Finally got my PVC

17 64
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

The registration for a Permanent voter card has been on for some time now and I planned to get it since I fail to get it the last times I ought to. I can remember going for the registration but after facing a long queue, I gave up. However, I decided that not even a long queue will stop me this time around. The electorate body made things easy for the citizens this time around by providing an online platform where the phone can fill in their bio-data, upload pictures and schedule a date for thumb printing.

I encountered some problems while registering. Several attempts to fix a date for thump printing failed. When I pick other local Governments available dates are shown but when I pick the local government where I fall, nothing appears. My friend who stays close also complained of the same thing. We tried several times but we got no appointment and the deadline was fast approaching. The online registration closed on the 30th of May and I assume that we can no longer fix an appointment for thumb printing until two weeks ago.

Initially, I planned to pick a day and go for the manual registration, I know it will be stressful but I’m determined to evade all obstacles. Two weeks the breakthrough came when  I checked INEC’s website and there it was. Finally, I picked the 29th of June for my thumb printing. A day before the deadline bar any extension.

Yesterday was the chosen date so I woke up early with my friend. We’ve heard reports of how crowded various registration centres are so we took off early. We got there around 6 am and to her surprise, we met over 200 people waiting. Though I was expecting it, I was still shocked by the turnout. It seems so many people didn’t sleep at home. I saw a lady and started a conversation with her and she said she got there around 5 am and met a lot of people. We waited outside till 9:30 when one of the officials came out with a paper.

As early as 6 am people were gathered there

Apparently, they all wrote their names when they got there. We didn’t write ours, even if we did, maybe we will be number 300 on the list. The coordinate said those whose number on the list falls below 100 should go back home and there we were with our names not even on the list.   The first 100 names were called and they went in, while the calling of names was on, my friend said we should leave but I refused. I was determined to do my thumb printing that day. I plan to stay outside the gate even after the hundred names have been called, no matter how they persuade me to leave, I won’t leave until they answer me.

People sitting outside

I couldn't take clear pictures. I being snapped without permission, so i find it hard to do it too.

A few minutes after the 100 went in some of us were still outside hoping for a miracle and it happened. About 90% of those who went in haven’t done their online registration. They will have to fill out a form putting in their details and some other details which will take time. The coordinator came out and ask those who have their filled form with them to bring them out, I handed mine and my friend’s to him, some people also did and he went back in. Not long after that another instructor came and opened the gate for everyone. The crowd trooped it and everyone hung around.

Suddenly another instructor came with the forms in hand and started calling names. I wasn’t expecting him to call mine but after calling six names, he called mine. I was shocked but happy, he called my friend’s name next and we both went in. It took everyone approximately 5 minutes and with 30mins it was my turn, I did mine and went out. We decided not to go back home directly, we branched at a restaurant and then a pepper soup joint to celebrate this victory. lol

Thanks for Reading! 🤗💚🤗

18
$ 2.51
$ 2.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

Nice! I hope you'll vote. I don't have mine yet, and the truth is I don't have plans to vote. So I didn't take getting it seriously. I heard deadline is 30th or was it postponed?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I gave up on this PVC wahala. The thing that gets me angry is that a lot of people don't do the online aspect and then they come to the registration center and choke up the whole thing. I understand that some people aren't exactly tech savvy but a lot of them have a smart phone and can use the internet, so I don't see a reason why they won't do the online part before going for thumbprinting.

The whole thing is just messed up, also coupled with the fact that the registration center here always have one or two inec officer. How can only one person attend to over 400 people? I give up jare

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! A woman was fighting us, she's annoyed that we got there late (6am) yet we were attended to before her. We've registered online just thumb printing is left while she hasn't done anything. She expect us to wait for the 100 that haven't registered at all before going in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just imagine. She's one of the people causing delays at registration centers but she's getting annoyed that people register online

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you and your friend, it pays off to be patient and determined .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have PVC yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have PVC yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You finally scaled through. I knew what I went through to get mine many years ago before I lost my wallet. Funny enough, just earlier in the day, someone told me I can still retrieve it and I filled my form online. Hopefully I can get a new one replaced and delivered to me. I can't do that queue anymore for replacement.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We got there around 6 am and to her surprise, we met over 200 people waiting.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 People didn't sleep at their homes? Nigeria, our country. We no go gree.

You even celebrated it with pepper soup 😂😂😂 Wonders shall never end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Here start of voting process has started again. I am happy because Our President Erdogan is again strong candidate for election. Yeah it is too tiresome when we register our vote. I also have faced same things long que, people crowd and hot weather in addition 😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats! Such a great achievement

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations valour! I swear na big achievement 😁 I pray my own comes out soon enough too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Btw Valour..how old are you na,? Better use it wisely 😁..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo na only me remain oh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I gave the voter card a long time ago but have not received it yet. I remember having to cross a long line to get a voter card.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, this is relatively easy I guess, it's not here, but am glad you got it nonetheless!!. Cos you said it's a victory, 😅🤣🤣Congratulations Sir. P. O all the way right..??

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Victory indeed! I don't know if I can still pass through stress of staying in a queue to be attended to in anything. Well, this is Nigeria and such can't be avoided. Thank God long time ago. No stress!

$ 0.00
1 year ago