Job hunting: Ethereum's gas fee scared us

15 53
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

We all thought we have everything planned out. Get into the university by age 16, graduate at the age of 21, get a job immediately, enjoy my singleness for 3-5 years, by the age of 27, 28 get a serious boy/girl to date and get married the following year.

Only if life was that easy, only if a soothsayer showed us a glimpse of what the future has in stock for us. Only if we were told Jamb (Exam written in Nigeria before getting into an institutions) was going to be an obstacle. And when all these couldn't stop us the federal government and the lecturers decided to act as a stumbling block.

Enough of the rambling. The ongoing strike in Universities across the Nation Nigeria is something worrisome and as my friend @seni said in her article "strike- what next?" , we have to make use of this setback to our advantage

What most people advise students at home right now is to learn a trade. Tailoring, carpentry, catering are one of the most mentioned fields students are advised to go into pending the time the strike is over.

There's a general misconception here that carpentry, hair styling, tailoring, shoemaking, car repair and many more are jobs for the uneducated, though technical schools are available to teach these courses. Going ahead to learn these trades simply because of the strike is seen as an insult or downgrade by Many sections. I’m not one of such but none of these trades is of interest to me. I prefer a sit at home job, something I can do in the comfort of my room. A few days back I talked about how I prefer staying indoors to going outside. That was how the Job hunting started with my friend.

We thought of going for an internship at one of the Top firms in Lagos but accommodation, salary and stress made us change our minds. “Why not just look for something online to do?” I asked my friend. Since we have readcash, noisecash already, writing on another platform came as an option, maybe hive or any other site that allows re-posting articles written before. I suggested SmartBCH , especially the NFT market and we set the goals and started planning.

My friend decided to check you-tube and other platforms to know more about NFT, and as expected it was NFTs on opensea, majorly on the Ethereum chain that was there. How to mint NFT and design NFT among others. I placed a call to my friend who is a popular Twitter influencer in Nigeria and also an NFT guru to put me through some things. He asked if I have the capital, and I told him I can gather $1k to $1500 just for that purpose. I explained to him that I plan to buy and sell not create, moreover, I will prefer to have it on SmartBCH instead of Ethereum. He said he doesn’t know about SmartBCH, he only deals with Ethereum. Also, it’s easier to just design anything and sell there than it is on SmartBCH simply because most users don’t ask for a usecase, they only need hype to sell, but here on SmartBCH users want to know the reason why they should buy an NFT which I also believe is the right thing to do.

 I wasn’t shocked because he is very vocal about his allegiance to Ethereum on Twitter and of course his hatred for bitcoincash which to him is a “shitcoin”. since I need to learn from him I ignored his words and asked for his guidance but when I got to know about the gas fee and the probability of selling, the “bot minting”, scams and clauses attached to it I decided that NFT on Ethereum chain is not for me. So we went in search of another thing to do.

My friend suggested forex trading but the experience some of my friends have in it isn’t pleasant at all so it was a "no go" area for me. A lecturer offered me a job...

To be continued…

Thanks for Reading! ✍ 💚🤗

23
$ 5.47
$ 4.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I wonder why anybody will pick Ethereum over BCH, the gas fee over there is ridiculous! As you're looking for something to do, I strongly advise you run away from forex, it's not what most people make it seem

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I maybe can't relate too much to this one because I don't have any invested amount in my ETH nor NFT.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also in the same shoes as you're also thinking of what to learn with my spare time. Ethereum block is very expensive making us on smartBCH look like paupers (lol).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got some NFTs on the Ethereum network from a friend who designed them for free. It's a bit different from the way NFT works on sBCH. But I have moved my attention from Opensea, hopefully, it will be on Oasis soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This strike and strike has cost students a lot of wasted time maybe months. And it’s very advisable to learn some one man business in case anything happens. I’m willing to know the job your lecturer offered you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brother follow your heart and you might get the best out of the job… right now I’m equally in search of the next idea for a new stream of income… if nft No come again investment long term go follow 😂😂.. happy Sunday

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No comment until I read the concluding part. Hmmm! It's not easy my brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forex is not for the strong in heart, but rather for the hardened. That stuff will break your heart, head and bank account in a matter of split seconds. Although I wasn't losing money when I was still trading, i could hardly take out any profit as what I earned in a week can be wiped clean in a day. I jejely ran from it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I decided to swap my token to ethereum but the gas scares me especially the transaction fee. I prefer Bitcoincash

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those skills such as tailoring , carpentry... that you mentioned up there are not bad,but I think in this 21st century, soft skills (digital skills) would take you farther in a short time would little stress. I'm really impressed when young people plan ahead for their future.. one can never go wrong with careful planning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trading is one of the business type to venture in order to gain extra income. Thus, making our family to survive despite the pandemic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are really serious about finding a job... Forex is good buy more risky than crypto I guess haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The internship I got, they aren't paying any salary but there a lot of ongoing project. As for the lecturing job, I will say you should take it, if you wish to go into Forex, I might have something that will be of help to you, low risk, less capital

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not lecturing. It's Dr.oyeyipo that got me a Job on the island, still considering . Your namesake with an "ful" suffix (you get 😜)is interested in Forex , i will ask her to reach out to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought Eth 2.0 will fixed anything

$ 0.00
2 years ago