they see on social media and this likes. This has become part of our thinking over time, only exceptional persons ignore the social trend and live within their needs.

However, only God truly know what our needs are so it refer we seek from Him always and go by His precepts always. I believe that knowing your needs helps make the right decisions always.

Peace ✌️

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really it will make a huge difference if we would dustinguish needs from wants and choose our priorities. Only then life would feel better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Regardless that you rush yo write the article it very good and I learn from it. Needs are very important In life of human like clothes, oxygen and all. Want isn’t essential but the riches always thought they need the wants which is not need. That why they say we can’t be satisfied as the riches want more riches.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a really distinct article . Knowing the difference between wants and needs really helped me a lot through my first year in the University because I was low on funds. I further have a need to clarify my decisions thanks to this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I recently watch a movie on Mnet station on dstv, it kinda show the picture of this write up, the lady in the movie told the kids "when you want me and you don't need me, I won't be there but when you need me but you don't want me, I will be there" it has a happy ending.. There is a very big different in the two words.. Many economic text books explain this too😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very interesting. The problem is some people don't know the difference between their needs and wants. A friend of mine when I was in school would by skin products with her last money instead of food

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I found this very useful to me you have done absolutely well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much sir for the incredible 🙌 gifts you gave me yesterday I sincerely appreciate you Need and want . Need is more important than want I have been taught these in the economics class thanks for the special gifts 🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well defined the difference between the two Satisfaction plays great role in our lives if we have this element we will be happy in what we have and prefer the things what are necessary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even though you wrote in a rush, it absolutely make sense. People need to understand that wants are different from needs. When you spend money on what you do not need, you just wasted money and you will later sell it off even at a lower rate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are many people in the world whose needs I have more than their salary. There are many people in Pakistan who are happy that their needs are not met in their salary.There is something else they want, but they cannot afford it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, guilty with that needs vs. wants thing. This year I told myself to balnce my spending and focus on saving more than spending. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago