Looking for Nokia

Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

There are some events you don't want to ever remember but things going on around you reminds you of it every day or every year. For me, it's the sight of Rams during Eid al-adha. The mere sight of rams gives me goose bomb and the event that happened over Four years around replays before me.

On Tuesday the Muslims celebrated Eid al-adha which we call "Ileya" in Nigeria. Though I'm a Christian, I have lots of Muslim friends and Adbulkareem is one of them. We went to the same primary school before we relocated to another state and then secondary school when i came back. Our friendship is so cordial that people most times take us as siblings or even twin. Kareem's Dad is a Popular Imam, so it is expected of him to buy rams and cows each year.

This year was not any different. He bought Three cows and Two Rams for the celebration. Early in the morning, I decided to visit Kareem and I saw the cows tied in the backyard and the rams tied close to his rabbit cage. (We both rear rabbits). Seeing the Rams, I burst into laughter. At first, Kareem was lost. He wondered why I was laughing, but when he looked at what got my attention, he joined me in laughing. And together we both shouted "Nokia"

Picture of the cows. I couldn't get a better picture from Kareem. I didn't take the picture because I never thought I will write about it.

Get to know Nokia

In the year 2016 Kareem's Dad (The Imam). Was occupied with his building project and was short on cash. Few months to Ileya, he bought a Ram because the price was still low around that period. The Ram looked so Rugged and stubborn so we (Kareem and i ) named it "Nokia" after the popular phone brand. Before long the name became popular. The kids around do bring leaves for Nokia and shower it with love.

The 2 Rams bought this year. The bigger one reminds us of Nokia

The Imam doesn't joke with Nokia. He only allows Basit (Kareem's older brother) and I to take it out to feed on grass. He never allows Kareem to take it out alone. Kareem can be so mischievous at times and the Imam does not trust him.

Two streets away from our street is an arena where Rams are used in gambling. The Rams are made to fight each other and whichever wins earns its owner a huge Sum of money. While the owner of the Ram that lose loses either the ram or his money. To add to that if he is lucky he will go back home with his ram bruised and battered but if unlucky he will go home with the corpse of his ram that has taken too many hits.

The elders in the society, especially the Muslims tried to close the arena down but each year another arena emerges.

The imam prohibited us from ever visiting the Arena but as kids, we do disobey his orders. We go there every day to watch the fight and sneak back home. The thought of taking Nokia there to fight and earn some money do cross my mind but I do push it back immediately because the risk involved is too much and it can only lead to us drawing the wrath of the imam on ourselves and of course my Dad will design my back with his rod if he gets to know.

A friend in need...

A day to Ileya (2016) I went to the Imam's house to take Nokia out as was my usual practice. I greeted the Imam and his wife and went straight down to the Backyard to take the happy Nokia. I met my friend Kareem seated on a stool looking sad. I walked up to him and asked him why he was sad.

"Why won't I be sad?. Tomorrow is Ileya, what will I buy for Lateefah as a gift?. Or when our friends come visiting, what will I give them as gift?. Just meat?." he answered.

"Were you not taught not to answer a question with a question?-" I said to him, hitting hit playfully. But he didn't react the way I wanted him to.

I sat close to him and I felt bad for him, for I know how much he loves Lateefah. They will someday get married to each other. So I thought πŸ˜‚ (I'm so sorry Kareem if you're reading this. I thought she was your behalf half as you'd always say back thenπŸ˜‚)

"So what do you think we can do?" I said to him.

"Sincerely I don't kno-"

"Moo mooooo" Nokia interrupted him.

Slowly Kareem started smiling. It was the kind of smile I've come to know as "a stupid idea is brewing smile". I looked at Nokia and immediately I knew what Kareem was thinking about. We have a way of reading each other's minds.

"No Kareem, don't go there at all. The Arena is a no go Area" I said with vigour.

"Valour please, help a brother. You know Lateefah is my life" he ported.

"Kareem my answer is still No. You know how dangerous this is. I can't break the trust Alhaji have in me or risk getting my Dad annoyed" I said with less conviction.

"Valour, valour ,valourrrr" he said with a wink.

"You're not serious, go and wink at Lateefah," I said with a smile.

"I take that as a Yes" Kareem said with happiness.

"I never said-"

Before I could finish my statement, Kareem was already flying through the gate with Nokia.

What happened at the arena

Getting to the Arena we met a lot of young guys there with the Rams. Some of the Rams have their horns curved in such a manner that makes me wonder how they spent months in their mother's womb without inflicting injury on her.

"Kareem, this is a bad idea-" I made one final attempt to persuade him but he wasn't having any of it. He went ahead to place his bet. Which was - the winner takes the loser's Ram or the other person bails it with N50,000 ( $100).

It was our turn and we took Nokia to the stage. We were confident of victory because of how stubborn Nokia was. But when we saw its opponent we started panicking. Kareem's hands were shaking as he let go of the rope while I was praying with all my heart.

Example of rams fighting in lagos Nigeria

Image source

The loud sound of horns hitting each other brought me back to planet earth because I was already on cloud nine negotiating with the angels to please help me guide and protect Nokia.

I tried to check out Nokia on the stage but all I could see was dust. Slowly I see the two Rams walking backwards preparing to charge at each other again. But something unexpected happened.

Instead of charging forward, Nokia took off and ran out of the stage and out of the Arena. The spectators looked on in awe and couldn't move.

Looking for Nokia...

We started searching everywhere for Nokia. We couldn't ask people directly so it won't raise suspicions towards us. So we asked various questions at first before asking if anyone sees Nokia.

For over five hours we were searching everywhere for Nokia but all our search was Futile. At Exactly 9 pm in the night, we resigned to fate and knew we are in for it tonight. For me, it was double problem because the Imam (Alhaji) will be disappointed in me, and will surely deal with Kareem. But the bigger problem lies at home. My Dad will - I don't even know how to explain what will happen to me.

The repercussion of what we've done dawns on me. What will the Imam present Tomorrow for the celebration?. Can we get another Ram early Tomorrow morning?. Where do we get the money for a new ram?. All these questions kept running through my mind.

We got to the front of the gate but how to enter was a problem.

"Valour and Kareem, where have you guys been?". That was the Imam talking to us from the tower. In our fright, we didn't notice that the Imam was seated on his favourite chair at the tower looking at us since.

We went to him and I decided to confess to him even before he asks us-

" Sir it is the devil's work sir. We only-" i stuttered

"Alhaji, Walai i will never do that again" Kareem interjected with shaking voice.

"Why are you guys like this? You brought Nokia back but didn't tie him down. If not for Basit that tied it to the pole what do you think will happen?. You guys also left the gate wide open"

"Thank you, Jesus!" I exclaimed

"Allah! Allah!" Kareem replied

We both look at each other and started laughing.

"Why are you two laughing?". Alhaji asked.

"Nothing Sir" we both replied

"Will you get out of here. Make sure you help your mothers before going to bed" he instructed

"Yes sir" we shouted again went on another round of laughter. This time around Alhaji joined us not knowing the reason.

Getting home

Getting home that late is a serious offence. But I was least concerned because my biggest problem was out of the way. My Dad chastised me for staying out so late and said for me to stay out that late, it means I've eaten from where I was coming from.

He instructed my Mum not to give me food but I know she wouldn't do that to her Lovely son.

After my Dad went to bed. My mum came with a bowl of fried rice (which is one of my favourites) to me. But I was too excited and happy to eat. With joy and gladness, I said to her

"Mum, don't worry let me serve my punishment "πŸ˜‚

The End!

Thanks for reading!πŸ€—πŸ€—πŸ€—

I'm so sorry for making it this long. I didn't want you guys to miss any part though I tried as much as possible to summarise some parts. Wait a sec! You skipped some parts?. Go back and read now!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Special shout out to all my sponsors and a big "Thank you" to my latest sponsor @JonicaBradley . God bless you ma'am.

14
$ 9.11
$ 8.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 9
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

but why is the name nokia? just curious. hehe

$ 5.00
2 years ago

Named after Nokia phone. Please i made a mistake, i clicked $5 instead of $0.5.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought it was about the phone Nokia. πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

NoπŸ˜‚it's a ram

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice to see you have high lighted our holy celebration of Eid ul adha .. well this is look like there cow is smaller than here

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow!The calls in the Philippines are bigger than this?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i am from bangladesh man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! My bad πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ i assumed that you're also Fipino

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no way haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nokia is so smart and can go home even if far. Luckily there is no bad happend to Nokia. The sad part is Nokia is gone and it's hurt to know. The funny thing is I though you we're referring to a cellphone hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, when it was killed the next day i was close to tears

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehhee I thought it was Nokia Phone but it didn't.. so it's a Ram. How sad Nokia, lead to death for a celebration ..

God bless you HappyBoy..πŸ™β€οΈ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It got its name from the phoneπŸ˜‚. Yes it's so sad that it was killed the next day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe when I read first the title, I thought it was phone..😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even if the article is so long, I wouldn't mind because I was enjoying it πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

God really saved both of you. Nokia already has been used to the house that was why it came home by itself

Ram fighting is risky oo. I don't know why would people engage their Rams in that. So if the loser lose his ram, that means no ram to kill for Ileya be that? πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes o no ram for ileya. Though most people do have extra Ram. They don't fight with the one meant for ileya. But kareem and i took the risk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So Nokia was not lost but you were lol! It was probably a bad idea anyway for worse could have happened to Nokia.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! I believe Nokia running away was a blessing. It could have died or get injured which would have been disastrous.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You guys are lucky :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, cute. Nokia know his way home no. Lucky you because he know the way to your home but what if not? Then that'll be a big problem to both of you ahaha. But it's just sad that Nokia is gone now πŸ˜’

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If he hadn't gone home it would have been a disaster. I'm sure the whole community will get to know about it . Not to talk of the punishment I'll receive at home πŸ˜‚. Yeah it was so painful when he was killed the next day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I see your title I thought you are discussing about nokia mobile phone and want to buy Nokia 1100 🀣but it's was ram🀣 I can't stop my laughing 🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I understand πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ we named it Nokia after the phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This piece deserve my comment, if this story is true, you did a nice job narrating it in this well constructive and informative. Nicely written piece, keep it going friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you sir. The story is true.

By the way, it's nice to hear from you, i haven't seen your post on noisecash or readcash this morning, i was wondering what was going on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your inquiry, I have some errands to complete this morning, and my phone battery was down. My article has been published now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Okay sir...I'll check it out immediately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhaaha I am glad that Nokia made its way back home 🀣. I had fun reading this 🀣. Nokia is indeed a very brilliant ram huh.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very brilliant! Thank God it ran for its life and went home directly. He saved us from problem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ In my chest, I can't stop laughing. What a great and funny story. I am very sure if that ram was reslly missing,that night and that ileya day won't be friendly at all. Keep it up bro,I love this.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah! I don't even want to think about it. The whole community will know about it and chastise us. For years they will keep on talking about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha it was Ram, I really thought this is about the phone, Nokia. Poor Nokia need to be killed.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

After reading for such a long time, you had the mind to tell me to go back and read that I missed something? What did I miss if I may ask?πŸ™„πŸ˜ you are not serious sha?

But wait o, you know when I saw Nokia, I thought it's a phone or something, shea you know that phone na😹🀣 not knowing it is a Ram that you guys named Nokia.

Again, do all Ram just start fighting each other? I mean it's not as if it's a trained Ram so how do they know they are supposed to fight? Well I am glad Nokia ran for its dear lifeπŸ˜ΉπŸ˜‚ you guys wanted to kill him even before his time when he will be killed for celebration 😹

$ 0.05
2 years ago

We were in desperate need of money to Spoil Lateefah πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Technically you haven't answered any of the questions I asked πŸ™„πŸ˜’

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not all rams are trained to fight and they don't just start fighting. You provoke them to fight each other. One can start by moving them close to each other and hitting their horns hard. A little secret πŸ—£ some rams are drugged before they are taken to the arena.

Nokia wasn't trained to fight. Though Rugged and brutal, i guess he isn't cut out to fight. We knew this but were willing to take the risk, all in the name of Love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see. Now that's a better answer and thanks for explaining.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought it's about the phone Nokia πŸ˜… But is this fiction or true? Where is nokia now? πŸ˜…

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's True... even with the Love Alhaji had for it, it was killed to celebrate Ileya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago