I Got Out of My Comfort Zone

Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

A comfort zone is a situation or place where someone feels at ease or safe. No stress, no pressure, and no need to fear anything. A very nice place for some. But in this zone is where I wasted the past years of my life. Does this place give comfort? Yes. But the real question is, will you grow and improve in that place? A big NO. And getting out of that zone took me a lot of courage and willpower.

Before going out of my comfort zone, I see myself as a shy, incapable, and weak person. I've got a lot of insecurities that prevented me from unleashing my full potential. I think low of myself because I was not able to go to college, because of my physical appearance, and because all my batch mates seem so be living the best days of their lives. While here I am, still struggling and did not accomplish anything. I used to compare my life with others. I had very low self-esteem. These things were like chains that prevented me from going out and exploring the vast outside world.

My fears also blocked the way out of my comfort zone. My fear of criticism, fear of trying new things, and fear of failure. Fears and excuses that I just made in my head.

When I decided to fix my life and set things straight, one of the initial steps was getting out of my comfort zone. And getting out of that zone means I need to face all those fears and insecurities. And I did.

I started watching self-help videos and reading articles on how can I overcome those. I learned to forgive myself, to trust myself and my capabilities, and learned to have a different mindset. This is the hardest part because I needed to eliminate many years-old beliefs and perspectives. I needed to change them with something that will help me grow and will bring me closer to my goals. Because I learned that our truths are the things we chose to believe.

The above photo is one of the things that help me change the way I think. I placed that at the back of my door and read it every morning and night. I keep those in mind and tries to act how someone like those mentioned above will act in every situation. Some people may call this Fake it till you make it process, but I prefer to call this Be it in your head until you become it. And doing it helped me to step outside of my comfort zone.

I also tried live selling, together with a friend. For someone shy–who I thought I was–it took lots of courage to do it. We tried to sell our thrift shop items via Facebook live. We've sold only a few items, but I was really happy at that time. I was proud of myself and it boosted my confidence. Getting out of my comfort zone was hard, but the result felt great. Greater than the comfort that the comfort zone can give.

The next step I did was to vlog. I never thought I can do this, but I did! And here it is. \^.^/ My first Youtube vlog. Together with @appleskie who is a good friend of mine for almost 7 years now.

Shooting and uploading this video was an achievement for me. Aside from getting out and showing myself, I also learned new things. I am still a baby when it comes to vlogging but I know, with the small steps I am making, I will improve soon.

So for all those who are afraid, face your fears and go out of that comfort zone. The world is so wide for us to explore. We may face pains, struggles, embarrassments, and setbacks along the way, but we should not let these stop us from reaching our goals. Nothing is impossible as long as we are willing to work for it. With consistency and commitment, we can do this. And to end this article, I am leaving you this great quote from one video I've watched.

"It is never too late to be great. It is never too late to amaze yourself and become someone no one thought you could be, not even you."

28
$ 5.88
$ 5.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @SingleNorman
$ 0.01 from @RJAllDay
+ 1
Sponsors of Gwenie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Great thinking and good Sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice Post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Getting out from your comfort zone will help you grow as a person, that is why we should not be afraid of stepping out from it 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True sis. 😊 It was hard, but worth it 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good for you! There is so much time and effort in here and editing and videos! Wow! Lol definitley outside of MY comfort zone!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hehe. Yeah. We enjoyed taking video too much and did not notice it was too long already πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're doing well, Gwenie. This is amazing. Things are finally looking up, eh?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks Ozzy. Yeah, I can finally see some results now 😁😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My comfort zone is my home β™₯️β™₯️But on the way to life we ​​have to come out of the comfort zone. This article is really interesting. But I can feel it:)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. ❀ I agree that there's no other place like home. Good for you, that you have a home that can give you comfort. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes dear it's really good for me that I have a home and that can give me comfort. You are really a good author. Just keep it up dear. β™₯️β™₯️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the compliment dear and for dropping by . 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are most welcome 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm still not confident with myself that is why I can't still come out on my comfort zone. I'm still struggling and still really can't, maybe in time, if I have that courahe jist like yours. And i commend you for doing it, congratulations, continue doing that continue being great coz you are.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear. I hope you can find that courage too. ❀ Watching videos from Robin Sharma and Evan Carmichael really helped me a lot in facing my fears and insecurities. I know you have that inner power and courage too. Hoping you can unleash that soon. ❀❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for the encouragement. I will try to be more confident, i wish I can get over this fear that I feel,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know you can do that dear. 😊 If you want to do something but you're afraid., then do it with fear. 😊 We're always here to support you. You can always share your troubles, thoughts, pains, and victories in this platform. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you again, i will do that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you really want to see a drastic and unusual change in your life, you must evacuate the entirety of yourself from your comfort zone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree with you. Because we can't really expect different results from doing the same old things. 😊 I am still on this process. Beliefs, habits, mindset, there are lots of things to change..and I'm doing this one step at a time. 😊

Anyway, thanks for dropping by. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i wih i could too like you guys

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thus why i just go with the flow, it's always better to just try stuff for experience sake and for a bit of knowledge than keeping yourself stuck in a single spot

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Each comfort zone has its limit to that other part of the world where the person does not feel so comfortable. While in his comfort zone - comfort zone - the person does not feel threatened, so he is not afraid, he is not tense, but he is calm and can enjoy. Outside of her, she functions differently, she estimates that there is an increased risk that she will be endangered, so she does not feel safe, her emotions are elevated, and at times she is worried, afraid, angry, offended and the like.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right. And those emotions–fear, worry, anger, etc–are what prevent a person from growing and learning. Pain, embarrassment, and rejection are all part of growth. This is why we should not limit ourselves to the things we already know and try to explore and discover our potentials.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very nice video and post generally

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

great artilce lovely wish you more success

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the well wishes and upvote dear. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are welcome darling

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article dear friend, this is a topic that we should all read, the comfort you have around you is very important, I have and I am satisfied

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good for you. And thanks for dropping by. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My fears also blocked the way out of my comfort zone. My fear of criticism, fear of trying new things, and fear of failure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting article! Truly said, one can't grow without leaving that comfort zone.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Agree. Thank you for dropping by. 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is very important to challenge you own comfort zone in order to grow

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Agree. I've learned that lesson the hard way πŸ˜… But it's alright. It's never too late. 😊

Anyway, I haven't seen anything from you for a while. Been busy? Or maybe I was the busy one πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it is never too late to grow and develop

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I feel you, good work. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. ❀ And thanks for dropping by 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago