Forgiveness: Not easy but necessary

13 66
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

When we talk about forgiveness what comes to is that a form of betrayal has happened between two friends which hurt either one or both parties and they are deciding to let go and make peace with each other. However, forgiveness does not necessarily have to be between two or more parties. Sometimes the person we need to forgive is ourselves.

Forgiveness is not easy but is necessary. Whether it was a family member or buddy, whether it was an accident or intentional from that person, whether the relationship was good or bad at that point, forgiveness is needed.

Living with guilt for misdeeds done in the past is a common thing. In the just-concluded series by Marvel studio- Moon Knight, a similar script occurred. The main actor of the movie Steven was a victim of such. He made a mistake while growing up which cost the life of his brother. He felt bad about it and the constant abuse by his mum didn’t help matters. Until he came to terms that the deed has been done and he forgave himself, he kept on living a life of delusion.

 It's very hard to forgive someone who wronged us and it’s even harder to forgive oneself for an error committed in the past. . One keeps on living an unhappy life, you feel you don’t deserve to be happy because of what you did. The pain caused keeps on resurfacing, and the old wound keeps on reminding us of the betrayal and disappointment, but to move on with one's life, one needs to forgive and let go.

The thing about Forgiveness is that you need to forgive yourself too. The hurt that you feel will stay for days, weeks and even months, but you can't let that eat you up; you need to forgive yourself for trusting that person, for believing in what she or he said and for getting attached.

It's not easy to forgive someone who wronged you, but it's a lot harder to forgive yourself when you know that you are part of the problem.

Forgiveness doesn't mean that you will invite the person who did wrong to your home to have a cup of coffee. Forgiveness doesn't mean that you will be taking back the wrongdoer in your life, it also doesn't mean that your wounds will be gone after forgiving him. But forgiveness means that you are taking responsibility for your part in the problem and by doing so, you are giving yourself a chance to move on with your life.

It's okay to not forgive right away, but don't keep grudge and hatred in your heart for longer than necessary because sooner or later, it will destroy you.

I always find it hard to forgive myself for all the mistakes I made in my past, for all the wrong decisions I made, for all the people I hurt, for all the things I left behind and regrets that I have but I always try to remind myself that there's nothing that is unforgivable.

 “Yes there’s nothing that is unforgivable” I repeat,  but there are unforgettable things. Let me explain this: It’s easy to forgive someone for stabbing me in the arm but an experience like that cannot be forgotten. Even if I forgive him and decide to move on with life, any time I see him the scene replays in my head and also the scar will be a constant reminder of what happened.

Humans are imperfect; we all make mistakes, some are fatal some are not - it's how we deal with them that makes us human.

So if you're struggling to forgive someone or if you're also struggling to forgive yourself, just try to remember that there is something out there waiting for you to forgive and heal.

We are all facing different problems every day, but at least we're learning something from them. If we've learned forgiveness from it - then it's already a huge gain, because forgiveness is best than revenge.

So next time when someone wrongs you, forgive him/her and let your past be your lesson and your strength.

Thanks for Reading! 🙏💚🤝

 

 

27
$ 5.28
$ 4.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 20
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

I can forgive but I don't know when I can forget or can I? The pain they cause me always leaves a scar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Refusing to forgive and let go is detrimental to our emotional health. It is like drinking poison and waiting for the other person to feel the effect. We need to forgive for our own well-being, to avoid causing ourselves unnecessary bitterness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I easily forgive people and I do that for my own mental health, I can't afford to be harbouring that negativity in my head. I forgive easily but I never forget, I will always remember what the person did and save it somewhere in my brain as a reminder to never trust the person again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Forgiveness falls under the category of easier said than done, because until you find yourself in a situation to forgive, you don't know how hard it is, nevertheless, it's very important for you to learn to forgive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I have learnt about forgiveness is that we can’t do without it .. if we don’t forgive either ourselves or others we get stuck

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay to forgive but don't forget so you won't end up trusting the same person again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I actually think it's easier to forgive others than to forgive one's self because the error keeps playing over and over again and it just won't stop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If someone is doing wrong to us so it's not easy to forgive and forget him But For the sake of our lord and internal Peace we have to forgive a person and move on. There is no one bigger than who repents others.

Same, as if we commit something wrong with anyone so Try to apologize first before it was too late.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No doubt we should not need to punish people we should forgive them if we kinda want anything good about a person we should forgive him for first time at least.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not easy truly, I remember when I did something that I wasn't supposed to do, I cried and had to blame myself for weeks until I have the courage to get over it. I had to accept it has been done and I need to move on, so it's for others too, if they have done something very bad to us, it isn't easy to forgive but we have to

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At the end of the day, forgiving is a gift we give to ourselves, even if the person we forgive is unaware of our feelings, emotional rage, hate, hurt, bitterness.... All these alone can destroy us like you said, but through forgiving alone,it clears all these from our mind

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's never easy but it is doable. It takes a big heart to forgive whatever wrong done to one. The forgetting part is almost impossible for me. This does not me I still bear grudges. I forget one has wronged me as long as I don't see that person. Like I said I hardly bear grudge so I easily forgive for my peace of mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To be honest, that's just how life is. Even though we do hear the sermon on forgiveness almost everyday, there are some crimes or actions that just proof so hard to let go but life demands us to forgive, no matter how hard it may look

$ 0.00
1 year ago