A single lie will birth more lies...

27 110
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

My teachers were the first set of people that taught me how to lie. Nigerians on this platform can testify to it that the first thing we are asked to write about whenever resume a new session in school back when we were young was ‘’ Write a letter to your friend who lives abroad, telling him…’’ or ‘’Write a letter to you Dad who lives in the UK…’’. My Dad live in The UK? That’s a lie, I saw him going to work a few hours back. But as students, we need to write and the best liar wins. lol

There are various reasons why people lie, we can say some are justifiable, while some aren’t. Sometimes we lie to save someone or to motivate others, but I’m not going in that direction today. This will be based on Lies for selfish reasons. Need I tell you that there is something called a “White lie” now. They say it is a lie that isn’t too much. A forgivable lie. Something one says for a better cause. Before we proceed, please take out time to visit the Promptly Jonica Community and check out articles related to the topic… I’ve read a few and I can see they’ve done justice to the topic, hence my reason for choosing just a segment.

Lies birth more lies

Let me share some stories of different lies I’ve told just to cover up for another lie. I kept on lying to save myself and before I knew what was happening, I couldn’t keep up with the lies. Sometimes I took minutes thinking of the previous lie I told so that the new lie won’t contradict it.

A Competition in year 1

It was the first-semester break in school and the National Association of Quantity Surveyors (Lagos Chapter) organized an essay competition for students. Our course adviser asked us to join but me and my two closest friends were not interested. He made it compulsory and promised not to sign our course forms without the essay in hand.

We decided to go to his office and give him a story. One thing about lying is that, when you do it repeatedly, it comes naturally and you surprise yourself sometimes with the way the lies comes on impulse. We went in and submitted our form as expected he asked for our Essay

Sir, I’m almost done. It only needs some finishing touches” I lied

Sir, I left mine in the hostel. I still don’t know how I forgot” David uttered his lie

“Mr Samuel, mine was written on a rough paper so I left it in the hostel” That was Dami dropping his own lines.

The man laughed and asked us how long will it take to get to our hostel if we decide to trek. We answered 10minutes maximum. He then gave us money to board a Cab to the hostel and get our essay within 20minutes. He gave us the grace of 10mintes since to and fro taking the cab shouldn’t take 10minutes.

“Sir, our door is locked” we all chorused

We looked at each other shocked that we spoke the same thing at the same time without planning it before. He started laughing and said he knows we are lying but we stuck to our gun and added more lies to push our lies through.

“Sir I left it at home, not school,” Dami said

We all turned to him and gave him the “Respect” look. We couldn’t hold it again, we started laughing. Our lies got us into trouble that day and we were asked to write the 3000 words essay right there in his office which was uncomfortable and tough since he was watching us.

Conclusion

I can go on and on with different stories of how I have to lie more to cover the previous lie told and I must say it’s not a good experience at all. Once you give the first lie, it’s very hard to go back. The best chance at redemption is immediately when you say the lie. Retrace your step immediately, and speak the truth. Sometimes it hurts, but in the long run, you’d be glad you did.

Lying makes you lose your credibility. Personally, once you lie to me once or I get to know about a lie you told, I will forgive you but to trust you again is a problem. I will doubt and read meanings into things you say. It takes a lot to regain my trust back.

By the way, Is adding more spice to a narrative lying? I need to know or is it a white lie?

Thanks for reading! 🤗💚🤗

This is my entry for the Prompt "Lies" organised by @CoquiCoin for the "Promptly Jonica community " in the absence of Ma'am jonica. Feel free to join guys, and please adhere to the rules, submit your entry to the Community.

26
$ 13.53
$ 12.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 17
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I learnt not to lie the hard way, my father would beat me so hard, and after the beatings he would always tell me I am not bearing you for what you have done but for lying . 😅 . It took a while to actually believe and understand what he was saying because I kept lying 🤥😅.After gaining understanding I stopped lying officially 😶

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like I experience what you we're telling but in different story. Exactly what you've said we should tell the truth once we lie because one lie can make people destroy their trust in us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lies will always be lies no matter which angle we would choose to see it. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

LOL! These are funny but true indeed. I can't remember how many lies and excuses I have made when I was still a student. Anyway, now I try so hard to avoid lying, I think we have to get away with it as we mature though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your experiences of lying are quite funny :) Lying especially when it becomes a habit is disastrous and destroys trust. And trust as we know, is hard to earn and once broken, it will never be the same.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That first instance you gave is true asf 😂 "write a composition on a fight you witnessed in the market", that's when we start making up imaginary fights in our head. I guess they were training us to perfect our lying skills 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why I find it so hard to lie,you will catch me sha. If I lie you will surely know on the spot so I find it hard lying.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are very right about that, one lie would definitely lead to another and covering up one lie requires you to do 10 more.

Regardless of what kind of lie it is, lying is not good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha. Come to think of it oooo 😂

I am suppose to find those teachers and walk with them for teaching us how to lie. 😂

Your first paragraph for me laughing so hard

Lying had been a part of us nowadays. Only God can help. Even the so called saints lies or would have lie in one way or the other

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm rolling on the floor (it's not a lie but an expression), I remember the essay, thankfully I didn't have to write it in his office. I guess you are right, lies do birth more lies. When you lie, you also need a cover-up story to back to the lie and you do what you think you must to defend the lie by telling even more lies. Adding more spice is not necessarily lying, just spicing things up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Then i will make all my narratives spicy 😂 joking

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you add more lies to the already made lies, at one point, you won't know when you burst into laughter because you realize this is getting too much especially when the other fellow knows you are lying 😅😅😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your story is so interesting bro and like you siad, yes we are always asked to write about how we spent our holidays and also a letter to either of our uncles or aunties

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lying diminishes trust between human beings. if people generally didn't tell the truth, life would become very difficult, as nobody could be trusted and nothing we've heard or read could be trusted, we would have to find everything out for yourself. But sometimes I lie to protect my friends though 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When we end up wrapped in a spiral of lies that never ends, the best thing is to stop it before everything turns worse, and we end up even forgetting the lies we told. LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can say that I am good at lying haha but not in a negative way but in a good way

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm good at lying, especially when it comes to my true feeling.hihi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some people are so expert in telling lies that you hardly differentiate between their truth and lies. When you lie your mind won't be at peace

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As much as lies help us, there is always a bit of a tingling guilt that is always there, right? I mean, it is not comfortable to not say the truth, I guess it's a natural tendency of us who have conscience. 😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! Lying comes with guilt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you said when someone lies constantly they become used to lieing and as such do it effortlessly in the future I think you are correct I have a friend who lies for fun . So most times he just lies just because no tangible reason for it , one could say he lies for fun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know people like that. It's second nature to them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lies snowball over time.. If there is one saving that is huge by now, I guess it's our lies 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes we cannot avoid white lies because we are not perfect, we can lies every hour and a minute but in the side story there's a good impact for that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Once a person started on the path of lying it becomes a habit that can not be easily tamed. Lies beget lies just as your article heading says.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha....so because of your lie you all were punished to write a 3000 words essay infront of him...lol.Its true our single lie can put us in serious trouble and to avoid it we tend to speak more lies.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🤣🤣that must have been a pretty uncomfortable Essay, there was no point in lying when you would still end up doing it. You could have just told him the truth

$ 0.00
2 years ago