Pastel sticks pt. 1

99 91
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I'm back to drawing! And I really didn't want to sketch for so long because I finally had the braincells today to continue my papers so I made use of my pastels and the usual 2 hours drawing time. @Saha99saha this is what me and @Schire was telling you earlier about blending since you already have pastel stick there plus you can actually do this trick with crayons since they're both waxy medium

Had to sketch my goldfish because I didn't want have flowers to draw ;-; for pastels and crayons, you really have to start with the darkest shade of the color because you'll use the lighter colors for blending it in

Like so. Oof the orientation is flipped over again ;-; but the transition in colors is still visible at least

See? I used the darkest orange, orange, yellow orange then peach to blend it all together and also the lightest color is there to give the object more texture. You'll need to return to the other shades too for the details, of course

I drew it in it's aquarium 😊 so you can see that i blended a lot of colors here with only the stick, didn't need anything else

So this is how it finished up. I was getting sleepy to even bother giving the rocks and the ground more details than it already has

45
$ 2.67
$ 2.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @marblely
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

It's a gold fish! Yehey!

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

Yes! Meet captain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cute :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

He's a cute fish UwU gotten fat though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

beautiful picture artwork

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome, friend

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have pastels here but never used. Before I like drawing but easily get bored as well... my sister is better in art. She even know how to paint and won the contest at her schol last year.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never got bored of it, it just became habitual for me to draw and all but it's good that your sister kept going. at. It though ^-^ congrats to her win!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, but i don't have enough time for that and get bored and lazy every day off... but I have sketches and drawings at home

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd love to see those sketches of yours though ^-^ i think they'll be good too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well no really.. just like a newbie sketches. 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Still would be nice to see :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah sure... I'll check my phone if i have copies here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's great. I learn about pastels more from this art. I will try it on my next art.😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yess! I would love to see you get better at pastels ❤ you're good with colors too so it would be amazing to see

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes dear. Today I teach many things from your art. I hope I will apply this teach in my next art.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You really are good at this medium. I really like the 3rd photo, it has a pretty aesthetic look to it💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks like a blind fish though? But thank you. This is usually the only medium allowed in competitions tbh so I was trained well with pastel ;-; i still don't like it much though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cool! You must've entered numerous competitions when you are still studying. I always wanted to learn how to use pastels but I can't bc its scent makes me really nauseous.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was forced to. The lack of people who could draw in my batch was real 😭 pastels don't have smell? If they do, it smells waxy though.. which ones did you even try using?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha lucky they got some artsy batchmate💕 Well, I have a strong sense of smell that's why. I've tried using different brands of pastel and all of em has the same weird scent differs only on how strong the scent is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad for me cuz i was always the only choice. Ahh so that's why. You don't use a gas mask? I do that when i use paints because i can't stand the smell of those

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And guess what, you're the greatest choice they could sent to the competition coz you're skilled. I've only tried using cloth masks but still can't stand it, maybe I'm imagining the scent or I'm just crazy😂. I'd rather smell the scent of paint😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only started winning.. by the later half of my second year. The judges never allowed me to bring other mediums so it sucked for me. Hmm... maybe you just have a different scent preference. The paint smell just makes me dizzy plus i don't wanna became infertile 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see. Why not allow you? Is it indicated that you'll only use a specific medium?

Hahahaa. Yeah right, that's also why I've never tried using paint in arts specially spray paints.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't know? I think it was just for uniformity and fairness though i work best with paint and pens more than anything

I love spray paint though! But i guess digital arts is your true calling

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see that's why. Cool, I imagine that all those who used spray paints are good at murals.

Mmmm, maybe? I just started shifting to digital arts a month ago and I find it very convenient. Looks like I haven't posted yet any of my traditional arts 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well it wasn't murals for me but scenery backdrops for school plays and every piece of prop that needed to be painted ;-; i swear highschool was hell for me.

Ohh you also did traditional arts ;;w;; you should post theeemmm aggressively shakes you i wanna seeee ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahhaha. I wanted to but I left my sketchpad in my boarding house😢 hope it's still fine. I also know how to make portraits but I'm not that great. My style is more of manga or animestyle even in traditional drawings.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's sad :"( maybe when you can come back for it, you can share those here. Ohh manga style UwU i think we all pass that drawing style phase on the road to learning realism though. That was how i used to draw back in highschool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes yes yes. It's the stage where u get interested with human body/anatomy😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yesss that's it. You nailed it as always. 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'd like to request you trying pastels too! I wanna see how you draw on this medium ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh sure. I'll try when I'm free again. Will post if I finished one. 💕💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg yess! I'll be waiting for that!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Huhu I've been working on digital art more due to some projects, but I miss drawing using traditional media these days. Hopefully I can do that within this week.😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh projects. You need to do those first though, finish what you have to, we're not going anywhere UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww thank youu. 💕 My eyes are hurting from too much looking on the screen hahaha. If I did have time to do it, I will post and tag you. Thank you for always inspiring people to do art. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's never a good idea to stare at a screen for that long though-

Ohh this is definitely something to look forward to. And i aim to make art and science prosper here, I need to start on science stuff again soon ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh right, please if you have time I want to read science-related articles. 😍😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was planning on doing that today but my brain got burned out so i distracted myself with my fish until i ended up drawing it just for a release 😂 i wanted to write about brain and stress eating

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha art really is one of the best ways to remove stress. Keep writing articles like this, any topic that you write is worth-reading.😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder about them all being worth reading but i just write at random

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow!! Really so beautiful!!😍😍😍 your every art is very beautiful.. ♥♥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^ i haven't gotten to that dark theme you requested though but I'll work on it soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's ok. I'm waiting.😍♥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll be waiting to see your next art pieces too. I got shookdt earlier

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will present my next art very soon. Thank you for always supporting me like this.♥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love meeting new artists, it's cool to see people's unique drawing style tbh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, me too. I like your art a lot. I'm waiting for you to present your new art again.🤗♥

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll hope my brain doesn't get used up by my papers tomorrow so that I'll still have energy to draw

...or maybe I'll just get coffee again 😂 I've been wanting to draw something inspired by someone's writing again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay, no problem. You take your time. Anyways How is your health now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i have my 2 hours me time daily so that's enough time

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's great!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is this are painting i thought it is real😂😂 very nice painting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's made from pastels, dear ^-^ maybe i should have put the picture of my fish there for comparison

$ 0.00
3 years ago

haha you should!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely will later ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

okay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice i love it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's ok. I'm waiting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waiting for what??? OnO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You always nailed it ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you UwU but i still don't like pastels enough. They're just good for quick draws for me :"""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great artist you are..... I love your pictures. And the colour combination is so much good........ Just amazing. Keep it up ☺☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear UwU I'm glad to see you liked this artwork too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As I see, you are very good at this. Keep sharing your creations.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always do when i have the time ^-^ hopefully i can draw more later on

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice art dear 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊 i hope you stick around to see more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, very nice 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, very nice 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice artwork of yours. I remember my classmate way back in college. He' superb as well just like you. keep it up dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wouldn't call it superb, just bored, i guess? I'm in hard quarantine so i just draw what I see now. Thank you for the praise ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow you are really a great talented in the art work . You make it beautiful I hope you will become a great Artist

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so too but I'd need more art materials for that? As of now, just being a hobbyist is good enough for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great artwork I sub for this :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it's not just for the art 😊 thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your drawing looks artistic! Nice!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like the goldfish <3 The orange and yellow is striking and the green pops too. Thanks for sharing some tips on using pastel colors.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you 😊 i hope my next sketch will come out this well too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow great you can be a good artist. You have done a very good drawing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Superb artwork it is, for sure it cost a lot of patience and time, it surely deserve to be known and be shared for us to see. Continue to pursue your works of art.. they are awesome..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well actually... i only drew for 2 hours since i don't usually have that much time to begin with. That's why i used pastels, because they're fast to work with

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wow...i love the drawing indeed...and also liked your color texture......thanks for showing it step by step..it is really helpful for the beginners.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would have recorded it if i had a camera, it would have been better help for beginners

$ 0.00
3 years ago

don't worry dear....it's already a great attemp...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the fish and most of all oil pastells. I once won a fish at a fact fair in Belgium. 😁 My e looked different and it grew like a maniac 🤔

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe it's a different kind of goldfish you won? Maybe it was the one with the white spots and puffys cheeks?

$ 0.00
3 years ago