Old art journal

57 53
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

With the start of the rainy seasons here plus the recent events that happened here, it gave me time to start cleaning my shelves again... I wanted to remove some of the items I kept as reminders from when I was down...

I found my old art journal. It was originally a book I soaked in brown ink for reasons being that I hated that book so much. I'm definitely not a fan of cringey teen fictions written in my native dialect and that, for me, was a good enough reason to destroy it. I remade the cover and made it my own book.

I remember page by page, the sketches grew darker and darker

And I remember how obsessed I was with skulls.. and blood.. and pain..

I carried this book everywhere, sketched whenever I wanted to

Nobody really understood any of them. Why I drew such figures.

The only person who ever saw the rest only said "they might be colorful, but they certainly aren't happy" and I think that's when she finally knew how bad it got for me

This one is an extra though.

Then this was among the first few oil paintings I've ever done.

I also wanted to use this article to get answers to this

https://read.cash/c/art-from-doodles-to-drawings-3ed3/post-a6256460

15
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @marblely
$ 0.01 from @kli4d
$ 0.01 from @Schire
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Amazing arts..I like the 'panda' one and ' a boy holding a girl ' most..you should try more..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I post my sketches here often enough though. It's just that they got buried under short posts and such

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's only one word I can think of while looking at the photos. Depression. I wonder if this is right and how did you overcome that stage...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's from a few years back. I'm pass this now though sometimes I fall back into it when I get anxiety attacks

Lol meds certainly didn't work. My meds just made me sleepy all the time and number

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nanonood ka ng Kdrama sis? Parang ang nakikita ko sa book/art journal mo, mga book ni Ko Moon-yeong ng It's Ok Not To Be Okay

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't watch those. So i don't know those

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang sad nung mga arts mo back then. Parang loneliness and you are longing for something.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I don't think may nagbago

$ 0.00
3 years ago

until now?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yeah. But only sometimes now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those drawings look amazing, specially on an old piece of paper it looks even more amazing. Never knew you have this talent also

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Because you never tried to explore my older writing before, i assume? Just the recent ones

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I have no idea about old scripts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe it is time to make a listing of things I've written

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you should do it. Might be surprised by the response that you get

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well i better get on it when i finish the remaining things i need to do

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Those pictures speak of what you have gone through. Well, it is a theraphy to draw, to air out your emotions than to compress your feelings for it might go in another way around. You have the talent make it useful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. It was both writing and drawing for me. I never expected it to develop through the years but how i am is fine now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Usually, intense feelings push us to create extraordinary artworks like that :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure about extraordinary artwork but they were treatments, at least. They helped ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm just amazed at how you draw those things hahaha. Just a fan of people who can do arts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww well thank you for the support even if they were old sketches of mine

$ 0.00
3 years ago

These are wonderful art . tension pain and stress eases when we draw write or sing music helps me out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know music does help you out. How's your health? Last time i heard from you, you needed rest

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm still recovering but I'm much better now 😀 I'm still on drugs though but at least I can come o online now I was so down and I couldn't log in here I thank God I'm getting better

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Glad to hear that you're on a speedy recovery. Hopefully you don't strain yourself much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea I won't stress my safe too much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your art is an expression of your soul.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

yes it is. and it shows how sad my soul really is

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At least you have an outlet to bring out what you feel

$ 0.00
User's avatar Jim
3 years ago

true. though i filtered all the nude and bloody sketches out. people don't deserve to see those

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ur. Art is difficult to understand

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well they're mostly abstract in a way

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Truly every art looks so beautiful.😍 The meaning of each picture is much deeper..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I appreciate that you tried to look into them more than just seeing the style

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, in fact the pictures explain a lot. Great work! Keep it up. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, i definitely will. I hope you broaden the scope of your photography though. That rose shot was pretty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much.😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. I'm so happy to see this. You did so well with all the sketches. I wanna have that journal and display it on my shelf and check it out whenever I wanna feel nice. This is really really beautiful. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not sure about helping anybody feel nice but that's such a high praise, thank you! I also looked at some of your art :") the watercolor one really caught my eye. Mind giving me tips on watercolor?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh I meant your artworks make me feel good about the day or something since it's very beautiful. I used the wrong word. 😢 Anyways, I'm also new to watercolor but I usually start from the lightest color to the darkest. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh i get that now. I thought the emotions were something that was good 😂 ohh we do the same technique then! Though i still dislike how messy watercolor gets

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes right, it's very hard to manipulate 😢. Keep on inspiring others with your art. You're doing so good. 💕💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! I'd appreciate it if you also checked out my other works too ^-^ i made an index to make things easier

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh okay I will. 😍❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love the sketches and to repurpose a book you dislike and turn it into a sketch journal is brilliant. No doubt they are pretty dark but there is beauty in darkness. I like the Happy Halloween sketch.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I have a deep love of old books so i really wanted to try making an old book instead of waiting for the book to age 😂 I'm glad you appreciate my darkness though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

:) What kind of brown ink did you use? I am thinking to soak some of mine too hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well... the brown ink was a fail.. i ended up finishing that book with black coffee 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah black coffeee! I can try that :) Thanks! Hope everyone is recovering from the virus. Stay chill there k.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It took me a week to soak and a week to dry though plus you have to reinforce the spine with glue and a new spine and cover. Good luck with your project! And i think we'll be fine. We're scheduled for a swab testing soon

$ 0.00
3 years ago