Inferiority complex

16 82
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Several theories have been suggested to explain the cause of this phenomenon. One such theory is the so-called theory of cognitive dissonance, which proposes that a person has a motivational drive to reduce conflict between two cognitions: their concept of self and their knowledge about the real world. This theory has been applied to "low self-esteem," suggesting it can be brought about by the experience or realization of failure or by a humiliating or degrading experience, or even by an act of kindness received from someone else.

Even factors as simple as a lack of praise or acknowledgement, bullying as a child can create this feeling. Others have suggested that "inferiority" may be a result of a poor relationship with one's parents. Sigmund Freud established that some degree of this may be innate, but not irreparable because the individual can make conscious efforts to change it.

It is experienced more by people of smaller statures, by those who believe they are not physically attractive and by those who are of less intelligence. The inferiority complex can also be caused by upbringing or experiences in the past. The complex becomes worse when it is not attended to and is left unattended.

Most people are often raised with a sense of inferiority complex, which is then expressed by a superiority complex. They try to hide it by acting bigger than others. A person suffering from an inferiority complex will try to raise his/her status among others by praising himself/herself positively and giving false information to others. The greater the anxiety over feeling less competent, the more likely one will have feelings of superiority; thus, a person may engage in overly self-critical evaluations. It is a misguided attempt at countering their feelings of inferiority by trying to prove themselves equal to or even superior to others. The more one attempts to feel superior, the more inferior one may become as a result of being unable to acknowledge real differences between oneself and other

You might have heard about a phenomenon called the ‘inferiority complex. The concept of inferiority complex or inferiority complex syndrome is nothing new, but it remains relevant even in the modern age. In fact, the concept has been studied for over half a century and many people, who all belong to different walks of life and grew up in varying circumstances, feel inferior because of the way they perceive themselves. The Causes of the Feeling of Inferiority It is nearly impossible to identify all the possible causes of feeling inferior. Some of them may be as simple as low self-esteem and some can be as complicated as deep-rooted psychological issues. There are many reasons why one might feel inferior to others.

Parents have a big part to play in this. While your kids are still at a tender age instil confidence in them. When they are bullied in school or anywhere, provide room for them to speak out. Let them be your best friend.

The question now is how do you get over your inferiority complex?. It is more like how do you stop feeling less than others.

How to overcome inferiority complex and feel empowered.

I asked a friend who once told him he was a victim of bullying how he got over it and his reply was-

“Feeling inferior is a feeling I am familiar with it most likely came from my childhood, when I was young, I lacked confidence, had low self-esteem and was easily intimidated by many things. I was a highly emotional kid with a huge imagination which made me get into a lot of trouble.

I somehow had to get over this phase of my life.  Among other things, I found motivation and the will to move on. My motivation was not wearing my inferiority complex on my sleeve, behind every act of perceived weakness was an opportunity for growth and development.

Also meeting some certain people changed my life…

This is a continuation of the article on self-confidence, maybe next week I will continue

Thanks for Reading!🤗💚💪

Materials used

https://www.apa.org/pubs/books/Cognitive-Dissonance-Intro-Sample.pdf

https://www.everydayhealth.com/inferiority-complex/symptoms/

27
$ 12.04
$ 11.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Officialrosh1
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 17
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

This inferiority complex of a thing is quite alarming I must say, because as a result of how a person was treated,the circumstances surrounding their childhood sometimes and other factors tends to make this person form an opinion oh him/herself that no one can actually change except that same person.

Growing up I watched the way my mother carried herself, she was quite uneducated but she didn't let it bring her down, she taught me to take my grades seriously, she also never let or give the chance for anyone to talk down to her because of her status, she made herself relevant even in places where she was lacking....I don't think I was ever bullied in school. I knew how to stand up for myself and not let anyone talk down on me. Thanks also for sharing this valuable information and awareness about inferiority complex.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

first of all, thank you for sharing this awesome knowledge with us. today I got a clear picture of inferiority complex and cognitive dissonance. i think inferiority rises when parents said one thing and in reality, there happens to be the exact opposite to it like parents say to their child to be gentle and kind but when he gets bullied by other students his belief becomes questionable. other things that cause it is I think lack of purpose and motivation to get all the material gains like all the things that you mentioned that causes it is material things so if we somehow give some bigger purpose than material things we can get rid of this syndrome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You see a very typical example of inferiority complex when some Nigerians are dealing with the wihites, they hold them in such high esteem and they tend to believe the whites are far more superior, even in their land. I find that sort of behavior really nauseating sha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very common in the early stage of life and a child will feel depressed via the bully and intimidation. I was once there, I was bullied often time by my slim nature and I overcame it when I accepted my nature and now I shower praises on myself. "I be spec" 🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was bullied too that makes me feel small and it actually consumes my self-esteem already. But as time pass by I know how to fight and use that as my strength. I am what I am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last phrase say “meeting some certain people also changed life” it very true because they are people you meet and will never be poor again or lack confidence. If your friend’s parent has instilled in confidence in him when he was young he would have known how to ha high self-esteem of himself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think, if I am not exaggerating, we all have faced this in one way or the other . My share would be cause I was short and little amongst my peers , I didn't really overcome it cause I grew taller but it sure is a bad thing and reduces one self esteem ...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What ever the case night be, you are a product of who you think you're

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m not sure I’ve had the chance to wish you a happy new year buddy. I hope all our dreams come true and I’m also looking forward to learning more from you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still experiencing this inferiority complex thing. Maybe this started because of my bad childhood where I often bullied by my friends and classmates. Hoping I will overcome this soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a pity to see children suffer when they are young

@Markos33

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is accurate. Some people try to overcompensate for how inferior they feel by acting superior and they sometimes end up being jerks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah i agreed sir,people doesn't try to show off how rich they was and in that matter the poor people is rubbed b/w this and then they made inadequacy for all them and hits to thier heart as a firecraker. Stay blessed and happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never heard someone say this much on the subject... You very knowledgeable my friend... I'm sorry you struggled in your childhood... I was kind of like that too so I understand... I can't say I've changed much,,, because it's hard to be confident when you're poor... But I'm trying to work on it... Thanks for posting this... Much love!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suffered inferiority complex before, it's a hard battle between ourselves.. with low self-esteem. Good thing I overcome it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the current environment, inferiority complex is caused mostly by peer pressure, at list where I live. The feeling of not belonging breeds a Certain type of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago