Empowerment over Charity

11 58
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Empowerment is different from charity, empowering others means you're equipping them to be able to stand alone and be able to help others. Charity solves short term problems, which will resurface in the long term, while Empowerment stops the re-occurrence of these problems.

I had a friend ask me to help him create a bill using Excel. I do this every time without asking for money but I was afraid he was getting used to it. It’s a matter of time before his boss will know he hasn’t been the one producing the bill he has been submitting. I was hesitant because I didn't want to create a dependent being. He's a smart guy and had the motivation and willpower to learn.

I took some time and put together a curriculum based on his learning style, which was mostly self-directed.

When I brought the curriculum, he said he already finished it. I gave it to him anyway instead of wasting it.

I told him "you need to learn how to learn". He took the lesson and was able to provide a Bill at the end of the programme and the last I heard was that he’s been promoted at work.

He did this and recently came back saying that I should teach him how to use some QS apps, some of which I don’t know how to use but am in the process of learning how to use.

He's still not independent yet, but he has more tools in his belt. He's ready for more!

Empowerment is helping others learn how to stand on their own and not constantly begging for crumbs.

The best way to help people who come from nothing is to give them a way out. Sometimes if we are not careful with how we help people, they become dependent on us, and when we stop helping them they will starve. I believe in empowering people by giving them what they need to stand on their own feet.

There is a saying "Teach me how to fish, don't give me the fish". Sometimes giving things out to people on a platter isn't helping. Once they exhaust what you gave them, they will come back for more. The best thing one can do is to support them in a way they can stand on their own. Work for their own money and be independent.

Sometimes people love it when people come to them for help. They get some satisfaction from receiving praise and applause from the public. Teaching people or empowering people to be able to stand on their own will spell doom to them. The praises they receive will stop coming and their Ego get deflated.

If this is the case, one is doing himself a lot of injustice by believing such. When you empower a single person to stand on his own, you are indirectly helping 100 people. He has a family that depends on him, and through him, more people can be helped. Also, constant requests for help will lead to frustration. You are saving yourself from constant headaches by empowering others.

Another reason why some people who rather give than teach how to get, is that they fear being replaced by their students. Cases of a young subordinate taking over from someone who trained them are many. After they are well established in the field, they tend to push those who teach them out.

The best way to solve this is by not resting on your laurels, try to get better than you were yesterday. Have something tangible to bring to the table, prove yourself to be a valuable asset to the company or whatever it is.

However, empowering others doesn't necessarily have to be in a field you're in. A banker sponsoring 10 students to a football academy is a form of empowerment, buying tools for a hairstylist or Mason is another form of empowerment, giving scholarships to students, building a training centre and many more.

Conclusion

There's no level you can get to before deciding to empower others. In a little way, you can help, do it. Inviting friends who are willing to work or ready to be committed to joining the site is another way. You are not too poor or small to empower others. Trust me, you'll be glad you did.

Thanks for Reading! 🤗💚🤗

20
$ 4.23
$ 2.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.45 from @Cointelegraph
$ 0.15 from @Giddyboy
+ 19
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

Help.amd empower everyone not just give them what they want. Your article made me realize something.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

empowerment and charity are indeed two things that we must do when our lives feel better than others even empowerment is also a better thing because even though life is simple, it can help other people shape their lives in a better direction with advice and action.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The last time I need right now is someone depending on me to eat, that's why I always try to put people through in any way I can so they can be able to get for themselves sometimes, at least they aren't handicap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also in favor of empowerment. Once I was a college student when one teacher supported me for making Juices and selling them to my fellows. Through this job I earn a lot and paid my fee. And now after graduation I say thank you and did same giving people skills not money and not making beggers addicted of free things and money. Here I got totally different lines between Empowerment and charity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should always learn how to empower others from the onset instead of just giving them the fish because one day when we fail to give due to reasons best known to us or we find out that the person is becoming lazy, they d begin to tag us as wicked ignoring all what we had done for them in the past

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This topic is a good fact on what's happening in the world... To some out there, they're just too good in collecting and not ready to achieve and stand on their own. Let's use this platform as an example; I do have a lot of people that beg me of 2k and after giving, I usually try to introduce them to this site but they'll object and run off

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is highly applicable to poorest people that they don't need money from politicians, rather a work that can give them monthly salary to provide for family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Empowering individuals and educating them how to catch fish rather than just collecting fish is a better approach to help them than charity.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Empowerment over charity anytime. It removes responsibility from you the provider too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly you might be thinking what you have is too small just give them the little knowledge and watch them excel after all it’s better to teach me how to catch fish than to give me fish

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We may play our role in empowerment in different ways. Empowerment exactly is the act or support to uplift someone to do what they want

$ 0.00
1 year ago