3 things attached to wearing glasses

55 120
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

There is one special thing about people who uses glasses. I can't point to what it is in particular but as a kid, I wanted to be like them. I asked my Dad to please get me one but he turns down my request each time.

But in Senior secondary school 2, I got my desire. I can't remember how it started but in a maths class I was asked a question and I couldn't answer. The teacher asked me to read the question out but I couldn't. Since I was new in the school, they all assumed that I'm another dullard who through connections got to be admitted into the school.

I moved few steps further and read the question, did a few mental calculations and answered the question. They were all amazed and the teacher looked around to see if someone gave me the answer. He dropped another question which I answered without any fuss. He took me to the principal's office and explained everything that transpired in class to her.

Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty

My parents were called, I was taken to an Optician. It was there I got to know that I'm short-sighted and I started using glasses. It is meant as correction glasses to correct my myopia. I wasn't excited like I thought I would be. I only use the glasses when lectures are on or when watching TV. Even most people find it hard to believe that I'm using glasses.

However, after reading @Sequoia 's article on " 3 major struggles of wearing glasses " I decided to write on the struggles people using glasses face each day. Truth be told, I can't say I've ever been affected by this because I am a mini bully that can't be bullied. lol. But I've seen people in situations like this facing a lot. Below are a few of them

Everyone believes you are intelligent

It seems people believe there's a form of superpower that comes with using glasses. People expect you to be intelligent. To be a nerd and always sit in the front row. I've heard someone say "what a waste of glasses" when a lady using glasses in my class couldn't answer a simple question.

The expectations on people using glasses are much. They expect you know more than others. They also expect you to be a bookworm. But when you don't tickle any of these boxes, they mock you. Though the only part I've heard people say to me is that I ought to be a nerd, gentle and shy. But I'm the direct opposite and when I see them say that about others, I'm always quick to defend them.

Name-calling

They call them diverse names. "Harry Potter, Awolowo, Ojukwu, Ojugo, four-eyed bird, snake eyes..." are a few of the names they call people using glasses. Maybe it's because people using glasses are always seated at the front and have the propensity to be more dedicated to studying than others, people tend to look for a way to get them demoralised.

They are bullied and even called names by the teachers. The whole class will laugh at the silliest jokes about them and this makes most of them crawl back into their shell. Since I'm one hell of a stubborn person, instead of being bullied, I bully them. So the usual victims of their mockery and bants are the ladies in the front row.

Pity when you are not with it

Though people can be rude and inconsiderate at times, just watch out for the day a student known to use glasses forgets it at home or misplaces it. The whole class pampers and pity him or her. Especially the ladies, they tend to be kind to people on glasses.

They offer to help them write their notes or borrow theirs. You will start wondering if it's the same set of people that were mocking you earlier or days before.

Conclusion

Though not everyone gets hurt or feel bad when called names or some weird assumptions are made about them, let try to be cautious and mindful of the words we say. It hurt some people more than others.

No matter the disability anyone has, let not use it as a new title for them or a prefix to their names. Some might be quiet but deep down they are not happy about it.

Thanks for reading!🤗💚🤗

Side notes

Awolowo: A Nigerian politician known for his deeds and the big eye glasses he wears

Ojukwu:Doesn't use glasses but "Oju" means "eyes" in Yoruba

Ojugo: Since "Oju" means "eye" and "igo" means "glasses". They combine the two to form "Glass-eye"

32
$ 13.20
$ 10.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @BabeT
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 19
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

This is the big problem of the Society supper judgemental. If your wearing eyeglass just to clear your vision they'll tell you a nerd or what or just feeling nerd but when you not use any eyeglass even you have a poor eyesight they'll pity you and no human on earth want to be pity or weak on the eye of others so it's very offensive .I really don't get why people judge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still not wearing eyeglasses, but I have friends who do. They really have struggle in having those on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was always making fun of people who used glasses, I had the craziest puns to use when they upset me. Now that I also have to use glasses, I now see what they have been facing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅😅you are very right about people assuming that they are brilliant. Even me too has always had that thinking up till now, is of recent I discovered it doesn't work that way.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The first day I wore glasses was the worst day of my life, it was the beginning of the term and we had a new maths teacher that man fired me with so many questions that day🤣🤣🤣 I wear glasses cuz I cant see well thats all sir Jesus

$ 0.03
2 years ago

People with glasses have always seemed interesting to me. But there are always stigmas in this. I never used glasses when I was younger. Now, I need glasses to read because of you know, the years of experience, LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahhh Alhaja's with glasses scares me a lot....well i think I do feel same way about people with glasses 😄😄. And the name calling, I could remember a friend in secondary school i never knew his real name only that specific name they used to call him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Or people will say, "your are finer without your glasses" and then try to remove it.... So rude (I don't use glasses tho)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There was a time when I had problem with my sight, so I went to the hospital for treatment so a glass was recommended for me but I don't feel comfortable whenever I put it on so I just manage to use it for a while, it got to a time I stopped using it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Luckily I did not need glasses until my late 30s, early 40s. I do remember some kids who wore glasses being picked on in school, and always thought that was cruel. But it IS funny that when we see someone with glasses now we think of intelligence, even though there are some very dumb people who wear them and some very smart people who don't.

All that aside, so long as I can see, I don't care what anyone thinks. lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I collected my glasses when I was in ss1 back then but it was just a correction glasses, I wasn't bully for it because I myself can bully the whole class because I was very stubborn back then but not anymore and the glasses I dropped it somewhere as I finish my secondary school

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We are the same😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe 😁 awa omo abeokuta o kin fo fun anything now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God that we have a way to correcting eye defection so easily, and also for your intelligent teacher who noticed your struggles right from the first day of your meeting. So many people are struggling today with various degrees of eye defection without knowing exactly what to do.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's true, if not for him i would have continued with sitting at the back and not understanding what's going on in class. The situation could have gotten worse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom uses glasses too and she uses it when she's on her phone or to watch TV which I actually find really funny sometimes which makes me sound a little bit insensitive. Well, I would say at some point I found using glasses quite appealing cause I thought people who used them looked really fashionable but I soon found out that it wasn't the case.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hmmmm You're right bro People tends to expect more from you if you have a special feature. Then you'll definitely wanna live up to expectations. Left handed people have this fate too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too I do feel those with glasses are the Albert Einstein of our time lol.

Especially those with ropes. But I later realized some are recommended due to eye problems.

Glasses to some are just fancy but to some are all they need.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right😂 those with ropes have an extra expectations again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi na. 😂 😂 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That aspect of seeing people who wear recommended glasses as the "efico" of the class back in my school days was so rampant but wring. Maybe many professors are usually on glasses, it was seen as a way of attaching intelligence to it.

Only to find out much mater in life that only deficiency in sight brings about glasses.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's very hassled to wear that thing. Another problem is that it gives me a headache😭

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The first point you gave is exactly what's on the mind of most people when they see someone with glasses and I'm also guilty of it 😂 but that's because nerds and geeks that I see in most movies are always on glasses so I just grew up with the mindset that everyone using glasses is a genius.

I actually do love ladies that wear glasses, they look different when they take it off. It's like having 2 persons in one body, and I always tease them when they remove it

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think movies truly added to that conception

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was ignorant too, I thought those who use recommended glasses are genius and intelligent but later I know the struggle they face. In fact I have always wished to wear such glasses too not knowing it is for some special people.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same here, and when i started using it i hate that i wished too😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Way back in my school days, students who use eyeglasses were called geek or nerd. But for me, I like seeing someone wearing eyeglasses. Sometimes I tried putting my grandmother's glasses but it just made me feel dizzy. There's nothing wrong if someone is wearing eyeglasses. The problem is the mentality of other person. In fact, one of my goal for this month is to have an eyeglasses.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow! This is a funny goal. But i agree with you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first one really is true, if you're wearing glasses, everyone will assume that you're intelligent because of your glasses lol. Tho I don't wear glasses but that's what I've observed from the people around me lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The name-calling part really hurts especially when you are not trying to stand out, They always find a way to demoralize people wearing Glasses and its not fair

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its not in person's hands,so we should not mock them for it because it can be painful for them to bear such rude behaviour, the way people call their names.I always get wonders to hear the expectations of people with glasses..lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's interesting, I am the only non glass wearer in my family of glass wearing people. I just cannot imagine not seeing something... My sister got so sick of using glasses that she got surgery to correct it, but the rest of my family doesn't seem to mind wearing glasses

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can feel the trouble your sister faced,I hope now she is ok

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah she is really happy with having the surgery done

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be annoying sometimes. I understand her reasons for doing that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was never bullied for using glasses, perhaps because I didn't use one until university days.

My glasses constantly Mark's my nose and hs caused a slight discoloration which is really annoying.

I'm already intelligent so putting on glasses makes me look even more Iintelligent. Lol.

Quick question, what's the focal length of your glasses?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Scholar🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽 -200

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Go and sleep, its late already. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see people who wear glasses struggle, not only on society's weird attitude towards it, but also on how they go about every day. And yes, I was guilty of thinking in the past that people with glasses were geniuses too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang hirap po pala pag naka glass po. Curious na curious ako noon eh pero ngayon nag regret na talaga ako sa pagiging curious noong nagstart na ako mag suot ng ika apat ko na mata haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nakikita ko sa pamangkin ko, tapos madalas migraine nya. It's not really a joking matter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered been forced to take glasses back then in school but I refused to use them because of this genius thing attached to them.

People start seeing like a nerd whereas it is just for an eye condition.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Everyone with a different mentality about people that wear glasses.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

These are truly the mentality of people towards those that uses glass. Sometimes the name calling make them feel so bad

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Even up till now, I still see those who use asses as geniuses. I wanted to form a topic on it, because they are all not intelligent, but are using the glasses just because of their sight issues.

They are sometimes seen as people who are neat and indeed much is expected from them, but not all are capable

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I look forward to reading your article on it sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed HappyBoy. We should mind our words before we speak to others. We do not know what will they feel deep inside. We have a different weaknesses as a human.

I'm wearing an eyeglasses sometimes too because I have a little bit eye problem..

God bless HappyBoy..🙏😇

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I used to call people with glasses as nerds and geniuses. And look at me now, I'm wearing glasses due to poor eyesight 🤣 but im not a genius, maybe nerd 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're a "Genius nerd"😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even teacher called student like " Hey,glass boy,stand up".. What hell?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah, and it can be so embarrassing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems like my cousin needs to see it because he has an eyeglasses since he was young. Anyway, is it true that you are having a hard time using face masks when you have an eyeglasses? My cousin said that he encountered those problems

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it's quite uncomfortable 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I may start using glasses too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can recommend one for you😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago