Humble brag

30 90
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

You might be wondering why use these two contradictory words together. Is it possible for someone to brag with humility? Or is this meant to be one of those oxymorons with no true meaning? .

Linkedin is one of the world fastest growing networking sites. People get connected to different people all over the world and get joins right there on the site. It’s a platform where you can pitch whatsoever you are offering. I joined the platform a long time ago out of curiosity but never got to use it well until a few years back. I also have this misconception about the site and would always complain about how people boost and list their achievements and accolade on the site. If one isn’t careful, one will get depressed from reading the various testimonies and achievements. 

I thought I was alone with this thought until I saw a trending picture where a girl wrote “I joined LinkedIn to search for jobs but Linkedin gave me headache, insecurity, fear and feeling of inadequacy instead”. it lead to a series of arguments in the comment section between those in support of what she wrote and those against it.  Was in support of this until I started working and needed to let people know about what I was doing and if they require someone to help with any job related to that, they can call on him. It was at this stage I realized how important it is to “sell oneself” to potential customers. It was at this stage I knew what people were doing on the aforementioned platform has a reason and it’s yielding the needed results.

Before going further, I need to mention this article written by @Jumper-01 titled "I am the greatest". In it, he talked about how important it is to have unwavering confidence in oneself. Citing different examples. He mentioned people that talked about something that looks illogical and unachievable but went on to achieve it. It reminds me of the Mourinho in his first stint at Chelsea. How he won matches with his mouth even before kickoff.

 Humble bragging is quite different from bragging. In this case, you are letting the world know what you are good at, you are paving way for yourself and creating opportunities for yourself. You should be a hype-man to yourself. When the morale is down, encourage yourself. Dream big. See the bigger picture always and not just limit yourself to what you are right now or where you are. Don’t belittle yourself.

You might have the stature of an ant, carry yourself like an Elephant. You are a brand, royalty, a King but no one will see you like this if you don’t see yourself as one. They will give you different names and even say to your face that you are proud. Let them say whatsoever they want, when you start actualizing the dreams I see for yourself, they will come to understand.

There is no limit to platforms where you can “sell yourself”. People get jobs and contracts from Facebook, IG, Twitter, readcash to mention just a few. They post pictures and write-ups on previous jobs done They pitch their services to potential customers with humility.

Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty

A big thank you to all my sponsors both old and new. Accept my apology if i missed your renewal notifications -thank you. I appreciate all you do.

 So what are you waiting for? Start tailoring that CV, change your profile, edit that bio of yours. Don’t just be boring, let your bio give a huge statement about who you are. It isn’t pride, it’s marketing or for lack of a better word “class”. You are a writer but you’re constantly ashamed to be called one. You talked down your posts, saying it isn’t standard or you’re a bad witter. If you can’t be your first cheerleader, it will be hard to see people who will appreciate your work.

Take a step today and let the world know you’ve got it in you!

Thanks for reading!🤗💚🤗

This is a quick change in plan. The article planned for today can't be published due to some reasons. I hope you enjoyed this.

25
$ 13.09
$ 12.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 19
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

Reading this article at this time in morning is already making me to think positive of my day ahead..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is indeed needed to know and sell your strength. Not being able to put any update on your cv alone can trigger insecurity. But we have to put ourselves out there if we want to be considered.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like that. Humble bragging. We are always told to learn to sell ourselves whenever we apply for work or attend and interview. Knowing our strength and expertise and making it known is not bragging. Just like what you have said, we should create opportunities for ourselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LinkedIn used to make me feel insecure before but now I go through it in hopes that I write something like that one day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You wrote very well about linked in. When I became a member there, I saw so many experienced and successful people that I lost my self-confidence and never entered LinkedIn again...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We need to believe in ourselves and don't look at what other's would say about our plan..that's why we shouldn't show people our plan rather we should show them our results.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm. Self confidence boost productivity and efficiency

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I opened LinkedIn sometime last year, but I haven't been active there coz I don't even have a skill yet I want to sell. I'm still in the middle of learning programming and I know the importance of LinkedIn, a lot of persons I know have used it to get high paying remote jobs abroad.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

so many people has benefited from it. I hardly use it too but already growing my connections there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, I feel jealous and intimated when I see People's achievement on LinkedIn which made me log out from it completely. Lol There is no place we can't advertise who we are, the thing is to be humble with it so you can attract people to what you have got to offer.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here, you will see men and women in suit writing all sort of achievement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had not thought about it that way. Indeed, the vast majority show their achievements in one way or another. It's a way of saying, "Hey, look what I've accomplished!" But as long as it is done humbly and with respect. I always like to thank everyone, because, without those who read me, I am simply nobody. So success depends a lot on you, but a good percentage depends on others appreciating you. So you owe it to them. If you go through life bragging about what you have achieved, without showing a little respect to others, being self-sufficient, you will lose everything in 1 second.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are Pride goes before a fall they say

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, we need to be more confident and believe on what we are capable of. We may be small and poor outside but we are enormous and rich inside ❣️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really good and motivating bro but I love to separate my business from fun and that's why I created my own business account on FB Instagram eg But that's my own decision and someone might love it together

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahh this is good! Yes, let's be our own cheerleader and believe in ourselves more than ever :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A very good morning motivation, indeed we are our hype buddies... I love how you entered into the topic and gave powerful examples... I used to be shy as a singer, like I don't want anybody to know that I'm one just for no tangible reason. So this is great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

i can testify to it that you can sing well so don't be shy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Step out and show the world what you've got 😁 you may be as small as an ant, but your confidence should be as big as elephant.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah I feel like a lot of people mistake self confidence for pride which shouldn’t be . One should elude confidence everytime and should be afraid to sell theirselves in the presence of opportunities. Thanks for the mention boss

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Your article was worth it. The examples you gave are one i could resonate with so i should be the one thanking you for inspiring me.🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😘😘😘😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sell myself. I'm learning it again. This job where I started I must sell myself well. I can't remember if I have a LinkedIn account maybe I didn't bother but that would be a great start for most especially this modern time.

You're having a good day? 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Going on well ma'am. Just got back from church service. Thanks for dropping by ma'am 🤗🤗🤗💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting, well i made a account for linkedin but later my all excitement are wasted. Because i had no idea how to run it. Now i forget my password can i i get it back?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, if you registered with your mail ,you can get it back easily

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lost that g mail.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very right, I've had misconceptions of scams on LinkedIn but with this, I think I have to beautify my account and make it look attractive and start bidding for jobs...

But I really wish to know more about this platform too...

Thanks for sharing your experience with us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right boss it's normally said that whatever we can dream of we can achieve, all we need is courage and confidence in one's self that I can done it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this. I do this a lot and I should definitely be more proud of my work. I really appreciate the motivation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago